View Releases By:

ACYF presents Commissioner’s Awards to honorees who fight child abuse

The Administration on Children, Youth and Families (ACYF) today announced the recipients of the 2014 ACYF Commissioner’s Award, which honors individuals from across the country for exceptional contributions to the prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect. 

Community leaders from several states nominated the 29 final award winners as part of National Child Abuse Prevention Month, describing them as passionate, dedicated, innovative, compassionate and inspirational.

“The Commissioner’s Award gives us the opportunity to recognize champions for children across the country. They work tirelessly and often without fanfare or recognition to improve the lives of our most vulnerable families,” said Joo Yeun Chang, associate commissioner for the Administration on Children, Youth and Families.

This year’s award winners include volunteers, child welfare professionals and advocates. Many are innovators who have created new programs and changed the service delivery systems in their states or communities. Others excel in the direct services and support they provide to children and families in need.  Together these leaders have made a difference in the lives of children and families in their states.

Mark Greenberg, acting assistant secretary for the Administration for Children and Families (ACF) and the acting commissioner for ACYF, will present the awards to the honorees. The 19th National Conference on Child Abuse and Neglect (NCCAN), held today through May 2, 2014, in New Orleans, La., is the only federally sponsored national conference devoted to the issues of child maltreatment and serves as the nation’s leading training and technical assistance event for practitioners, policy makers, advocates and researchers.

Recipients of the 2014 ACYF Commissioner’s Award

Melissa Leigh Peters, MD
Pediatrician, Children’s Hospital of Alabama

Marcia Stanton, MSW
Senior Injury Prevention Specialist, Phoenix Children’s Hospital

Emily Putnam-Hornstein, PhD
Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, University of Southern California

Julie Krow
Director, Office of Children, Youth and Families, Department of Human Services

Katherine L. Esterly, MD

District of Columbia
Allison McCarley Jackson, MD, MPH
Division Chief, Child and Adolescent Protection Center, Children’s National Medical Center

Alan Abramowitz, JD, MPA
Executive Director, Guardian ad Litem Office

Janet Goodliffe
Grants Administrator, Madison School District

Brenda Ristvedt
Executive Director, Buchanan County Volunteer Cooperative

The Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department of Community Based Services

Rhenda Hodnett, PhD, LCSW
Chief Welfare Director, Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services

Jan Clarkin
Executive Director, Maine Children’s Trust & Prevent Child Abuse

Wendy G. Lane, MD, MPH
Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Stacie Bladen, MSW
Project Manager, Protect MiFamily, State of Michigan Department of Human Services

The Honorable Rena Moran
Member, Minnesota House of Representatives, and
Director, Prevention Initiatives and Parent Leadership, Prevent Child Abuse Minnesota

Mary Jo Pankoke
President and CEO, Nebraska Children and Families Foundation

The Honorable Deborah Schumacher, JD, MA
Family Division, Washoe County District Court

New Hampshire   
Gail Snow
Bureau Chief, Sununu Youth Services Center, New Hampshire Division for Children, Youth and Families

New Jersey
Rush L. Russell, MPA
Executive Director, Prevent Child Abuse New Jersey

New Mexico
Renee Ornelas, MD
Director, Para Los Niños, Albuquerque Family Advocacy Center, University of New Mexico School of Medicine

North Carolina
Rhett Mabry, MHA, BA
Vice President, The Duke Endowment

North Dakota
Leslie Brunette
Authentic Voices of North Dakota

Rhode Island  
Anne Lebrun-Cournoyer
Providence Area Regional Director, Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and Families

Amy Coble
Deputy Director of Investigations, Office of Child Safety, Tennessee Department of Children’s Services

Ellie Breitmaier
Domestic Violence Unit Coordinator, Family Services Division, Department for Children and Families

Joseph Galano, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychology, The College of William and Mary

West Virginia  
Kathie King, MSW, LGSW
Program Manager, Division of Children and Adult Services, Bureau for Children and Families
West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources

The Honorable Marshall Murray, JD
Milwaukee County Circuit Court

Eydie Trautwein, JD, BA
Executive Director, Children’s Justice Project

Back to Top