Webinar: Native Youth and Resilience

Nov
12
3:00 PM EST
Online via Adobe Connect

Description
 

Join the ANA Western Region Training and Technical Assistance Center on Thursday, Nov. 12, as we discuss Native youth and resilience. The Western Region supports several youth projects that integrate resilience factors into their program approaches. These programs use holistic wellness, language, supportive role models, high expectations, and opportunities for participation to empower youth.

Mr. William Mendoza (Oglala-Sicangu Lakota), Executive Director of the White House Initiative on American Indian and Alaska Native Education, will provide an overview of the current youth initiatives available to tribes and Native organizations. Mr. Mendoza has experienced firsthand the challenges and strengths of Native youth, families, and communities.

Mr. Alfred "Bud" Lane, III, (Siletz) Siletz Tribal Council Vice-Chairman and language and traditional arts instructor with the Siletz Tribal Language Project, will share how the Confederated Tribes of Siletz successfully developed an Athabascan language curriculum. With the project site at the Siletz Valley School, a shared vision using dance, plants, and running ultimately led to a curriculum that is accessible to all tribal members.

Register

https://kauffmaninc.adobeconnect.com/ana101215youthresilience/event/r...

Learning Objectives

  • Learn about initiatives for American Indian and Alaska Native youth.
  • Learn about best practices associated with the planning, development, and implementation of a language program.


Presenters
 

William Mendoza (Oglala-Sicangu Lakota) is Executive Director of the White House Initiative on American Indian and Alaska Native Education, which is tasked with improving American Indian and Alaska Native educational opportunities and strengthening tribal colleges and universities. He grew up on the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Sioux reservations, has been a teacher and a principal, and previously served as the Executive Director for the White House Initiative on Tribal Colleges.

 

 

Alfred “Bud” Lane (Siletz) is Siletz Tribal Council Vice-Chairman and a language and traditional arts instructor with the Siletz Tribal Language Project, where he teaches students the Siletz Dee-ni dialect of the Athabaskan language, as well as traditional basket weaving and regalia making. Mr. Lane is a strong advocate for language as an essential component of culture.

 

 

 

Dr. Iris PrettyPaint (Blackfeet) is Regional Director of the Western Region TTA Center. She will facilitate the webinar.

 

 

 


Date, Time, and Internet Connection

Thursday, November 12, 2015, during the following times:

  • 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian
  • 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Alaska
  • 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Pacific
  • 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. mountain
  • 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. central
  • 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. eastern

Webinar connection via Adobe Connect Pro. A link will be sent to you when you register for the webinar.
For More Information

Questions can be directed to Sarah Peterson, Outreach and Technology Specialist, Western Region TTA Center, via email at sarah.peterson@kauffmaninc.com or by phone toll free at 888-788-8466.