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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Food and Nutrition Service

7 CFR Parts 272 and 273

RIN 0584-AC39

Food Stamp Program: Personal Responsibility Provisions of the 

Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996

AGENCY: Food and Nutrition Service, USDA.

ACTION: Proposed Rule.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

SUMMARY: This rulemaking proposes to amend Food Stamp Program 

regulations to implement 13 specific sections of the Personal 

Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 that add 

new eligibility requirements, increase existing penalties for failure 

to comply with Program rules, and establish a time limit for food stamp 

participation of three months in three years for able-bodied adults 

without children who are not working. The Department's proposals would: 

prohibit an increase in food stamp benefits when a household's income 

is reduced because of either a penalty imposed under a Federal, State, 

or local means-tested public assistance program for failure to perform 

a required action or for an act of fraud; allow State agencies to 

disqualify an individual from participation in the Program if the 

individual is disqualified from another means-tested program for 

failure to perform an action required by that program; allow State 

agencies to sanction Program households if they are sanctioned under 

TANF for failure to ensure their minor children attend school, or if 

the adults do not have (or are not working toward attaining) a 

secondary school diploma or its equivalent; make individuals convicted 

of drug-related felonies ineligible for food stamps; make fleeing 

felons and probation and parole violators ineligible for food stamps; 

require States to provide households' addresses, social security 

numbers, or photographs to law enforcement officers to assist them in 

locating fugitive felons or probation or parole violators; allow States 

to require food stamp recipients to cooperate with child support 

agencies as a condition of food stamp eligibility; allow states to 

disqualify individuals who are in arrears in court-ordered child support

 payments; double the penalties for violating Program 

requirements; permanently disqualify individuals convicted of 

trafficking in food stamp benefits of $500 or more; make individuals 

ineligible for 10 years if they misrepresent their identity or 

residence in order to receive multiple Program benefits; and limit the 

Program participation of most able-bodied adults without dependents to 

three months in a three-year period during times the individual is not 

working or participating in a work program.

DATES: Comments must be received on or before February 15, 2000 to be 

assured of consideration.

ADDRESSES: Comments should be submitted to Margaret Werts Batko, 

Assistant Branch Chief, Certification Policy Branch, Program 

Development Division, Food and Nutrition Service, USDA, 3101 Park 

Center Drive, Alexandria, Virginia 22302, (703) 305-2516. Comments may 

also be faxed to the attention of Ms. Batko at (703) 305-2486. The 

Internet address is: Margaret.Batko@FNS.USDA.GOV. All written comments 

will be open for public inspection at the office of the Food and 

Nutrition Service during regular business hours (8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., 

Monday through Friday) at 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, Virginia 

22302, Room 720.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Questions regarding the proposed 

rulemaking should be addressed to Margaret Werts Batko at the above 

address or by telephone at (703) 305-2516.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Executive Order 12866

    This proposed rule has been determined to be economically 

significant and was reviewed by the Office of Management and Budget in 

conformance with Executive Order 12866.

Executive Order 12372

    The Food Stamp Program (Program) is listed in the Catalog of 

Federal Domestic Assistance under No. 10.551. For the reasons set forth 

in the final rule in 7 CFR 3015, Subpart V and related Notice (48 FR 

29115), this Program is excluded from the scope of Executive Order 

12372 which requires intergovernmental consultation with State and 

local officials.

Executive Order 12778

    This rule has been reviewed under Executive Order 12778, Civil 

Justice Reform. This rule is intended to have preemptive effect with 

respect to any State or local laws, regulations or policies which 

conflict with its provisions or which would otherwise impede its full 

implementation. This rule is not intended to have retroactive effect 

unless so specified in the ``Effective Date'' paragraph of this 

preamble. Prior to any judicial challenge to the provisions of this 

rule or the application of its provisions, all applicable 

administrative procedures must be exhausted.

Regulatory Flexibility Act

    This rule has been reviewed with regard to the requirements of the 

Regulatory Flexibility Act of 1980 (5 U.S.C. 601-612). Shirley R. 

Watkins, Under Secretary, Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services, has 

certified that this rule will not have a significant economic impact or 

affect a substantial number of small entities. State and local welfare 

agencies will be the most affected to the extent that they administer 

the Program.

Paperwork Reduction Act

    The information collection burden associated with the proposed 

provisions in this rule concerning eligibility, certification, and 

continued eligibility of food stamp recipients (OMB No. 0584-0064) was 

published in the Federal Register for public comment on January 5, 

1999, Volume 64, No. 2, Page 472. The information collection burden 

associated with the request for a waiver under the food stamp time 

limit is approved under OMB No. 0584-0479. The information collection 

burden that is associated with proposed provisions in this rule which 

affect the regulations at 7 CFR 273.16, the Demand Letter for Over 

Issuance, is approved under OMB 0584-0492.

    In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, the Food 

and Nutrition Service is submitting for public comment the change in 

the information collection burden that would result from the adoption 

of the proposals in the rule associated with the State Plan of 

Operations.

    Comments are invited on: (a) whether the proposed collection of 

information is necessary for the proper performance of the functions of 

the agency, including whether the information will have practical 

utility; (b) the accuracy of the agency's estimate of the burden of the 

proposed collection of information including the validity of the 

methodology and the information to be collected; and (c) ways to 

minimize the burden of the collection of information on those who are 

to respond, including through the use of appropriate automated, 

electronic, mechanical, or other technological collection techniques or 

other forms of information technology.

    Send comments and requests for copies of this information 

collection to Margaret Werts Batko, Assistant Branch
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Chief, Certification Policy Branch, Program Development Division, Food 

and Nutrition Service, USDA, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, 

Virginia, 22302, (703) 305-2516. Comments may also be faxed to the 

attention of Ms. Batko, at (703) 305-2486. The Internet address is 

Margaret.Batko@FNS.USDA.GOV.

    Comments and recommendations on the proposed information collection 

must be received by February 15, 2000.

    Title: State Plan of Operations.

    OMB Number: 0584-0083.

    Expiration Date: December 1998--Emergency reinstatement has been 

requested.

    Type of Request: Expired/Revision of currently approved collection.

    Abstract: The regulations at 7 CFR 272.2 require that State 

agencies plan and budget program operations and establish objectives 

for each year. State agencies submit these plans to the regional 

offices for review and approval. This rulemaking is proposing to amend 

Part 7 CFR 272.2(d) of the Food Stamp Program Regulations to require 

State agencies who opt to implement certain provisions of the PRWORA to 

include these options in the State Plan of Operation. The optional 

provisions that must be included in the State Plan of Operation are: 

school attendance, secondary school diploma, comparable 

disqualifications, custodial and non-custodial parents, cooperation 

with child support enforcement agencies, disqualification for child support

 arrears. The regulations at 7 CFR 272.2(f) require that State 

agencies only have to provide FNS with changes to these plans as they 

occur. Since these options are newly provided for by PRWORA, State 

agencies who choose these options must include it in their State Plan 

of Operations this year, and any subsequent year only if there are 

changes. Four States have opted to sanction households if the adult 

fails to ensure children attend school; 13 States have opted to 

implement comparable disqualifications; 7 States have opted to 

disqualify individuals who fail to cooperate with child support 

agencies; 3 States have opted to disqualify individuals if they are in 

arrears on child support; 7 States have opted to not increase benefits 

if the household does not comply with requirements of other federally 

means tested benefits. No State has opted to disqualify adults who have 

not attained a secondary school diploma.

    Number of Additional Respondents: 34.

    Estimated Number of Responses per Respondent: A one time burden of 

one response per State agency.

    Estimate of Burden: The additional public reporting burden for this 

proposed collection of information is estimated to average an 

additional .25 hours per response.

    Estimated Total Annual Burden on Respondents: An additional one 

time burden of 8.5 hours.

    Unfunded Mandate Reform Act of 1995 (UMRA) Title II of UMRA 

establishes requirements for Federal agencies to assess the effects of 

their regulatory actions on State, local, and tribal governments and 

the private sector. Under Section 202 of the UMRA, FCS generally must 

prepare a written statement, including a cost-benefit analysis, for 

proposed and final rules with ``Federal mandates'' that may result in 

expenditures to State, local, or tribal governments in the aggregate, 

or to the private sector, of $100 million or more in any one year. When 

such a statement is needed for a rule, section 205 of the UMRA 

generally requires FCS to identify and consider a reasonable number of 

regulatory alternatives and adopt the least costly, more cost-effective 

or least burdensome alternative that achieves the objectives of the 

rule.

    This notice contains no Federal mandates (under the regulatory 

provisions of Title II of the UMRA) for State, local, and tribal 

governments or the private sector of $100 or more in any one year. This 

rule is, therefore, not subject to the requirements of Sections 202 and 

205 of the UMRA.

Civil Rights Impact Analysis

    FNS has reviewed this proposed rule in accordance with the 

Department Regulation 4300-4, ``Civil Rights Impact Analysis'' to 

identify and address any major civil rights impacts the proposed rule 

might have on minorities, women, and persons with disabilities. After a 

careful review of the rule's intent and provisions, and the 

characteristics of food stamp households and individual participants, 

FNS has determined that there is no way to soften their effect on any 

of the protected classes. FNS has no discretion in implementing many of 

these changes. The changes required to be implemented by law have been 

implemented.

    All data available to FNS indicate that protected individuals have 

the same opportunity to participate in the Food Stamp Program as non-

protected individuals. FNS specifically prohibits the State and local 

government agencies that administer the program from engaging in 

actions that discriminate based on race, color, national origin, 

gender, age, disability, marital or family status. Regulations at 7 CFR 

272.6 specifically state that ``State agencies shall not discriminate 

against any applicant or participant in any aspect of program 

administration, including, but not limited to, the certification of 

households, the issuance of coupons, the conduct of fair hearings, or 

the conduct of any other program service for reasons of age, race, 

color, sex, handicap, religious creed, national origin, or political 

beliefs. Discrimination in any aspect of program administration is 

prohibited by these regulations, the Food Stamp Act, the Age 

Discrimination Act of 1975 (Pub. L. 94-135), the Rehabilitation Act of 

1973 (Pub. L. 93-112, section 504), and title VI of the Civil Rights 

Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. 2000d). Enforcement action may be brought under 

any applicable Federal law. Title VI complaints shall be processed in 

accord with 7 CFR part 15.'' Where State agencies have options, and 

they choose to implement a certain provision, they must implement it in 

such a way that it complies with the regulations at 7 CFR 272.6

Regulatory Impact Analysis

Need for Action

    This action is needed to implement 13 sections of the Personal 

Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, Pub. L. 

104-193, and would: (1) prohibit an increase in food stamp benefits 

when a household's income is reduced because of a penalty imposed under 

a Federal, State, or local means-tested public assistance program for 

failure to perform a required action; (2) prohibit an increase in food 

stamp benefits when a household's income is reduced because of a 

penalty imposed under a Federal, State, or local means-tested public 

assistance program for an act of fraud; (3) allow states to disqualify 

an individual from Program participation if the individual is 

disqualified from another means-tested program for failure to perform 

an action required by that program; (4) allow State agencies to 

sanction households if minor children are not attending school, or if 

the adults do not have (or are not working toward attaining) a 

secondary school diploma or its equivalent; (5) make individuals 

convicted of drug-related felonies ineligible to receive food stamps; 

(6) make fleeing felons and probation and parole violators ineligible 

to receive food stamps; (7) require States to provide households' 

addresses, social security numbers, or photographs to law enforcement 

officers to assist them in locating fugitive felons or probation or 

parole violators; (8) allow States to require food stamp recipients to 

cooperate with child support agencies as a condition of food stamp 

eligibility;

[[Page 70922]]

(9) allow States to disqualify individuals who are in arrears in court-

ordered child support payments; (10) double existing penalties for 

violating Program requirements; (11) permanently disqualify individuals 

convicted of trafficking in food stamp benefits of $500 or more; (12) 

make individuals ineligible for 10 years if they misrepresent their 

identity or residence in order to receive multiple food stamp benefits; 

and (13) limit the Program participation of most able-bodied adults 

without dependents to three months in a three-year period during times 

the individual is not working or participating in a work program.

Benefits

    State agencies will benefit from this rule to the extent that it 

allows States to implement provisions that will encourage personal 

responsibility and promote self-sufficiency.

Costs

    The changes in food stamp requirements made by the provisions 

addressed in this rule would reduce Program costs for FY 1999-2003 by 

approximately $2.090 billion. For FY 1999-2003, the estimated yearly 

savings are (in millions) $615, $515, $395, $290, $275, respectively. 

The majority of the savings are realized from Section 824, time limited 

benefits for able-bodied adults without dependents. Smaller savings are 

realized from the following provisions: Section 819, comparable 

disqualifications; Section 822, cooperation with child support agencies; 

Section 823, disqualifications for child support arrears; and 

Section 829 and 911, no increase in benefits. The savings from the 

remaining provisions in the rule are negligible, and therefore, will 

not be discussed in this analysis.

    Section 824--Time Limits for Able-Bodied Adults without 

Dependents--This provision limits the receipt of food stamps for 

certain able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWDs) to 3-months in a 

36 month period unless the individual is either working or 

participating in an approved work or work training program for at least 

20 hours per week. Individuals are exempt from the time limit if they 

are under 18 or over 50, medically certified as physically or mentally 

unfit for employment, a parent or other household member with 

responsibility for a dependent child, or exempt from work registration 

under 6(d)(2) of the Act, or pregnant. Individuals can regain 

eligibility if they work 80 hours in a 30 day period, and they maintain 

eligibility as long as they are satisfying the work requirement. If 

individuals later lose their job, they can receive an additional 3 

months of food stamps while not working. The additional 3 months must 

be consecutive, and begins on the date the individual notifies the 

State that he/she is no longer working. The law allows waivers of the 

time limit for groups of individuals living in areas with an 

unemployment rate of more than 10 percent or where there are not a 

``sufficient number of jobs to provide employment for the 

individuals.''

    This provision affects participants to the extent they are able-

bodied adults without dependents and to the extent they are not 

fulfilling the work requirement, exempt or covered by a waiver. We 

estimate that 412,000 individuals will reach the time limit in FY 1999 

due to this provision. We estimate that in FY 2000-2003 the number of 

individuals reaching the time limit will be (in thousands) 331, 239, 

160, and 140 respectively. We estimate that the FY 1999-2003 cost 

savings from this provision will be (in millions) $585, $485, $360, 

$250, $225. We estimate that the five-year cost savings for FY 1999 

through FY 2003 will be $1.905 billion. These estimates do not take 

into account any changes in the treatment of ABAWDs resulting from the 

subsequent Balanced Budget Act of 1997 or Agricultural Research, 

Extension, and Education Reform Act of 1998.

    The caseload estimates were generated by identifying those 

participants in the 1996 food stamp quality control data who are 

ABAWDs, expressing the able-bodied population as a percentage of the 

total Food Stamp caseload, and separating out to the extent possible 

those participants who were exempt from the work requirements. Further 

adjustments were made to account for the estimated size of the able-

bodied population living in areas that had been granted 10 percent 

unemployment and insufficient jobs waivers (in 1999 approximately 35 

percent of the ABAWD caseload have been estimated to live in waived 

areas and are exempt from the work requirement), and the number of 

able-bodied who might retain eligibility either through work or an 

approved work or training program. About 315,000 people in 1999 have 

been estimated to be ABAWDs who live in a waived area and will not run 

into the time limit. Cost estimates were then derived by multiplying 

the appropriate caseload estimates by the average benefit for a single 

able-bodied Food Stamp recipient over the course of one year.

    Subsequent to the passage of this law, the Balanced Budget Act of 

1997 and the Agricultural Research Extension, and Education Reform Act 

of 1998 (Agricultural Research Act) modified the ABAWD provisions of 

PRWORA. The Balanced Budget Act increased funding to the Food Stamp 

Employment and Training Program to allow states to create qualifying 

work opportunities to help ABAWDs retain their Food Stamp eligibility, 

and permitted states to exempt up to 15 percent of their unwaived able-

bodied caseload from the time limits. The Agricultural Research Act 

further modified the level of funding for Employment and Training 

Programs for ABAWDs. Taken together both of these laws will likely 

mitigate the effects of the ABAWD provisions of PRWORA. The effects of 

these more recent laws will be addressed in future rulemaking.

    Section 822--Cooperation With Child Support Agencies--This 

provision allows States to require cooperation with child support 

agencies as a condition of food stamp eligibility. The provision is 

optional and can be waived for the custodial parent for good cause but 

not for the non-custodial parent. This provision affects participants 

to the extent States choose to implement this provision and to the 

extent they are a custodial or non-custodial parent with child support 

responsibilities and do not cooperate with child support agencies. We 

estimate the number of recipients affected by this provision in FY 

1999-2003 will be (in thousands) 76, 92, 105, 119, 132 respectively. We 

estimate the cost savings from this provision in FY 1999-2003 will be 

(in millions) $15, $15, $15, $20, $25, respectively. We estimate the 

total cost savings for the 5-year period of FY 1999-2003 will be $90 

million.

Custodial Parents

    We estimate that in FY 1999 approximately 4,000 custodial parents 

will be disqualified due to sanctions for noncompliance and 68,000 

custodial parents will have their benefits slightly reduced due to 

compliance and increased child support income as a result of this 

provision. We estimate the FY 1999 cost savings for the custodial 

parents to be $10 million and the five-year cost savings for FY 1999 

through FY 2003 to be $60 million.

    Because food stamp households receiving public assistance are 

already mandated to cooperate with child support agencies, the impact 

of this provision is expected to be realized among food stamp-only 

custodial-parent households. Based on the February 1995 FNS report, 

Participation in the Child Support Enforcement Program Among Non-AFDC 

Food Stamp Households,
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food stamp-only custodial households with child support needs that are 

not cooperating with the child support agencies account for roughly 2.8 

percent of all participating food stamp households. According to the 

report, the response of these custodial parents to this provision was 

assumed to fall into three categories: (1) those that comply and 

receive higher child support payments; (2) those that do not comply and 

face sanctions, and; (3) those that opt to leave food stamps rather 

than comply.

    First, in the 1995 report, custodial parents choosing to comply 

with the provision were found to account for approximately 8.5 percent 

of food stamp benefits and were expected to experience a decline in 

food stamp benefits of 2.0 percent as a result of higher child support 

payments. Savings from this group was calculated as the propor tion of 

total food stamp benefits contributed to this group (8.5 percent) times 

the expected decline of 2.0 percent (0.085 times 0.02 = .00170 or 0.17 

percent).

    Second, to estimate the cost for households which are sanctioned 

for noncompliance, the report indicated that food stamp-only custodial 

households accounted for 7.0 percent of all food stamp households, and 

that approximately 2.1 percent of such households would choose to be 

sanctioned rather than comply with the provision. The total number of 

participating households was calculated by dividing a participation 

projection (21,638,000 persons) by the average household size from 1996 

food stamp quality control data (2.5 persons). The monthly benefit 

reduction for those sanctioned and leaving food stamps rather than 

comply was estimated to be the difference between the maximum allotment 

for a family of four and the maximum allotment for a family of three 

(difference = $87). The savings for this group was calculated as the 

product of total households, the proportion which are food stamp-only 

custodial households (7.0 percent), the proportion choosing to be 

sanctioned rather than comply with the provision (2.1 percent), and the 

annual value of the sanction (e.g., in FY 1999, 8,655 households times 

7 percent times 2.1 percent times $87 times 12 months).

    Third, the 1995 report indicated that of food stamp-only custodial 

households, 3.8 percent were expected to leave the Food Stamp Program 

rather than comply with the provision. The estimate of savings from the 

group of custodial parents choosing to leave food stamps rather than 

comply was calculated as the product of the number of total food stamp 

households, the proportion which are food stamp-only custodial 

households (7.0 percent), the proportion choosing to leave food stamps 

rather than comply (3.8 percent), and the annual value of the household 

benefit reduction (e.g., in FY 1999, 8,655 households times 7 percent 

times 3.8 percent times $87 times 12 months).

    The three group impacts were summed and the estimate was adjusted 

pursuant to assumptions regarding the proportion of food stamp 

recipients in States choosing to adopt this optional provision--10 

percent in FY 1997 and growing to 20 percent by FY 2003. State option 

data were based on the May 1998 FNS report, State Food Stamp Policy 

Choices Under Welfare Reform: Findings of 1997 50-State Survey. Seven 

States reported having adopted this optional provision as of the end of 

calendar year 1997: Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Ohio 

and Wisconsin. According to 1996 food stamp quality control data, these 

seven States account for approximately 10 percent of applicable food 

stamp households.

    The estimate of the number of custodial parents disqualified for 

food stamp benefits from this provision (4,000 people) was calculated 

as the total unrounded savings ($4.5 million) attributable to the 

second and third groups of custodial parents--those continuing to not 

cooperate with child support agencies--divided by the annual value of 

their sanction ($87 times 12 months).

    The estimate of the number of custodial parents receiving reduced 

benefits as a result of complying with this provision and receiving 

increased child support income (68,000 persons) was calculated as the 

difference between the total number of custodial parents affected by 

the provision (72,000 persons) and those being disqualified for 

noncompliance (4,000 people). The total number of custodial parents 

affected was estimated as the total target population of the 

provision--2.8 percent of all households according to the 1995 report--

times the projected number of participants from the FY 1999 budget 

baseline, times the State option phase-in assumptions.

Non-Custodial Parents

    We estimate that approximately 4,000 non-custodial parents will be 

disqualified by this provision in FY 1999. We estimate the FY 1999 cost 

savings for non-custodial parents to be $5 million and the five-year 

cost savings for FY 1999 through FY 2003 to be $30 million.

    Estimates of the savings attributable to the non-custodial parents 

in this provision are based on information from a 1995 report, Non-

custodial Fathers: Can They Afford to Pay More Child Support, by Elaine 

Sorenson at the Urban Institute. Data on non-custodial parents is 

extremely limited and this was the best available information. The 

number of non-custodial parents not cooperating with child support was 

estimated to be more than 78,000 in 1990. This estimate was based on 

the reported 5.9 million fathers in 1990 who were not paying support, 

adjusted by 75 percent to account for those at low-income levels, times 

the proportion estimated to represent non-custodial fathers receiving 

food stamps who had no child support order--a proxy for non-cooperation 

(1.77 percent which is derived from the 1995 Urban Institute report) 

[5.9 million times 0.75 times 0.0177 = 78,323]. The estimate of the 

number of non-custodial parents not cooperating with their child 

support agency was inflated by 1.5 percent annually to account for 

growth in the child support system. This inflation factor is consistent 

with information from the Department of Health and Human Services on 

the child supportsystem. The savings were estimated as the product of 

the number of non-custodial parents not cooperating and an estimated 

average food stamp benefit per person ($76.41 per month times 88,891 

persons times 12months).

    The savings estimate for non-custodial parents was adjusted for the 

proportion of households in States choosing to adopt this optional 

provision and assumptions regarding the percent of non-cooperating non-

custodial parents States are able to identify and sanction. The State 

option assumptions were based on the May 1998 FNS report, State Food 

Stamp Policy Choices Under Welfare Reform: Findings of 1997 50-State 

Survey. Three States reported having adopted this provision at the end 

of calendar year 1997: Maine, Mississippi, and Wisconsin. According to 

1996 quality control data, these three States account for roughly 5 

percent of all applicable households. Therefore the savings estimate in 

FY 1997 assumes only these States implement this child support 

provision, thereby effecting 5 percent of all households that could be 

subject to this provision, and further assumes a gradual expansion of 

the States selecting this option so that 10 percent of all households 

are subject to this provision by FY 2003. The estimate was adjusted 

further based on the assumption that, operating at maximum 

effectiveness,
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States would only be able to correctly identify and sanction 75 percent 

of applicable offenders.

    The estimate of the number of non-custodial parents disqualified 

for food stamp benefits from this provision was calculated as the total 

unrounded savings from non-custodial parents ($3.668 million) divided 

by an estimated average annual food stamp benefit ($916.92 = $76.41 

times 12 months).

    Summing together the estimates for both custodial and non-custodial 

parents, we estimate that 8,000 people will be disqualified as a result 

of complying and receiving additional income from child support in FY 

1999. 68,000 custodial parents will have benefits reduced due to higher 

amounts of child support income as a result of this provision. We 

estimate the FY 1999 cost savings to be $15 million and the five-year 

cost savings for FY 1999 through FY 2003 to be $90 million.

    Section 823--Disqualification for Child Support Arrears: This 

provision allows States to disqualify individuals for any month during 

which they are delinquent in any court-ordered child support payment. 

This provision is optional. This provision affects participants to the 

extent States choose to implement this provision and to the extent they 

have court-ordered child support responsibilities and they are 

delinquent in their payments. We estimate that approximately 3,000 

persons will be disqualified as a result of this provision in FY 1999. 

We estimate the FY 1999 cost savings to be $5 million and the five-year 

cost savings for FY 1999 through FY 2003 to be $25 million.

    The estimate of savings for this provision was based on the 1995 

report, Non-Custodial Fathers: Can They Afford to Pay More  Child 

Support, by Elaine Sorenson at the Urban Institute. There were an 

estimated 825,000 custodial mothers participating in the child support 

system (in IV-D programs) with child support orders not receiving 

support in 1990. It was assumed that for every custodial mother with an 

order and without support, there was a non-custodial father in arrears. 

Estimating that almost 7 percent (the national average of 1 in 14 

Americans receiving food stamps) of them were receiving food stamp 

benefits, it was calculated that in 1990 there were more than 56,000 

non-custodial fathers receiving food stamps who were in arrears for 

court-ordered child support. This number was inflated by 1.5 percent 

per year to reflect growth in the child support system, consistent with 

information from the Department of Health and Human Services. The 

estimate of savings for this provision was based on an estimated 

average monthly benefit per person ($76.41). The total savings was 

calculated as the product of the number of non-custodial fathers in 

arrears for child support times the annual benefits they would lose due 

to disqualification (64,883 people times $76.41 per month times 12 

months).

    This product was adjusted for assumptions regarding the proportion 

of food stamp households in States choosing to implement this provision 

and the State's ability to identify and sanction the appropriate 

individuals. The State option assumptions were based on the May 1998 

FNS report, State Food Stamp Choices Under Welfare Reform: Findings of 

1997 50-State Survey, indicating that three States reported operating 

this provision at the end of 1997: Ohio, Oklahoma and Wisconsin. 

According to 1996 food stamp quality control data, these three States 

account for approximately 5 percent of all applicable households. The 

savings estimate was adjusted to reflect that 5 percent of the States 

would implement this provision in FY 1997, growing to 10 percent by FY 

2003. The estimate was adjusted further based on the assumption that, 

operating at maximum effectiveness, States would only be able to 

correctly identify and sanction 75 percent of applicable offenders. In 

FY 1999, for example, the savings was calculated by taking the product 

of the 5 percent state phase-in and the assumption of 75 percent 

cooperation and multiplying it by the total savings. The estimate of 

the number of individuals disqualified for food stamp benefits from 

this provision was calculated as the total unrounded savings 

($2,667,000) divided by an estimated average annual food stamp benefit 

($916.92).

    Section 829 and 911--No Increase for Penalties in Other Programs--

Section 829 provides that if a household's benefits are reduced under a 

Federal, State, or local means-tested public assistance program for 

failure to perform a required action, the household may not receive an 

increased food stamp allotment as a result of the decrease in income 

due to the reduced public assistance payment. This applies to both 

intentional and unintentional failures to take a required action. In 

addition to not increasing allotments, States may reduce the Food Stamp 

allotment by up to 25 percent. Section 911 prohibits an increase in 

food stamp benefits as the result of a decrease in Federal, State, or 

local means-tested assistance benefits because of fraud. Participants 

will be affected by these provisions to the extent their benefits are 

reduced for failure to perform a required action or for fraud. The 

effect of the provisions also depends on the cooperation of other 

programs in notifying the food stamp agency. We estimate approximately 

6,000 participants will be affected by these provisions in FY 1999. We 

estimate that in FY 1999-2003 the number of recipients affected by this 

provision will be (in thousands) 6,6,6,7,7 respectively. We estimate 

the cost savings for FY 1999-2003 to be (in millions) $5, $5, $10, $10, 

$10. We estimate the five-year cost savings for FY 1999 through FY 2003 

to be $25 million.

    Food stamp savings from these provisions results from two sources: 

(1) a mandatory prohibition on increasing food stamp benefits when 

individuals receive lower benefits in other means-tested programs for 

failure to comply with a required action, and (2) an optional provision 

to decrease food stamp benefits by no more than 25 percent.

    The estimate for savings from the mandatory prohibition on 

increasing benefits was based on the Department of Health and Human 

Services' Administration for Children and Families data regarding the 

average number of people sanctioned monthly from the JOBS program in 

May 1994. This serves as a proxy for the number of individuals that 

receive reduced benefits from a means-tested program for failure to 

perform a required action or for fraud, and is the best available data. 

(Data on fraud in other programs is unavailable.) There were almost 

13,000 monthly first sanctions, 1,876 monthly second sanctions and 375 

monthly third sanctions. First sanctions were assumed to result in 

instant compliance and therefore last zero months in duration. This 

assumption is based on 1994 information from the Department of Health 

and Human Service, Administration on Children and Families (ACF). ACF 

does not have any more recent information. Second sanctions were 

assumed to have an average duration of three months and third sanctions 

were assumed to have an average duration of six months. The savings 

from the mandatory prohibition on increasing food stamp benefits was 

calculated as the sum of the products of the number of individuals 

sanctioned, the average AFDC benefit lost times the FSP benefit 

reduction rate of 30 percent, and the duration of the sanction. The 

average AFDC benefit reduction was taken from the average AFDC benefit 

per person reported in the 1996 Green Book and inflated over time. 

[(1,876 monthly second sanctions times 12 months times
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the average AFDC benefit lost which equals $143 times 30 percent FSP 

benefit reduction times 3 months) plus (375 monthly third sanctions 

times12 months times the average AFDC benefit lost which equals $143 

times 30 percent FSP benefit reduction times 6 months)]

    The estimate for savings from the State option to decrease food 

stamp benefits by no more than 25 percent was based on an estimated 

average monthly food stamp benefit per person and the JOBS sanction 

data. The savings was calculated as the product of the number of 

individuals sanctioned, 25 percent of the average food stamp benefit 

per person and the duration of the sanction. This estimate was adjusted 

to account for the proportion of food stamp households in States 

expected to exercise this optional provision--10 percent in 1997 and 

growing to 20 percent by 2003. This was based on information provided 

in the May 1998 FNS report, State Food Stamp Policy Choices Under 

Welfare Reform: Findings of 1997 50-State Survey. Seven States reported 

having adopted this optional provision at the end of 1997: Connecticut, 

Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana and Tennessee. According 

to 1996 food stamp quality control data, these seven States account for 

approximately 10 percent of all food stamp cash assistance households.

    The savings estimates for the mandatory and optional portions of 

the provisions were summed. The estimate of the number of individuals 

receiving a reduction in food stamp benefits due to these provisions 

was calculated as the total unrounded savings divided by an estimated 

average annual food stamp benefit. [(1,876 monthly second sanctions 

times 12 months times the average AFDC benefit lost which equals $143 

times 30 percent FSP benefit reduction times 3 months) plus (375 

monthly third sanctions times 12 months times the average AFDC benefit 

lost which equals $143 times 30 percent FSP benefit reduction times 6 

months) plus the sum of (1,876 times 12 months times the average FSP 

benefit per AFDC household which equals $259.96 times .25 reduction 

times 3 months) and (375 times the average FSP benefit per AFDC 

household which equals $259.96 times .25 reduction times 6 months)]

Background

    On August 26, 1996, the Personal Responsibility and Work 

Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, Pub. L. 104-193, (PRWORA), was 

enacted. PRWORA amended the Food Stamp Act of 1977 7 U.S.C. 2011, et 

seq. (The Act), by adding new Food Stamp Program (the Program) 

eligibility requirements, increasing existing penalties for failure to 

comply with Program rules, and establishing a time limit for Program 

participation of three months in three years for able-bodied adults 

without children who are not working. Thirteen sections of the PRWORA 

are addressed in this rulemaking. State agencies were required to 

implement most of these provisions upon enactment for applicant 

households and at recertification of participant households. Some of 

these provisions were required to be implemented at dates of enactment, 

and those instances are discussed below. The requirements of each 

provision are discussed below.

    The Department is proposing to codify many of the new provisions in 

7 CFR 273.11, ``Action on Households with Special Circumstances''. The 

proposed new or increased penalties will amend 7 CFR 273.16. Because of 

the complexity of the new food stamp time limit for able-bodied adults, 

the Department is proposing to add a new regulatory section to codify 

these requirements, 7 CFR 273.24. The discussion below follows this 

organizational structure.

7 CFR 273.11--Action on Households with Special Circumstances

Ban on Increased Benefits for Failure to Take Required Action or 

Fraud--7 CFR 273.11(k)

    Current regulations at 7 CFR 273.11(k) provide that a State agency 

shall not increase food stamp benefits when benefits received under 

another means-tested Federal, State or local welfare or public 

assistance program have been decreased due to an intentional failure to 

comply with a requirement of the program that imposed the benefit 

decrease. This provision does not apply in the case of individuals or 

households subject to a food stamp work sanction imposed under 7 CFR 

273.7(g)(2). If the other program will not cooperate in providing 

information sufficient to enforce 7 CFR 273.11(k), the State agency is 

not held responsible for noncompliance as long as the State agency has 

made a good faith effort to obtain the information.

    Section 829 of PRWORA amended Section 8(d) of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 

2017(d), to provide that if the benefits of a household are reduced 

under a Federal, State, or local law relating to a means-tested public 

assistance program for the failure of a person to perform an action 

required under the law or program the household may not receive an 

increased allotment as the result of that decrease, and the State 

agency may reduce the household's food stamp allotment by not more than 

25 percent. This provision applies whether or not the act leading to 

the decrease in benefits was intentional. The prohibition on increasing 

food stamp benefits is applicable for the duration of the reduction 

imposed by the other program. If the reduction is the result of a 

failure to perform an action required under part A of title IV of the 

Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 601, et seq. (Temporary Assistance for 

Needy Families (TANF)), the State agency may use the rules and 

procedures that apply under part A of title IV to reduce the food stamp 

allotment.

    The Department proposes to amend 7 CFR 273.11(k)(1) to provide that 

a ``means-tested public assistance program'' for purposes of the 

restriction imposed by Section 829 of PRWORA shall include any public 

or assisted housing under Title I of the United States Housing Act of 

1937, any State program funded under part A of Title IV of the Social 

Security Act, and any program for the aged, blind, or disabled under 

Titles I, X, XIV, or XVI of the Social Security Act, and State and 

local general assistance as defined in 7 CFR 271.2. Title XIX was not 

included because Medicaid benefits are not counted as income for food 

stamp purposes. The Department also proposes that ``reduced'' will mean 

decreased, suspended, or terminated.

    The Department would like to point out that the requirement of the 

assistance program does not have to be comparable to a food stamp 

program requirement.

    The Department plans to retain the current requirement at 7 CFR 

273.11(k) which provides that this restriction must be applied to all 

applicable cases. In addition, the Department proposes to retain the 

current provision that if a State agency is not successful in obtaining 

the necessary cooperation from another Federal, State or local means-

tested welfare or public assistance program to enable it to comply with 

the requirements of this provision, the State agency shall not be held 

responsible for noncompliance as long as the State agency has made a 

good faith effort to obtain the information. However, the Department 

expects the State agency to act on information that it has available, 

such as information on TANF participants. The Department proposes that 

the State agency obtain information about sanctions and changes in 

those sanctions directly from the assistance programs and not rely on 

the households to provide the information. This may be done through 

computerized listings or other means. The Department
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does not propose changing the reporting requirements for households.

    The Department proposes that the restriction imposed by Section 829 

only apply if assistance benefits are reduced for failure of a member 

of a household to perform an action required under a Federal, State, or 

local law relating to a means-tested public assistance program if the 

person was receiving such assistance at the time the reduction was 

imposed. In other words, the prohibition imposed by Section 829 would 

not apply to a failure to take an action at the time of initial 

application for an assistance program. If the person was not already 

participating, benefits could not be ``reduced.'' With the following 

exceptions, this provision would apply to reductions imposed during the 

period benefits were originally authorized by the other program and to 

reductions imposed at the time of application for continued benefits if 

there is no break in participation. The Department does not consider 

reaching a time limit for time-limited benefits or having a child that 

is not eligible because of a family cap as failures to perform an 

action required by an assistance program. The person or persons simply 

no longer meet the eligibility criteria for assistance. Further, the 

Department does not intend this provision to apply to purely procedural 

requirements such as failure to submit a monthly report or failure to 

reapply for assistance.

    The Department is proposing that the household member does not have 

to be certified for food stamps at the time of the failure to perform a 

required action for this provision to apply. If a reduction in the 

assistance benefits is in force at the time of the food stamp 

application, food stamp benefits would be computed in a manner that 

would prevent a higher food stamp allotment as a result of the failure 

to take the required action.

    The Department proposes to give States flexibility in determining 

how to prevent an increase in food stamp benefits. For example, the 

State may compute the exact amount of assistance the household would 

have received each month but for the penalty. Or, the State may 

determine the amount of the decrease at the time it was first imposed 

and attribute that amount as additional assistance without regard to 

other changes in household circumstances for the duration of the 

penalty. For example, a household's original grant is reduced by $50. 

No matter what the grant is in subsequent months, the State will 

increase it by $50 to find out what the grant should have been. As an 

alternative, the State agency may increase the actual assistance 

received on an individual case basis by the same percentage as the 

original reduction. For example, if the original grant of $100 is 

reduced by 25 percent to $75, no matter what the grant is in subsequent 

months, the State agency will increase it by 25 percent to find out 

what the grant should have been. Finally, instead of computing each 

reduction on an individual case-by-case basis, the State agency may 

choose to increase the assistance grant of all households that fail to 

perform a required action by the same flat percent, not to exceed 25 

percent. For example, for all households that fail to perform a 

required action, no matter what their actual individual percentage 

decrease is, the State agency may choose to increase everyone's actual 

assistance grant by 25 percent.

    Section 8(d)(1)(A) of the Act, as amended by Section 829 of PRWORA, 

provides that the household may not receive an increase in food stamp 

benefits and Section (8)(d)(1)(B) provides that State agencies may 

reduce the food stamp allotments by not more than 25 percent. The 

Department interprets these sections to mean that the State agency must 

prevent an increase in food stamp benefits and, in addition, it may 

reduce the food stamp allotment by up to 25 percent. If the State 

agency opts, under the flexibility discussed in the preceding 

paragraph, to use a flat percentage to prevent an increase in food 

stamp benefits for all households that contain a member who failed to 

take a required action, the Department believes that that percentage 

should also not be more than 25 percent.

    If a percentage is computed for an individual case, the percentage 

must be applied to the assistance payment before any amount is recouped 

to repay a prior assistance overissuance. Likewise, if a percentage is 

used as a standard measure of reduction, it must be applied to the food 

stamp allotment before any amount is recouped to repay a prior food 

stamp overissuance.

    Section 829 of the PRWORA also amended Section 8(d)(2) of the Act 

to provide that if benefits are reduced for a failure of an individual 

to perform an action required under a program under Title IV-A of the 

Social Security Act (TANF), the State agency may use the TANF rules and 

procedures to reduce the food stamp allotments. Under the TANF program, 

households are sometimes sanctioned for 30 percent of the grant. The 

Department interprets the reference to use of TANF rules and procedures 

to apply only to procedural aspects such as budgeting procedures and 

combined notices and hearings. The Department does not interpret it as 

allowing a percentage reduction greater than 25 percent even though the 

TANF reduction may be more than 25 percent.

    A number of States have expressed concern about indefinite and 

permanent penalties. An indefinite penalty may occur, for example, when 

a person is determined to be ineligible for a particular program for 2 

months or until he or she complies with a certain requirement. In some 

cases the person may not reapply for the other assistance program or 

may not be given an opportunity to cure the violation because they may 

become ineligible for some other reason, such as having children reach 

the age of 18. Also, some assistance programs only keep records for a 

limited time and may be unable to provide the food stamp office with 

the information necessary to enable it to prohibit an increase in food 

stamp benefits. The Department believes that a stricter penalty should 

not be imposed for a failure to perform a required action in another 

program than the penalty imposed for the first time a person commits an 

intentional food stamp program violation. In most cases the penalty for 

the first food stamp violation is a 1-year disqualification. Therefore, 

if the other assistance program assigns a disqualification period of 

longer than one year or an indefinite or permanent disqualification 

period, the Department proposes that that the maximum length of the 

food stamp disqualification under Section 8(d) of the Act be no more 

than one year. Further, the Department proposes that the State agency 

be allowed to shorten the disqualification period to less than one year 

if the State becomes aware that the person would be ineligible for 

assistance for some other reason.

    If an individual fails to perform a required action in a State or 

local assistance program, and the individual moves within the State, 

the Department proposes that the disqualification goes with that 

person, but that it be terminated if the person is ineligible for the 

assistance program for some other reason or if the individual moves out 

of State. If an individual fails to perform a required action in a 

Federal program, and the individual moves, either interstate or 

intrastate, the Department is proposing that the State verify the 

status and continue the disqualification if appropriate.

    The introductory paragraph of 7 CFR 273.11(k) currently provides in 

part that the prohibition on increasing food stamp benefits does not 

apply in the case of individuals or households subject to the food 

stamp work sanction imposed pursuant to 7 CFR 273.7(g)(2).
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Some State agencies have advised that this provision is confusing and 

difficult to administer, especially when another program's penalty is 

for a longer period of time. For example, a person could have a 2-month 

food stamp disqualification and a 6-month TANF disqualification for the 

same violation. The question is should the person be disqualified for 

food stamp purposes for 2 months and at the same time have an amount 

attributed as income as the result of the TANF reduction or should the 

person be disqualified for 2 months and then have an amount attributed 

as income for the remaining 4 months in order to prevent an increase in 

benefits as the result of the TANF decrease. The law provides for both 

a disqualification for food stamp purposes and prohibits an increase in 

food stamp benefits for the duration of the reduction in the other 

assistance program. Therefore, the Department is proposing that the 

person be disqualified for food stamp purposes and the State agency 

prohibit an increase in food stamps as the result of the reduction in 

assistance for the duration of the reduction in assistance even if 

there is some overlap. In the example presented, if the amount of the 

TANF reduction was $20, the person could be disqualified from receiving 

food stamps for June and July and $20 could be added to the household's 

TANF income for June through November. The Department believes that 

States should be able to take both actions against the household 

simultaneously since both programs are affected by the violation. This 

proposal will also simplify the program and allow the State to use TANF 

procedures. Accordingly, the Department is proposing to remove the 

sentence from the regulations that provides that 7 CFR 273.11(k) shall 

not apply in the case of individuals or households subject to a food 

stamp work sanction.

    As amended by Section 829 of PRWORA, Section 8(d) of the Act 

provides that food stamp benefits cannot be increased as a result of a 

decrease in the another assistance program ``for the duration of the 

reduction.'' The Department interprets this to mean that the 

prohibition on increasing benefits must be for the same months as the 

decrease in assistance to the extent possible, even if there is a break 

in participation. If the penalty cannot be imposed during the first 

month or months of the penalty in the other program because of notice 

of adverse action time frames, the prohibition on increasing food stamp 

benefits shall apply to the remainder of the assistance sanction 

period. If a sanction is imposed, and the other program subsequently 

lifts the sanction (for example, the person takes the required action), 

the food stamp prohibition on increasing benefits must be lifted when 

the food stamp office becomes aware of this.

    The Department would like to emphasize that during the 

disqualification the State agency must act on changes that would affect 

the household's benefits which are not related to the assistance 

violation. For example, if the household's earned income decreases and 

the TANF grant is increased because of this, the food stamp office must 

take the decrease in earned income and the increase in the assistance 

payment into account for food stamp purposes.

    In accordance with the above discussion, the Department is 

proposing to revise 7 CFR 273.11(k) in its entirety.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.9(b)(5)(i) exclude from income 

moneys withheld from an assistance payment, earned income or other 

income source, or moneys received from any source which are voluntarily 

or involuntarily returned, to repay a prior overpayment received from 

that income source, provided that the overpayment was not from income 

that was excludable. The Department is proposing to revise this 

paragraph so that the total amount of welfare or public assistance, 

rather than the total amount minus the repayment amount, is counted as 

income for food stamps purposes when the overissuance was caused by the 

household. To count the net amount of assistance would result in a 

household getting more food stamps in the month of repayment. For 

example, if the amount of the authorized assistance grant was $400, but 

the household will only receive $350 because $50 is going to be 

recouped to repay a prior overpayment caused by the household, food 

stamp benefits would be based on $400. To base food stamp benefits on 

$350 would result in an increase in food stamps for that month as the 

result of a failure of a member of the household to take a required 

action.

Prohibition on Increasing Benefits as the Result of Fraud

    Section 911 of PRWORA provides that if an individual's benefits 

under a Federal, State, or local law relating to a means-tested welfare 

or a public assistance program are reduced because of an act of fraud 

by the individual under the law or program, the individual may not, for 

the duration of the reduction, receive increased food stamp benefits as 

a result of a decrease in income attributable to such reduction. We 

believes that cases of fraud will involve a failure to take a required 

action in another program, e.g. failure to provide complete and 

accurate information, and, therefore, it is not necessary to 

distinguish between fraud and other program violations.

    The provision prohibiting an increase due to fraud is similar to 

the provision prohibiting an increase due to a failure to perform a 

required action except that in the case of fraud the statute does not 

reference the use of TANF procedures nor an additional percentage 

penalty. The Department is proposing to allow the use of TANF 

procedures for TANF fraud cases including the optional additional 

percentage reduction to simplify the procedures and because cases of 

fraud usually involve the failure of a household member to take a 

required action. Accordingly, the Department proposes to incorporate 

the prohibition on increasing food stamp benefits as the result of a 

fraud into the revision to 7 CFR 273.11(k).

Comparable Disqualifications--7 CFR 273.11(l)

    Section 819(a) of the PRWORA amended Section 6 of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 

2015, to establish requirements for State agencies that want to impose 

the same disqualifications under the Food Stamp Program that are 

imposed under other public assistance programs. The Department's 

proposals for implementing this provision are discussed below.

    Section 6 (i) of the Act now provides that if a disqualification is 

imposed on a member of a food stamp household for a failure of the 

member to perform an action required under a Federal, State, or local 

law relating to a means-tested public assistance program, the State 

agency may impose the same disqualification on the member of the 

household under the Food Stamp Program. Under section 6(i), the 

requirement of the other program does not have to be comparable to a 

Food Stamp Program requirement. The Department interprets this 

provision to mean that the assistance program has to be authorized by 

Federal, State or local law, but that the specific requirement does not 

have to be specified in the law. For purposes of this provision, the 

Department proposes that a ``means-tested public assistance program'' 

shall mean any public or assisted housing under Title I of the United 

States Housing Act of 1937; any State temporary assistance for needy 

families funded under part A of Title IV of the Social Security Act; 

and any program for the aged, blind, or disabled under
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Titles I, X, XIV, or XVI of the Social Security Act; Medicaid under 

Title XX of the Social Security Act; and State and local general 

assistance as defined in 7 CFR 271.2.

    Since the law makes the comparable disqualification provision a 

State option, the Department proposes to allow State agencies the 

discretion to apply this provision to some, but not all, means-tested 

public assistance programs. For example, the State agency may opt to 

apply TANF disqualifications but not general assistance 

disqualifications. Further, the Department proposes to allow State 

agencies to choose which disqualifications within a specific program it 

wants to impose for food stamp purposes. For example, the State agency 

may choose to disqualify a person for food stamps who has failed to 

submit to a drug test for TANF purposes but it does not have to 

disqualify a member of the household for all TANF failures. State 

agencies will be required to develop their own tracking system(s) for 

purposes of this provision. The Department does not plan to change the 

reporting requirements for households.

    For purposes of this provision, the Department proposes that this 

provision only apply if the person was receiving assistance at the time 

the disqualification was imposed by the other program. In other words, 

this provision would not apply to a failure to take an action at the 

time of initial application for an assistance program. If the person 

was not already participating, the person could not be 

``disqualified.'' With the following exceptions, this provision would 

apply to disqualifications imposed during the period benefits were 

originally authorized by the other program and to disqualifications 

imposed at the time of application for continued benefits if there is 

no break in participation. The Department does not consider reaching a 

time limit for time-limited benefits or having a <strong>child</strong> that is not 

eligible because of a family cap as failures to perform an action 

required by an assistance program. The person or persons simply no 

longer meet the eligibility criteria for assistance. Further, the 

Department does not intend this provision to apply to purely procedural 

requirements such as a failure to submit a monthly report or failure to 

reapply for assistance.

    One State agency has interpreted Section 835 of PRWORA as allowing 

a comparable disqualification for food stamps when the person is 

disqualified at the time of initial application for the assistance 

program. Section 835 amended Section 11(i)(2) of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 2020 

(k)(2), to provide that ``except in the case of disqualification as a 

penalty for failure to comply with a public assistance program rule or 

regulation,'' no household shall have its food stamp application denied 

nor its food stamp benefits terminated solely on the basis that its 

application to participate has been denied or its benefits have been 

terminated under any program for which the household filed a joint 

application without a separate determination by the State agency that 

the household fails to satisfy the food stamp eligibility requirements. 

The Department interprets this change as only applying to joint 

applications for recertification. The Department's position is that a 

person must first be participating in the assistance program before he 

or she can be ``disqualified.'' Some examples of disqualifications that 

could affect food stamp eligibility are disqualifications imposed on 

Title IV-A participants for failing to have a child immunized or 

failing to cooperate.

    The Department is proposing that current assistance 

disqualifications be applied to food stamp applicants as well as 

recipients who are already receiving food stamp benefits. For example, 

if a disqualification was imposed by another assistance program while 

the person was participating in that program and it is still in effect 

when the person initially applies for food stamps, the disqualification 

may be imposed at the time of the initial food stamp application.

    Section 6(i)(2) or the Act, 7 U.S.C. 2015(i)(2), as amended by 

Section 819 of PRWORA, provides that if a disqualification is imposed 

on a ``member'' of a household for failure to perform a required 

action, the State agency may impose the same disqualification on the 

``member'' of the household under the Food Stamp Program. In some 

assistance programs, if an individual fails to take a required action 

the whole assistance unit may be disqualified. Some State agencies are 

interpreting Section 6(i)(2), which allows use of TANF rules and 

procedures for TANF cases to allow the whole assistance unit to be 

disqualified for food stamp purposes when the whole assistance unit is 

disqualified for TANF purposes. The Department interprets the reference 

to TANF rules and procedures as authorizing the same notice and hearing 

requirements and disqualifying the person for the same months that the 

person is disqualified under the TANF program in a retrospective 

eligibility system. For example, if TANF counts all of the person's 

income while disqualified, then all of the person's income could be 

counted for food stamp purposes. The Department expects these 

procedures to vary from State to State. The Department does not believe 

that the intent was to disqualify the whole household even in TANF 

situations. Therefore, the Department is proposing that for food stamp 

purposes only the individual can be disqualified, rather than the whole 

household.

    A number of States have expressed concern about indefinite and 

permanent disqualification periods. In some cases the person may become 

ineligible for some other reason, may not reapply for the other 

assistance program, or may move from the State where the penalty was 

imposed to another State that does not have the same requirement so the 

person is unable to comply and have the disqualification lifted. Also, 

some assistance programs only keep records for a certain time period 

and they may be unable to provide the food stamp office with the 

information necessary to disqualify the person. The Department believes 

that a stricter penalty should not be imposed for a failure to perform 

a required action in another program than the penalty imposed for the 

first time a person commits an intentional food stamp program 

violation. In most cases the penalty for the first food stamp violation 

is a 1-year disqualification. Therefore, if the other assistance 

program assigns a disqualification period of longer than one year or an 

indefinite or permanent disqualification period, the Department 

proposes that that the maximum length of the food stamp 

disqualification in these circumstances be no more than one year. 

Further, the Department proposes that the State agency be allowed to 

shorten the food stamp disqualification period if the person becomes 

ineligible to participate in the other program for some other reason 

during that one-year time period.

    Although Section 6(i)(2) of the Act does not specify if the food 

stamp disqualification period has to be concurrent with the 

disqualification period imposed by the other assistance program, the 

Department proposes that the food stamp disqualification period be 

limited to the same period of time to the extent possible. It may not 

be possible to impose the full disqualification period because of the 

requirements for a food stamp advance notice of adverse action in 

accordance with 7 CFR 273.13. If the State agency does not have time to 

apply the full disqualification concurrently because of notice of 

adverse action requirements, the Department is proposing that the
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State agency only apply the portion that may be imposed concurrently.

    When a household member is disqualified from food stamp eligibility 

under Section 6(a)(2), the Department is proposing all of the member's 

resources be counted as they will continue to be available to the 

household. However, since this is an optional provision, we are 

proposing that State agencies be allowed the option of counting all or 

a prorated share of the income and deductible expenses of the 

disqualified individual. State agencies would not have the option of 

excluding the person's resources or all of their income because this 

could be to the household's advantage and could conflict with the 

previously discussed prohibition on increasing food stamp benefits as a 

result of a decrease in assistance benefits due to failure to take a 

required action.

    Section 6(i)(3) of the Act, as amended by Section 819 of PRWORA, 

provides that if a member of a household has been disqualified under 

the comparable treatment for disqualification provision, the member of 

the household so disqualified may, after the disqualification period 

has expired, apply for food stamp benefits and shall be treated as a 

new applicant, except that a prior disqualification under Section 6(d) 

of the Act regarding work requirement disqualifications shall be 

considered in determining eligibility. This places the burden of 

initiating an action once the disqualification period is over on the 

household. The Department interprets the language regarding prior work 

disqualifications to mean that if a person had a food stamp work 

violation in a prior year and has a current food stamp work violation 

for which an overlapping comparable disqualification is being served, 

the next food stamp work violation, if any, will be considered the 

third violation. If there are two or more pending disqualifications, 

the Department proposes that the State agency impose them concurrently 

but keep track of the number of food stamp work violations for purposes 

of determining if a subsequent food stamp violation is the second or 

third violation. For example, if an individual is disqualified in June 

for a food stamp work violation and in June and July for a TANF 

violation, after being disqualified for June and July the person will 

not have to serve an additional disqualification period and the food 

stamp work disqualification will have been considered served. If the 

whole household is disqualified for June for a food stamp violation and 

one member is disqualified for June and July for a comparable 

disqualification, the household would be disqualified for June and the 

individual would be disqualified for July.

    The Department is proposing to add a new provision to 7 CFR 

273.1(b)(2)(x) to encompass those individuals disqualified from the 

Food Stamp Program based on a disqualification in another assistance 

program and to add a new section 7 CFR 273.11(l) to explain the 

requirements as discussed above.

    Section 819 of PRWORA provides that State agencies electing to 

impose comparable disqualifications, must specify in their State Plan 

of Operations the guidelines the State agency will be using in carrying 

out this provision. The State Plan discussion should include the 

programs and disqualifications the State has selected, how information 

will be obtained, time restrictions set for indefinite and permanent 

disqualification, TANF procedures that will be used, and how the income 

of the person will be counted. Accordingly, the Department is proposing 

to add a new section 7 CFR 272.2(d)(1)(xiii) to require that the 

comparable disqualification procedures be included in the State Plan of 

Operation for those States electing to implement such Food Stamp 

Program disqualifications.

School Attendance--7 CFR 273.11(m) and (n)

    Section 103 of PRWORA amended Part A of Title IV of the Social 

Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 601, et seq., to provide for block grants to 

States for TANF. The title of section 404 is ``Use of Grants.'' Section 

404(i) provides that a State to which a grant is made under section 403 

shall not be prohibited from sanctioning a family that includes an 

adult who has received assistance under the Food Stamp Program, if such 

adult fails to ensure that the minor dependent children of such adult 

attend school as required by the law of the State in which the minor 

children reside. Section 404(j) provides that a State to which a grant 

is made under section 403 shall not be prohibited from sanctioning a 

family that includes an adult who is older than age 20 and younger than 

age 51 and who has received assistance under the Food Stamp Program, if 

such adult does not have, or is not working toward attaining, a 

secondary school diploma or its recognized equivalent unless such adult 

has been determined in the judgment of medical, psychiatric, or other 

appropriate professionals to lack the requisite capacity to 

successfully complete a course of study that would lead to a secondary 

school diploma or its recognized equivalent.

    We have had several questions as to whether or not these provisions 

provide for separate food stamp sanctions in addition to TANF 

sanctions. The Department has interpreted these provisions to pertain 

to TANF sanctions only. States may not apply a separate food stamp 

sanction to households based on Sections 404(i) and (j). The Department 

has come to this conclusion based on the fact that these provisions are 

in Title IV of the Social Security Act and are limited to States that 

receive a TANF block grant. By inserting Sections 404(i) and 404(j) 

into the TANF statute, Congress implied that only TANF benefits would 

be affected. In addition, the paragraph only references adults 

receiving food stamps; it does not reference food stamp sanctions. 

Finally, Congress made no cross-references to this provision in the 

Food Stamp Act.

    If a food stamp household's TANF benefits are reduced under these 

provisions, however, States must apply Section 8(d) of the Act, as 

amended by 829 of PRWORA. Section 8(d) of the Act prevents an increase 

in food stamp benefits if a member of a household fails to comply with 

another Federal, State, or local means-tested benefit program. In 

addition, States may apply Section 6 of the Act, as amended by section 

819 of PRWORA. Section 6 of the Act provides that if a disqualification 

is imposed on a member of a food stamp household for a failure of the 

member to perform an action required under a Federal, State, or local 

law relating to a means-tested public assistance program the State 

agency may impose the same disqualification on the member of the 

household under the Food Stamp Program.

    Because we have had questions concerning these provisions, we are 

including a reference to them in 7 CFR 273.11, Action on Households 

with Special Circumstances. We clarify that these are TANF only 

sanctions. However, we also clarify that, in cases where TANF benefits 

are reduced or a member is disqualified under these provisions, States 

must prevent an increase in food stamp benefits and, in addition, they 

may reduce food stamp benefits by up to 25 percent and impose a 

comparable disqualification on the member for food stamp purposes.

Overlapping Penalties

    In addition to prohibiting an increase in food stamp benefits as 

the result of fraud or failure to take a required action in an 

assistance program, the State agency may opt to impose a comparable 

disqualification period. The Department is proposing to include this 

provision in the new paragraph 7 CFR 273.11(l). In some cases a failure 

to take a required action may also involve a failure to
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ensure that a minor child attend school or failure to work toward 

attaining a secondary school diploma. In such latter cases, the 

Department is proposing that the State agency choose under which 

provision to handle the cases. These options are included in the 

proposed new paragraphs 7 CFR 273.11(m) and (n).

Denial of Benefits for Drug-Related Felony Convictions--7 CFR 273.11(o)

    Section 115(a) of PRWORA, 42 U.S.C. 862a, provides that an 

individual convicted of a felony under either Federal State law which 

has as an element the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled 

substance (as defined in Section 102(6) of the Controlled Substances 

Act; 21 U.S.C. 802(c)) shall not be eligible for benefits under the 

Food Stamp Program. Section 115(b)(2) further provides that, although 

such an individual shall not be considered a member of a household for 

the purpose of determining benefits, the individual's income and 

resources shall be considered available to the household.

    Section 115(d) of PRWORA gives States the option, through specific 

legislation enacted (by the State legislature) after the date of 

enactment of PRWORA, to exempt any or all individuals residing in the 

State from the application of subsection (a), i.e. ineligibility based 

on conviction for a drug-related felony. A State, through legislation, 

may also limit the period of ineligibility of individuals convicted of 

drug-related felonies.

    Section 115(c) of PRWORA mandates that State's electing to enforce 

Section 115(a) must indicate in writing during the certification 

process whether the applicant, or a member of the applicant's 

household, has been convicted of drug-related felonies.

    Pursuant to Section 116 of PRWORA, Section 115 became generally 

effective July 1, 1997, unless the State opts out of its provisions as 

described above. However, Section 116 further provides that in States 

that submit plans under TANF, Section 115 is effective when the plan is 

submitted to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). 

Section 115 specifically provides that in no event can an individual be 

disqualified under this provision for a conviction for a crime 

occurring before August 22, 1996, the date of PRWORA's enactment.

    To implement the provisions of Section 115 of the PRWORA, the 

Department is proposing to amend 7 CFR 273.11 by adding a new paragraph 

(o), which would specifically provide that an individual convicted 

(under Federal or State law) of a felony which has as an element the 

possession, use, or distribution of a controlled substance (as defined 

in Section 102(6) of the Controlled Substances Act) shall not be 

considered a household member for Food Stamp Program purposes. The new 

paragraph will further provide that the exclusion would not apply if 

the State had elected to opt out of enforcing Section 115 through 

legislation, or would be in effect for a limited time if the State had 

elected to limit the length of the period of disqualification. 

Consistent with the statutory language, the Department is also 

proposing to amend 7 CFR 273.11(c)(1) to provide that the income and 

resources of individuals ineligible to participate in the program as 

the result of convictions for drug-related felonies shall be considered 

available to the household for purposes of determining eligibility and 

benefit levels. The Department is also proposing a technical amendment 

to 7 CFR 273.1(b), which will specify that individuals convicted of 

drug-related felonies shall not be considered household members.

    We have no discretion to mitigate this provision. However, those 

States that would like to pursue option of opting out or limiting the 

disqualification period can contact States that have already done so 

for information. The following 19 States have either opted out or 

limited the disqualification time period: Louisiana, Oklahoma, 

Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, New Hampshire, New 

York, Vermont, New Jersey, North Carolina, Colorado, Iowa, Utah, 

Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon and Washington.

Disqualification of Fleeing Felons

    Section 821 of PRWORA amended Section 6 of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 2015, 

by adding a new paragraph (k) which disqualifies individuals who are 

fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody for a crime, or an attempt to 

commit a crime, that would be classified as a felony (or in the State 

of a New Jersey, a high misdemeanor) from participating in the Food 

Stamp Program. Section 6(k) of the Act as amended by Section 821 of 

PRWORA, also disqualifies individuals who are violating a condition of 

probation or parole under a Federal or State law.

    To implement these disqualification provisions, the Department is 

proposing to amend 7 CFR 273.1(b)(2), which defines the criteria for 

inclusion in eligible food stamp households, by adding a new paragraph 

(xi) specifically providing that individuals who are fleeing to avoid 

prosecution or custody for a crime, or an attempt to commit a crime, 

that would be classified as a felony (or in the State of a New Jersey, 

a high misdemeanor), or who are violating a condition of probation or 

parole under a Federal or State law, are not to be considered members 

of households otherwise eligible to participate in the Program. The 

Department is also proposing to add a similar provision through a new 

paragraph (p) at 7 CFR 273.11.

    The Department is proposing to mandate that State agencies verify 

the status of applicants to determine if they are subject to the 

provisions of 6(k) of the Act. In doing so the Department is also 

proposing to provide State agencies with broad discretion regarding the 

method of verifying an applicant's status since there are significant 

differences between the administrative structures of State agencies 

which may affect the nature of relationships between welfare agencies 

and the State or local law enforcement agencies which would provide 

verification of the applicants' status. One possible method of 

verification would be to establish a system under which State or local 

law enforcement agencies would periodically provide lists of 

individuals subject to disqualification under this section for matching 

by welfare agencies to determine if any applicants are subject to 

disqualification. The lists would most likely be in the form of 

computer tapes. Depending on the State agency's administrative 

structure, the matching could be conducted at either the State or local 

level. Another alternative would be to include a notice in the 

application indicating that the agency may match data with law 

enforcement agencies for the purposes of verification. The Department 

wishes to emphasize that this is one possible method of verification 

and that it is not our intent to exclude other systems or methods which 

may be established by State agencies. The Department is suggesting 

that, prior to providing comments in response to this proposed 

rulemaking, State agencies consult with State and local law enforcement 

agencies to determine the most effective method of verifying the status 

of applicants to determine whether they are subject to the provisions 

of Section 6(k) of the Act. To implement this provision the Department 

is proposing to add a new paragraph 273.2(f)(1)(ix).

    Although it is the clear intent of both the statute and this 

proposed rule that Food Stamp Program participants who are subject to 

disqualification under Section 6(k) of the Act be terminated from the 

program as quickly as possible, State agencies may continue to allow 

such individuals to participate if so
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requested by local, State or Federal law enforcement authorities and if 

such continued participation would expedite or assist in the 

apprehension of individuals fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody.

Cooperation With Law Enforcement Authorities

    Section 837 of PRWORA amended Section 11(e)(8) of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 

2020(e)(8), to require a State agency to furnish, upon request, the 

address, social security number, and, if available, photograph to any 

Federal, State, or local law enforcement officer of any household 

member. The officer must furnish the State agency with the name of the 

member and notify the State agency that the member is fleeing to avoid 

prosecution or custody for a crime, or an attempt to commit a crime, 

that would be classified as a felony (or in the State of a New Jersey, 

a high misdemeanor). This provision also applies if the member is 

violating a condition of probation or parole imposed under a Federal or 

State law, or has information necessary for the officer to conduct an 

official duty related to the above-described individuals. The statute 

further specifies that the request must be made in the proper exercise 

of an official duty.

    The Department is proposing to add a new paragraph (vii) to 7 CFR 

272.1(c)(1) to specifically require State agencies to disclose to 

Federal, State or local law enforcement officers the address, social 

security number, and, if available, photograph of any household member 

if the officer furnishes the State agency with the name of the member 

and notifies the State agency that the member is fleeing to avoid 

prosecution or custody for a crime, or an attempt to commit a crime, 

that would be classified as a felony (or in the State of a New Jersey, 

a high misdemeanor), or is violating a condition of probation or parole 

imposed under a Federal or State law. The new paragraph also requires 

disclosure if the information regarding the household member is 

necessary for the officer to conduct an official duty related to the 

above-described individuals. The Department would like to clarify that 

the policy of 7 CFR 272.1(C), and will continue to be, that if an 

eligibility worker (EW) believes that a Food Stamp Program applicant or 

member of a participating household may be fleeing to avoid prosecution 

or custody for a felony the EW shall notify the appropriate law 

enforcement agency.

    The Department would like to clarify that this provision in no way 

requires State agencies to collect photo IDs as a condition of 

eligibility. Though the regulations at 7 CFR 273.2(f) require State 

agencies to verify identity, they are very clear that any document 

which reasonably establishes the applicant's identity must be accepted. 

The State agency may not impose a requirement for a specific type of 

document such as a photo ID.

    The Department would like to clarify that section 837 of PRWORA 

does not supersede the confidentiality provisions of section 11(e)(8) 

of the Act. State agencies may, however, verify the status of 

applicants or household members to determine if they are subject to 

disqualification under Section 6(k) of the Act.

Cooperation With Child Support Agencies--7 CFR 273.11(q) and (r)

    Section 822 of PRWORA amended Section 6 of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 2015, 

by adding a new paragraph (l). This section gives a State agency the 

option to require cooperation with a Child Support Enforcement Program 

established under title IV, part D of the Social Security Act, 42 

U.S.C. 651, et seq., as a condition of eligibility. Separate provisions 

address custodial and noncustodial parents. For custodial parents, the 

requirement can be waived for good cause, but there is no good cause 

exception for noncustodial (including putative) parents. The provisions 

for custodial and noncustodial parents are discussed separately below.

Custodial Parent--7 CFR 273.11(q)

    Section 6(e) of the Act, as amended by Section 822 of PRWORA, 

allows State agencies to disqualify a natural or adoptive parent or 

other individual (collectively referred to as ``the individual'') who 

is living with and exercising parental control over a child under the 

age of 18 if the custodial parent does not cooperate with the State 

agency in establishing paternity and collecting child support without 

good cause. The provision requires the Department, in consultation with 

the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), to develop 

standards for what will constitute ``good cause'' for failure of a 

custodial parent to cooperate. There are two separate issues to 

address: what constitutes cooperation, and what constitutes good cause. 

The Department has discussed the issues of good cause and cooperation 

with the DHHS staff responsible for TANF and the staff responsible for 

Child Support Enforcement. In defining cooperation of the custodial 

parent, the Department has based its proposal on wording already used 

by DHHS. Therefore, under proposed food stamp regulations the 

individual will be required to cooperate with the State agency in 

identifying and locating the absent parent of the child(ren); 

establishing the paternity of a child born out of wedlock; obtaining 

support payments for the child or the individual and the child; and 

obtaining any other payments or property due the child or the 

individual and the child. We also list actions that are relevant to or 

necessary for, achieving cooperation: appearing at an office of the 

State or local agency or the child support agency to provide verbal or 

written information; appearing as a witness at judicial or other 

hearings or proceedings; supplying information in establishing 

paternity; and paying to the child supportagency any support payments 

received from the absent father.

    The Department is also proposing to adopt DHHS' provisions 

concerning good cause exceptions. We list the circumstances under which 

cooperation may be against the best interests of the child and would, 

therefore, not be required. Establishing paternity, securing support, 

or identifying and providing information could result in physical or 

emotional harm to the child or the parent or caretaker relative which 

could be determined good cause for not cooperating.

    The concepts of cooperation with child support enforcement 

agencies, and good cause for failure to cooperate, are new to the Food 

Stamp Program, but DHHS has used them for some time and States are 

familiar with them. The Department believes that relying on DHHS' 

expertise in these areas is initially the most practical and 

administratively efficient alternative. The Department is proposing to 

add a new paragraph 7 CFR 273.11(q) to codify this provision.

    The Department is proposing that the State agency make both the 

cooperation and good cause determinations. If the State agency 

determines that the custodial parent has not cooperated without good 

cause, then that individual (and not the entire household) would be 

ineligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program. The statutory 

language did not authorize the disqualification of the entire 

household, and so the Department is proposing that the disqualification 

be limited to the offending custodial parent. The Department is 

proposing that the disqualification period is over as soon as it is 

determined that the individual is cooperating with the child support 

agency. The State agency must have procedures in place to re-qualify an 

individual once cooperation has been
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established. We realize that many States already have such procedures 

in place. Therefore, at this time, we would like to solicit comments on 

those systems already in use.

    The law did not specify how the income and resources of the 

disqualified person should be treated for the remaining household 

members. Since this is an optional provision, the Department is 

proposing that the State agency count all of the individual's 

resources, but to give State agencies the option to count all or a pro 

rata share of his income. The Department is proposing to amend 7 CFR 

273.11(c) and 273.1(b)(2)(xii) to reflect this policy.

    Section 6(l) of the Act prohibits the payment of a fee or other 

cost for services provided under a Part D, Title IV, <strong>Child</strong> <strong>Support</strong> 

Enforcement Program, and so the Department is proposing to prohibit the 

charging of such fees or costs.

    The Department is proposing that if a State agency wants to use the 

option of disqualifying an individual who refuses to cooperate without 

good cause, the option must be included in its State Plan of Operation. 

Accordingly, the Department is proposing to add a new section 7 CFR 

272.2(d)(1)(xiv) to reflect the above-discussed requirements.

Noncustodial Parent--7 CFR 273.11(r)

    Section 822 of PRWORA also amended Section 6 of the Act by adding 

subsection (m) to give State agencies the option to disqualify the 

noncustodial parent who refuses to cooperate in establishing the 

paternity of a <strong>child</strong> and provide <strong>support</strong> for the <strong>child</strong>. This provision 

requires the Department, in consultation with DHHS, to develop 

standards for what will constitute cooperation on the part of the 

noncustodial parent. As mentioned previously, the Department has met 

with DHHS staff in developing this proposed rule, and we are proposing 

to adopt DHHS' definition of cooperation as the most practical 

approach, given DHHS' experience with the issue.

    The Department is proposing that refusal to cooperate occurs if the 

noncustodial parent refuses to appear for an interview; refuses to 

furnish requested documentation; refuses DNA testing; or fails to make 

payments to the Child Support Enforcement agency. As with the custodial 

parent, if the State agency determines after contacting the Child 

Support Enforcement agency that the noncustodial parent has refused to 

cooperate, then that individual (and not the entire household) would be 

ineligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program. The statutory 

language did not authorize the disqualification of the entire 

household, and so the Department is proposing that the disqualification 

be limited to the individual. Consistent with the Department's proposed 

treatment for disqualified custodial parents, it would be the option of 

the State Agency to determine whether part or all of the income and the 

resources of the individual refusing to cooperate would be considered 

available to the rest of the noncustodial parent's household under this 

proposal. In addition, the Department is proposing that the 

disqualification period is over as soon as it is determined that the 

individual is cooperating with the child support agency. The State 

agency must have procedures in place to re-qualify an individual once 

cooperation has been established. We realize that many States already 

have such procedures in place. Therefore, at this time, we would like 

to solicit comments on those systems already in use.

    Section 6(m) of the Act does not permit a fee or other cost to be 

charged the household for services of the Child Support Enforcement 

agency, and the Department's proposal includes this prohibition. To 

implement this provision, the Department is proposing to add a new 

paragraph 7 CFR 273.11(r).

    Section 6 of the Act, as amended by Section 22 of PRWORA also 

requires the State agency to provide safeguards to restrict the use of 

information collected by the State agency to purposes for which the 

information is collected. The Department believes that this is an area 

in which the State agency should have flexibility to establish the 

specific safeguards. The Department is therefore proposing only to 

require that safeguards be in place.

    The Department is proposing that if a State agency wants to use the 

option of disqualifying the noncustodial parent who refuses to 

cooperate, this option must be included in its State Plan of Operation. 

The Department is also proposing to add a new section 7 CFR 

272.2(d)(1)(xiv) to require that the States that elect to implement 

this provision include these safeguards in their Plan of Operation.

Disqualification for Child Support Arrears--7 CFR 273.11(s)

    Section 823 of the PRWORA amended section 6 of the Act by adding 

subsection (n) to give State agencies the option to disqualify a member 

of any household during any month that the individual is delinquent in 

any payment due under a court order for the support of the individual's 

child. The provision also specifies that if a court is allowing the 

individual to delay payment or the individual is complying with a 

payment plan approved by a court or the Child Support Enforcement 

agency, the individual will not be disqualified.

    As with the disqualification for failure to cooperate with child 

Support enforcement officials, the Department is proposing that the 

disqualification for child support arrears apply to the offending 

individual and not to the entire household. The statutory language does 

not authorize the disqualification of the entire household. However, 

similar to the handling of the child support cooperation provision 

concerning the custodial and noncustodial parents, the Department is 

proposing that it will be the option of the State agency to determine 

whether part or all of the income and resources of a disqualified 

individual be considered available to the rest of that person's 

household. The Department is proposing to add a new section 7 CFR 

273.11(s) to implement the disqualification, and is proposing to amend 

7 CFR 273.11(c)(2) and (3), and 273.1(b) to incorporate its proposed 

treatment of the disqualified individual's income and resources.

    Section 6(n) of the Act specifies that the individual will be 

disqualified during any month that the individual is delinquent in any 

payment due. Because an individual could always pay his or her child 

support toward the end of the month, it will be impossible to know when 

an individual is delinquent in time to disqualify him or her for that 

month. Therefore, under the Department's proposal the State agency must 

establish a claim against the household, in accordance with the 

regulations at 7 CFR 273.18, for any month for which it later discovers 

that the individual was delinquent and should have been disqualified.

    The Department is proposing that if a State agency wants to use the 

option of disqualification for child support arrears, this option must 

be included in its Plan of Operation. Accordingly, the Department is 

proposing to include this section in the new 7 CFR 272.2(d)(1)(xiv) to 

reflect the addition.

7 CFR 273.16--Disqualification for Intentional Program Violation

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16 outline the procedures 

involved with Intentional Program Violations (IPVs) and IPV-related 

disqualifications. This proposed rule extensively revises this section 

of the regulations. The increased and additional disqualification 

penalties brought about by sections 813, 814 and 820 of PRWORA that 

need to be reflected in 7 CFR 273.16 are included in this rule. In
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addition, this proposed rule contains a change necessitated by a court 

action on the imposition of disqualification periods. Clarification is 

also being proposed for a number of issues, including the definition of 

an IPV. Lastly, as part of an effort to streamline the regulatory 

requirements and to increase State agency flexibility in the area, the 

Department is proposing to remove prescriptive language and some 

requirements in many discretionary areas concerning IPVs and the IPV 

disqualification process.

General Administrative Responsibility--7 CFR 273.16(a)

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(a) specify a State agency's 

responsibility for investigating and disqualifying individuals who 

commit IPVs. As part of the regulatory reorganization and streamlining 

effort, the Department is proposing in this rule to eliminate much of 

the prescriptive language under this section. Under this proposal at 

Sec. 273.16(a), each State agency would be responsible for: (1) 

effectively and efficiently investigating suspected IPVs; (2) 

establishing a system for determining whether an individual has 

committed an IPV; and (3) when appropriate, disqualifying the 

individual from participation in the Program.

Definition of an IPV--7 CFR 273.16(c)

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(c) provide a definition for 

an IPV. The Department is proposing to make three changes to this 

paragraph. The first change would eliminate the reference that this 

definition applies only to an administrative disqualification hearing 

(ADH). The Department believes that this definition should also apply 

to the other bases for IPV determination, which are a signed ADH 

waiver, a court finding, and a signed disqualification consent 

agreement. The second change would update the definition by eliminating 

the reference to ATPs (authorization to participate documents). In its 

place, the Department is proposing to use the term ``authorization 

card'' (which is defined in section 3(b) of the Act (7 U.S.C. 

2012(b)(3))) and ``reusable documents used as part of an automated 

benefit delivery system'' (access device). This definition was updated 

to specifically provide for the acquisition and use of electronic 

benefit transfer (EBT) cards. For the third change, the proposed rule 

would specifically include trafficking in this definition. This is 

being provided for clarification purposes only and does not constitute 

a change in policy. The Department has historically viewed (and 

continues to view) any type of trafficking as an IPV offense. Finally, 

as part of the regulatory reorganization, this paragraph would be 

incorporated into Sec. 273.16(b) in the proposed rule.

PRWORA Section 813--Doubled Penalties for Violating FSP Rules

    As reflected in the current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(b), a 

graduated system for IPV disqualification penalties exists. Under this 

system, an individual found to have committed an IPV not related to the 

trading of coupons for firearms, ammunition, explosives or controlled 

substances would receive a disqualification for: (a) 6 months for the 

first offense; (b) 12 months for the second offense; and (c) a 

permanent disqualification for the third offense. In addition, an 

individual convicted of a controlled substance-related IPV would 

receive a 12 month disqualification for the first offense and a 

permanent disqualification for the second offense.

    Section 813 of PRWORA amended section 6(b)(1) of the Act (7 U.S.C. 

Sec. 2105(b)(1)) to increase the penalties twofold for the non-

permanent offenses. Specifically, unless the offense falls under a 

specific category requiring a more stringent penalty, Section 6(b)(1) 

now requires that an individual be disqualified for one year for a 

first finding, and for two years for a second finding of IPV. The 

penalty for a third finding of IPV, permanent disqualification, would 

remain the same. For convictions involving the trading of controlled 

substances for coupons, Section 813 of PRWORA requires that an 

individual be disqualified for two years for the first offense. 

Accordingly, the Department is proposing to reflect these legislative 

changes in Sec. 273.16(c) of this rule.

PRWORA Section 814--Disqualification of Individuals Convicted of 

Trafficking $500 or More

    Section 814 of PRWORA amended Section 6(b)(1)(iii)of the Act to 

introduce more stringent disqualification penalties for those 

individuals who traffic food coupons. Specifically, under the new 

legislation, individuals would be permanently disqualified from FSP 

participation if they are convicted of a trafficking offense of $500 or 

more. Individuals trafficking under $500 would continue to be subject 

to the same penalties as other IPVs. Accordingly, the Department is 

proposing to reflect this legislative change in Sec. 273.16(c) of this 

rule.

    The statutory language provides for this penalty to take effect 

where there is an actual conviction. Hence, the increased trafficking 

penalty would be applied when there is such a finding by a court of 

appropriate jurisdiction. In addition, the Department considered 

whether this increased trafficking penalty applies to violations 

settled by deferred adjudication. While the Department recognizes that 

the statutory language speaks of a conviction, and not of a finding or 

a settlement, the Department believes that this increased penalty for 

trafficking may be applied in cases of deferred adjudication. 

Trafficking for an amount greater than $500 is undeniably a serious 

offense. As such, if the case warrants the formal involvement or 

inclusion of a Federal, state or local court process, then the State 

agency should apply the increased penalty. Therefore, it is the 

Department's intent in this proposed rule to allow the inclusion of 

this increased penalty in signed deferred adjudications in exactly the 

same manner that the existing penalties are currently included in such 

agreements. Accordingly, this proposal is reflected in Sec. 273.16(c) 

in this rule.

    As opposed to deferred adjudication, since there is no formal 

involvement or inclusion of a Federal, state or local court process in 

the ADH system, the Department is proposing that the increased penalty 

not apply to IPVs determined as a result of an ADH or a signed waiver 

to the right to an ADH.

    When PRWORA was originally published, some State agencies inquired 

as to whether Section 6(b)(1)(iii)'s $500 benchmark refers to a single 

trafficking transaction or to the cumulative amount trafficked. The 

Department maintains a long-standing policy that a series of related 

infractions may embody a single IPV. Therefore, if the cumulative 

amount of the related infractions making up the IPV is greater than 

$500, then the individual would be subject to the increased trafficking 

penalty.

PRWORA Section 820--Ten Year Disqualification for Duplicate 

Participation

    Under certain circumstances, PRWORA lengthened the penalty 

associated with fraudulent receipt of multiple benefits. This provision 

is in section 820 of PRWORA, which amended section 6 of the Act (7 

U.S.C. Sec. 2015) by adding a new paragraph ``(j)''. Paragraph (j) 

provides that ``[a]n individual shall be ineligible to participate in 

the food stamp program as a member of any household for a 10-year 

period if the individual is found by a State agency to have made, or is 

convicted in a Federal or State court of having made, a fraudulent 

statement or representation with respect to the identity or place of 

residence of the
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individual in order to receive multiple benefits simultaneously under 

the food stamp program.''

    The increase in the penalty for fraudulent representation of 

identity or residence to obtain multiple duplicate benefits reflected 

in the quoted statutory language is clearly intended to be an 

additional deterrence against this kind of fraud. However, the 10-year 

period of disqualification associated with this provision does not 

apply to all cases of duplicate participation (that is, where an 

individual receives food stamps as a member of more than one 

household). There are three criteria to consider in determining whether 

this disqualification provision applies. First, the individual must 

have been found by a State agency or court of committing a certain 

unlawful act. Second, the unlawful act is ``having made, a fraudulent 

statement or representation with respect to the identity or place of 

residence of the individual.'' Finally, the purpose of committing this 

misrepresentation must have been to receive multiple benefits under the 

FSP. Section 820 does not apply unless all three of these criteria are 

present.

    The Department considered whether it is necessary for the 

individual to be successful in obtaining multiple benefits in order for 

this provision to apply. The title of section 820 of PRWORA is 

``Disqualification for Receipt of Multiple Food Stamp Benefits'', 

however, the language of the text is directed at the penalty for the 

intentional act of misrepresenting information in order to receive 

multiple benefits. The Department has found nothing in the text or 

legislative history to suggest that Congress intended the penalty to be 

more or less severe depending upon whether the individual was 

successful in obtaining the multiple benefits. Currently, when a 

household is identified as having one or more members who are already 

receiving benefits as a member of another household or in another 

locality, State agencies are required to investigate the cause of the 

duplicate participation and when appropriate, pursue the matter through 

the claims collection and/or IPV referral process (7 CFR 272.4(f)(3)).

    A State agency is required to take the IPV referral route when it 

believes it can prove an individual's intent to abuse the FSP by 

providing false or misleading information to receive benefits for which 

the individual is not entitled. Some State agencies pursue an IPV 

regardless of whether the individual was successful in being certified 

to receive the additional benefits. The Department believes that this 

approach is consistent with an aggressive anti-fraud program and 

strongly encourages those State agencies which pursue attempted (as 

well as successful) fraud to continue to operate under their current 

policy. The Department therefore proposes to make clear that the 

coverage of Section 6(j) provision also applies to individuals who 

attempt to receive multiple benefits by misrepresenting their identity 

or residence.

Appropriate Penalty Determination

    Prior to the enactment of PRWORA and the implementation of its 

predecessor (the Mickey Leland Childhood Hunger Relief Act (Pub. L. 

103-66) (Leland Act)), only one set of disqualification penalties 

existed for IPVs. This set of disqualification penalties, as discussed 

earlier in this preamble, applied to all IPVs and began with a 

relatively short disqualification period for the first finding of IPV 

and culminated with a permanent disqualification for the third IPV 

finding. The Leland Act and PRWORA changed this by introducing varying 

disqualification penalties for certain types of IPV-related offenses.

    Pursuant to this rule making, disqualification periods based on the 

particular offense and finding would be:

                                     IPV-Related Disqualification Penalties

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

         Disqualification type               First finding            Second finding           Third finding

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

``Any'' IPV...........................  12 months..............  24 months..............  Permanent

Controlled substances related.........  24 months..............  Permanent..............  See below \1\

Firearms, ammunition, and explosives    Permanent..............  See below \1\..........  See below \1\

 related.

Duplicate participation related.......  10 years...............  10 years \2\...........  Permanent (same as

                                                                                           ``any'' IPV) \2\

Trafficking $500 or greater related...  Permanent..............  See below \1\..........  See below \1\

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\1\ Since the prior offense (i.e., first or second) results in a permanent disqualification, the same penalty

  (permanent disqualification) would be applied if, for some inexplicable reason, the individual was not already

  permanently disqualified when the subsequent finding occurred.

\2\ PRWORA does not specify a graduated increase in penalty length for subsequent findings. The appropriate

  disqualification period lengths for these subsequent occurrences are discussed in detail below.

    The Department believes that clarification is needed to determine 

which penalty takes precedence when an IPV also is included in one of 

the four special disqualification categories listed above. For example, 

an individual who has already committed two IPVs may be found to have 

committed a third IPV and the third offense is for duplicate 

participation. In this situation, the State agency would need to 

determine whether the appropriate disqualification would be for 10 

years (for duplicate participation) or permanently (as is the penalty 

for all third IPVs). The Department believes that it is appropriate to 

permanently disqualify the individual. The progressive penalty 

structure and policies are key components of program integrity. 

Progressive penalties deter repeat offenders by providing a framework 

for clear and consistent consequences for their actions. Although 

certain offenses are dealt with more severely than others, the FSA 

provides for a maximum of three offenses. The penalty for a third 

offense, permanent disqualification, is the ultimate redress for repeat 

violators. The Department believes that it would be contrary to the Act 

to apply a shorter penalty or to allow a repeat offender a fourth 

opportunity to intentionally violate the Program simply because of the 

nature of the offense. Further, the 10-year penalty for duplicate 

participation and the 2-year penalty for the first finding involving 

controlled substances are intended to deter these more serious types of 

offenses. Thus, the Department intends that the 10-year and 2-year 

penalties be imposed whenever they apply, except when an earlier 

disqualification penalty was either as serious, more serious or the 

current violation is the individual's third. A permanent or higher 

disqualification would always take precedence over a lesser penalty. 

These decisions are reflected in Sec. 273.16(c) in this proposed rule.
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Applicability of PRWORA Disqualification Penalties

    As previously discussed, sections 813, 814 and 820 of PRWORA 

amended Section 6 of the Act to either introduce a new or increase an 

existing disqualification penalty for committing an IPV. Questions have 

arisen as to whether these new penalties should be applied to all ADHs, 

court hearings, etc., held subsequent to enactment of the law 

(regardless of when the actual offense occurred) or only to those cases 

in which the actual offense occurred subsequent to State agency 

implementation of the new legislation.

    PRWORA set the date of enactment, August 22, 1996, as the effective 

date for these provisions of the law. As a result, State agencies 

needed to use their own discretion as to whether the new or increased 

penalties should apply to offenses that occurred prior to State agency 

implementation of the new legislation. It is therefore impractical for 

the Department to introduce standards on an issue for which action has 

already been taken.

Imposition of Disqualification Penalties--7 CFR 273.16(a), (e), (f), 

(g) and (h)

    The current regulations concerning the imposition of 

disqualification periods specify that, if the individual is not 

certified to participate in the FSP at the time the disqualification 

period is to begin, the period shall take effect immediately after the 

individual applies for and is determined eligible for benefits. A court 

finding (Garcia v. Concannon and Espy, 67 F. 3d 256 (1995)) in the 

Ninth Circuit has found that this interpretation is not consistent with 

Section 6(b)(1) of the Act (7 U.S.C. 2015(b)(1)). The Court found that 

an individual should be disqualified from the FSP immediately even 

though he/she may not be eligible to participate. The Department does 

not concur with this finding. However, to ensure nationwide consistency 

in this policy, the Department is proposing in this rule to require 

State agencies to impose a disqualification period for all IPV-related 

disqualifications as soon as administratively possible, regardless of 

eligibility. Under this proposal, a State agency would be required to 

begin the disqualification no later than the second month which follows 

the <strong>date</strong> the individual receives written notice of the 

disqualification.

Notification to Applicant Households--7 CFR 273.16(d)

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(d) specify that the 

household shall be notified in writing of the disqualification 

penalties when it applies for benefits. The Department is proposing, in 

Sec. 273.16(c)(10) of this rule, to retain this requirement. However, 

much of the prescriptive language would be removed.

Bases for Disqualification--7 CFR 273.16(e) through (h)

    Current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16 allow any one of the following 

four means as a basis for disqualification: (1) An ADH finding; (2) a 

signed waiver to the right of an ADH; (3) a finding by a court; and (4) 

a signed disqualification consent agreement for cases of deferred 

adjudication. The Department is proposing to retain these four bases 

with some streamlining revisions which are discussed elsewhere in this 

preamble. In addition, as part of the regulatory reorganization, these 

bases, currently found in 7 CFR 273.16(e), (f), (g) and (h), would be 

consolidated into one paragraph at Sec. 273.16(d).

Administrative Disqualification Hearings--7 CFR 273.16(e)

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(1) discuss consolidating 

an ADH with a fair hearing. The consolidation of the two hearings would 

remain an option in Sec. 273.16(d)(1) in the proposed rule. In 

addition, the Department, in an effort to increase State agency 

flexibility, is proposing to remove prescriptive language from the 

current paragraph.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(2) discuss specific 

procedures for conducting the ADH. The Department is proposing in this 

rule to allow those State agencies which conduct ADHs to establish 

their own procedures. However, a time frame for reaching and notifying 

an individual of a hearing decision would still be maintained. The 

current time frame is within 90 days after the individual is notified 

that the hearing has been scheduled. Under this proposal, the time 

frame would be within 180 days after the discovery of the suspected 

violation or within 60 days of the date of the hearing, whichever is 

sooner.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(3) discuss the advance 

notice of the ADH. The Department is proposing to remove redundant and 

overly prescriptive language. The remaining language would be found in 

Sec. 273.16(d)(1) in this proposed rule.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(4), which discuss the 

scheduling of the hearing and what constitutes timely good cause for 

not attending the hearing, would be removed under the proposed rule. 

This would provide a State agency with more flexibility and the ability 

to determine its own good cause criteria, if any. In addition, all but 

the first sentence of paragraph 7 CFR 273.16(e)(5) would be eliminated. 

The paragraph containing the remaining language stating that a pending 

ADH or a pending ADH decision would not affect an individual or 

household's right to participate in the FSP would be contained in 

Sec. 273.16(d) of the proposed rule.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(6) state that the 

determination of an IPV shall be based on clear and convincing 

evidence. The Department is not proposing to make any change to this 

evidentiary standard. However, this paragraph would be moved to 

Sec. 273.16(b) in the proposed rule.

    The Department is proposing in this rule to eliminate 7 CFR 

273.16(e)(7). This paragraph requires the hearing authority decision to 

specify the reasons, identify the supporting evidence, identify the 

pertinent regulation, and respond to reasoned arguments. The Department 

believes that these requirements need not be specified as they are 

required by due process.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(8) discuss the 

imposition of disqualification penalties and specify the individual's 

limited appeal rights of an ADH decision. The imposition of the 

disqualification periods is addressed in depth elsewhere in this 

preamble. The Department is proposing in this rule to reorganize the 

paragraph containing the individual's appeal rights of an ADH decision 

(7 CFR 273.16(e)(8)(ii)) into Sec. 273.16(d)(1).

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(9) discuss notification 

of the ADH decision and related matters. The Department is proposing 

only to include language from this paragraph stating that the household 

is to receive written notification of the ADH decision and the 

impending disqualification.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(e)(10) discuss local level 

ADHs. This proposal at Sec. 273.16(d)(1) would still allow local-level 

hearings. The Department is proposing to delete prescriptive language 

from this section. In addition, the Department would like to clarify 

that either the affected individual or local agency may appeal a local-

level decision to a State-level hearing. This is reflected in 

Sec. 273.16(d)(1)(vii) of this proposed rule.

Waived ADH--7 CFR 273.16(f)

    The current introductory text at 7 CFR 273.16(f) provides the State 

agencies with the option of establishing procedures for allowing an 

accused
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individual to waive his/her right to an ADH. The Department is not 

proposing any significant policy revisions in this area. However, under 

this proposal, the introductory text would be designated as its own 

paragraph at Sec. 273.16(d)(2).

    Current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(f)(1) discuss procedures for 

advance notification. The proposed rule, in Sec. 273.16(d)(2), would 

require that each State agency develop its own waiver form and provide 

the individual written notification. In addition, the waiver/written 

notification must clearly inform the affected individual that, once the 

form is signed, he/she would be disqualified from the Program.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(f)(2) discuss the 

imposition of disqualification penalties and the individual's limited 

appeal rights after he/she signs the waiver. The imposition of the 

disqualification periods is addressed in depth elsewhere in this 

preamble. The Department is proposing in this rule to reorganize the 

paragraph containing the individual's limited appeal rights of an ADH 

decision (7 CFR 273.16(f)(2)(ii) into Sec. 273.16(d)(2)).

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(f)(3) discuss notification 

of disqualification and related matters. The Department is proposing 

only to include a statement that the individual is to receive written 

notification of the impending disqualification. This revision would be 

incorporated into Sec. 273.16(c)(11) in this proposed rule.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(f)(4) discuss waivers of a 

local level hearing. As part of the streamlining effort, the Department 

is proposing to remove this paragraph to increase State agency 

flexibility. However, a State agency would still be able to have a 

local-level waiver process under the proposed rule.

Court Referrals--7 CFR 273.16(g)

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(g) discuss referring 

suspected IPV cases for prosecution by a court of appropriate 

jurisdiction. The Department, as part of its effort to increase State 

agency flexibility, is proposing to remove prescriptive language from 

this paragraph. The proposed rule, in Sec. 273.16(d)(3), would provide 

for court referrals as a mechanism for determining an IPV. The only 

requirement, in addition to a State agency establishing its own 

procedures, would be the actions the State agency must take when the 

court fails to impose a disqualification period. This requirement, 

proposed in Sec. 273.16(c)(7), would be the same as current FNS policy.

Deferred Adjudication--7 CFR 273.16(h)

    The introductory text at 7 CFR 273.16(h) in the current regulations 

provides a State agency with the option to establish procedures for 

allowing an accused individual to sign a disqualification consent 

agreement for cases of deferred adjudication. The Department is not 

proposing any significant policy revisions in this area. However, the 

introductory text, as part of the regulatory reorganization effort, 

would be condensed and designated as its own paragraph under 

Sec. 273.16(d)(4) in this rule.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(h)(1) discuss a number of 

requirements pertaining to deferred adjudication, such as notification 

and the disqualification consent agreement. The Department is proposing 

in this rule to remove prescriptive language from the regulations. The 

proposed rule, at Sec. 273.16(d)(4), would require the State agency to 

develop its own disqualification agreement form and provide the 

individual written notification of the consequences surrounding 

deferred adjudication.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(h)(2) discuss the 

imposition of disqualification penalties. This is addressed in detail 

elsewhere in this preamble and would be consolidated into 

Sec. 273.16(c)(11) in the proposed rule.

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(h)(3) discuss notifying the 

individual of the impending disqualification and related matters 

including notifying the household and initiating collection action. The 

Department is proposing only to include a statement that the household 

is to receive written notification of the impending disqualification. 

This revision would be incorporated into Sec. 273.16(d)(1) in this 

proposed rule.

Conducting Both Court Referrals and ADHs

    The current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(a)(1) prohibit a State 

agency from initiating an ADH against an individual, ``. . . whose case 

is currently being referred for prosecution or subsequent to any action 

taken against the accused individual by the prosecutor or court of 

appropriate jurisdiction. . . .'' However, the current regulations at 7 

CFR 273.16(e)(3)(iii)(H) appear to contradict this paragraph by stating 

that an advance notice of an ADH shall contain language indicating that 

``. . . the hearing does not preclude the State or Federal Government 

from prosecuting the household member for intentional Program violation 

in a civil or criminal court action.'' In an effort to eliminate this 

inconsistency while allowing greater State agency flexibility and 

increasing the likelihood that violators would receive the appropriate 

disqualification, the Department is proposing to change the policy at 7 

CFR 273.16(a)(1).

    The proposal, found in Sec. 273.16(d)(5) of this rule, would 

specify that a State agency may: (1) simultaneously begin and/or 

conduct an ADH and court action and may proceed with a court action 

whether or not a violation has been determined by the ADH; and (2) 

conduct and make a determination based on an ADH for any case for which 

the court has not already returned a verdict. The Department feels that 

allowing the transpiration of both activities would not constitute 

double jeopardy since one action is administrative while the other 

action is judicial.

Reporting Requirements--7 CFR 273.16(i)

    State agencies are required by 7 CFR 273.16(i) to report 

information about disqualified individuals to FNS. Outside of changes 

necessitated by the Garcia v. Concannon and Espy decision and the 

Departmental streamlining effort, policy interpretations and changes in 

this area will be addressed and proposed under a separate rulemaking.

Reversed Disqualifications--7 CFR 273.16(j)

    Current regulations at 7 CFR 273.16(j) discuss actions to be taken 

by the State agency on reversed disqualifications. The Department is 

not proposing any change in this area other than to redesignate the 

paragraph as Sec. 273.16(f).

7 CFR 273.25--Time Limit for Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents

    Section 824 of P RWORA amended Section 6 of the Act by adding a new 

section (o) that limits the receipt of food stamps for certain able-

bodied adults to three months in a three-year period unless the 

individual is working or participating in a work program 20 hours per 

week, or is participating in a workfare program. Individuals can regain 

eligibility, and may receive an additional three months of food stamps 

while not working in certain circumstances. Amended Section 6(o) 

creates some exceptions, and receiving food stamps while exempt does 

not count towards an individual's time limit. In recognition that it 

may be difficult for individuals to find work in depressed labor 

markets, the statute authorizes waivers for individuals in areas in 

which the unemployment rate
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is above ten percent, or where there is a lack of sufficient jobs.

    The time limit is complex and raises many issues. In order to 

simplify the analysis, the preamble and regulatory language are 

organized as follows: general rule, exceptions, regaining and 

maintaining eligibility, eligibility for the second three countable 

months, and waivers. In developing this proposed rule, the Department 

has attempted to balance the competing goals of ensuring consistent 

national application of these requirements, and providing State 

agencies with appropriate implementation flexibility, to implement this 

provision. The Department is especially interested in comments on this 

balance, as well as on the practical implications of the proposed 

rule's provisions. Because there are many requirements that apply only 

to the time limit, the Department is proposing to codify this provision 

in a new regulatory section--7 CFR 273.25.

General Rule

    Under the time limit of Section 6(o), individuals are not eligible 

to participate in the Food Stamp Program as a member of any household 

if the individual received food stamps for more than three countable 

months during any three-year period. Individuals may regain eligibility 

or may be eligible for up to three additional countable months under 

certain circumstances. ``Countable months'' are months during which an 

individual receives food stamps and is not either exempt, covered by a 

waiver, working 20 hours per week, participating in and complying with 

a work program 20 hours per week (as determined by the State agency), 

or participating in and complying with a workfare program. As discussed 

below in the context of measuring and tracking the months, the 

Department is proposing that only full benefit months be considered 

``countable months.'' The provision also specifies that nothing in 

Section 824 makes an individual eligible for food stamps if he or she 

is not otherwise eligible for benefits. Therefore, in the discussion 

below, a statement that someone is ``eligible'' simply means that the 

person is eligible under the time limit. The person must still be 

otherwise eligible for the Food Stamp Program in order to receive 

benefits.

    This general rule raises four fundamental issues: what will satisfy 

the work requirement, how will the time (three months and three years) 

be tracked, what will count as receiving food stamps, and what are the 

other administrative requirements (e.g., verification and reporting) 

that are triggered by this provision? These issues are discussed below. 

The exceptions are discussed separately.

Satisfying the Work Requirement

    Section 6(o) limits the receipt of food stamps for certain able-

bodied adults who are not either: working 20 hours per week (averaged 

monthly), participating in and complying with a work program 20 hours 

per week (as determined by the State agency), or participating in and 

complying with a workfare program. These options (working or 

participating in a work program 20 hours per week or participating in 

workfare) will be referred to as the ``work requirement.'' As long as 

an individual is satisfying the work requirement (or is exempt or 

covered by a waiver), the individual's participation is not counted, 

and the individual can participate as long as he or she is otherwise 

eligible. Issues involving the ways that an individual can satisfy the 

work requirement are discussed separately below.

    The first issue that arises in this context is what is meant by 

``20 hours a week averaged monthly?'' The plain meaning of ``averaged 

monthly'' means averaged over the month. The month of February has 28 

days, or four weeks. In this case, 20 hours a week averaged monthly 

would be 80 hours (20  x  4 = 80). However, the month of March has 31 

days, or approximately 4 and a half weeks. If we were to take into 

consideration the additional 3 days, twenty hours a week averaged 

monthly would equal more than 80 hours. The Department believes that it 

would be administratively difficult for the State agency to calculate a 

different number of hours for each month according to how many days 

there are in the pertinent month. Also, the Department believes that it 

should not require an individual to work more than 80 hours to maintain 

eligibility while to regain eligibility an individual only has to work 

80 hours in a 30 day period. Therefore, the Department is proposing 

that ``20 hours a week averaged monthly'' mean 80 hours a month.

    An individual can satisfy the work requirement by ``working'' 20 

hours or more per week, averaged monthly. One issue that arises in this 

context is whether the ``work'' has to be paid work (or paid at any 

particular level). Neither the statutory language nor the legislative 

history requires that individuals receive money in exchange for work in 

order to satisfy this requirement. An individual who is being paid in 

kind (for example, someone managing an apartment complex in exchange 

for free rent), is clearly ``working,'' and should be considered as 

such. But the question about whether unpaid work will qualify as 

``working'' is less clear. The Department recognizes that it may be 

difficult for individuals with few job skills or no significant job 

history to obtain paid employment. In some cases, volunteer work may be 

the only way for these individuals to obtain needed job skills and a 

job history to make them more employable. Allowing volunteer work to 

count as work raises some concerns about verification and the potential 

for abuse. In order to balance these competing concerns, the Department 

is proposing a definition of ``work'' that specifically includes unpaid 

work under standards established by the State agency. It is the 

Department's intent that volunteer work will be allowed to satisfy the 

work requirement, and that State agencies shall verify it the same way 

they verify paid work. Work in exchange for goods or services (``in 

kind'' work) is not to be considered ``unpaid'' work for these 

purposes.

    Another issue that arises in this context is how much work will 

satisfy the work requirement, and how to handle situations in which 

someone normally meeting the work requirement falls somewhat short. The 

statutory language requires someone to work ``20 hours per week, 

averaged monthly.'' However, the Department recognizes that there may 

be cases in which an individual usually works 20 hours per week, but 

because of an emergency or other ``good cause,'' the individual falls 

short of the required number of hours. In part-time employment, workers 

are often not able to make up for lost hours. Someone who misses a day 

of work (or even a few hours) because of a family illness or other 

emergency could lose food stamp benefits for the month if he or she 

could not make up the hours. (As discussed later, someone who misses 

work because of his or her own illness may be exempt under the 

``medically certified as physically or mentally unfit for employment'' 

exception.)

    The Department believes that such a narrow interpretation of the 

requirement that an individual work 20 hours per week ignores the 

realities of working life and goes beyond the intent of the provision 

to require able-bodied adults to work in order to receive food stamp 

benefits. In addition, participants who are satisfying the work 

requirement by participating in a work program are already covered by a 

good cause provision in 7 CFR 273.7(m). A policy that includes some 

practical flexibility for individuals who are participating in a work 

program, but not for those who
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are working could discourage individuals from electing to satisfy the 

requirement by working. Therefore, the Department is proposing that 

someone who has missed work for good cause (as determined by the State 

agency) will be considered to be satisfying the work requirement as 

long as the absence from work is temporary, and the individual retains 

his or her job. Beyond these basic limits, the Department believes that 

State agencies are in a better position to identify situations where 

the good cause provision would be appropriate. The Department intends 

for this good cause provision to be used sparingly, and only in 

circumstances under which the individual would normally be granted 

leave or time off, or when the absence would not jeopardize the 

individual's employment status. The Department believes that this 

proposal reasonably balances the reality of working life with Congress' 

intent to make food stamp recipients who can work, work.

    The second way an individual can satisfy the work requirement is by 

participating in and complying with a work program for 20 hours per 

week, as determined by the State agency. (The definition of ``work 

program'' makes reference to the Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA) 

(29 U.S.C. 1501, et seq). However, the Section 199A(c) of the Workforce 

Investment Act (WIA) of 1998 (Pub. L. 105-220) provides that all 

references in any other provision of law to a provision of the Job 

Training Partnership Act shall be deemed to refer to the Workforce 

Investment Act of 1998. Therefore in this preamble and in the 

regulation text any reference to JTPA has been replaced by WIA). ``Work 

program'' is defined by the statute to mean a program under the 

Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (29 U.S.C. 1501, et seq.)); a program 

under section 236 of the Trade Act of 1974 (19 U.S.C. 2296); or an 

employment and training program, other than a job search or job search 

training program, operated or supervised by a State or political 

subdivision of the State that meets standards approved by the Governor 

of the State. As specified in the statutory language, the State agency 

may determine whether and when an individual has participated in and 

complied with a work program for 20 hours per week. Existing 

regulations at 7 CFR 273.7 address issues that arise in this context 

(e.g., whether the individual has ``good cause'' for failing to meet 

the requirements of the work program), and the Department does not 

propose to change any of those regulations in this rulemaking. Only 

three issues are raised that are unique to this time limit: whether a 

program must be approved by FNS in order to qualify as a ``work 

program,'' whether an individual can combine work and participation in 

a work program to meet the 20 hour per week requirement, and whether 

the employment and training program can contain job search as a 

subsidiary component.

    The statutory language does not require that a qualifying work 

program be an FNS Employment and Training (E&amp;T) program under 7 CFR 

273.7(f). Section 6(o) only requires that a qualifying work program not 

be a job search or job search training program, and that it meet 

standards approved by the Governor of the State. While the Department 

believes that it would be appropriate for FNS to review programs that 

States are proposing to operate as work programs, it also believes it 

would be administratively burdensome to do so, especially since FNS 

already reviews and approves FNS E&amp;T programs through the state plan 

process. Therefore, the Department is not proposing that these plans be 

reviewed and approved by FNS, but is cautioning State agencies to 

scrutinize these programs carefully so that they are not later 

determined through the quality control process not to meet the 

requirements of the statute.

    The second issue raised in this context is whether the work program 

can contain job search as a subsidiary component. The Department 

realizes that there are work programs that may include some job search 

activity and it does not want the minor activity (such as job search) 

to invalidate the bulk of the component (such as education). Therefore, 

the Department is proposing that a qualifying work program may contain 

job search as a subsidiary component but that the program must 

emphasize the component that satisfies the work requirement and that 

the job search activity be less than half of the requirement.

    With respect to the question of whether work and work program hours 

can be combined to meet the 20 hour per week requirement, the 

Department believes allowing an individual to combine these hours would 

be consistent with the intent of the provision. The Department has 

therefore proposed to allow a combination of work and participation in 

a work program to satisfy the 20 hour per week requirement.

Measuring and Tracking Time

    Within the context of the general rule that an individual can 

participate for three (countable) months during a three year period, 

there are two time elements that must be tracked: the three months of 

participation, and the three-year period. (In order to regain 

eligibility, the statute introduces a third measure of time--``a 30-day 

period''--which will be discussed later.) The Department believes that 

State agencies should have maximum flexibility to measure and track 

these time periods, and so is proposing only a few requirements in this 

area.

    With respect to the basic three months of participation, the 

statute provides specifically that the months do not have to be 

consecutive months. An individual could use one ``countable'' month, go 

off of the Food Stamp Program for a few months (those months are not 

counted because the individual is not receiving food stamps), and then 

use another countable month. This example holds true even if the 

individual was not participating because of a sanction. For example, if 

an individual uses one countable month, and then gets a job that he or 

she quits without good cause, he or she is ineligible under the 

voluntary quit provision of 7 CFR 273.7(n) for six months. Six months 

later, after the sanction has expired, the individual can use another 

countable month if he or she is otherwise eligible. An individual could 

also use one countable month, work 20 hours per week for a few months 

(those months are not counted because the individual is satisfying the 

work requirement), and then use another countable month. The fact that 

the first three countable months do not have to be consecutive is 

significant because the statutory language requires that the second 

three countable months be consecutive. (Eligibility for the second 

three countable months is discussed below.)

    The only other substantial issue to address in the context of 

measuring the basic three months of participation is whether to count 

partial months. To count a partial month of benefits as a ``month'' 

would penalize individuals who applied toward the end of the month. It 

could also result in someone getting substantially less than three full 

benefit months if the individual comes on and off the Food Stamp 

Program as he or she gets work and then loses it. Counting only full 

benefit months will also be much easier for States to administer. 

Therefore, as mentioned earlier, the Department is proposing that 

partial months, i.e., months in which benefits were prorated, not be 

considered ``countable months.'' These proposals involve measuring the 

basic three countable months; State agencies
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can track these months as they deem appropriate.

    The second time period that must be measured (and possibly tracked) 

is the three-year period. Section 6(o) of the Act provides that 

individuals generally are limited to receiving food stamps for three 

countable months in a three-year period. Issues that arise in this 

context are whether the period will be ``rolling'' or ``fixed,'' when 

the period starts, and what the three-year period cannot include. The 

Department believes that a clarification will help explain the issues 

and options discussed below. Conceptually, the three-year period is a 

background against which an individual's countable months are measured. 

Therefore, unlike the ``countable months,'' which start and stop as 

appropriate, the three-year period is a continuous period. Within the 

few parameters discussed below, the Department proposes to give State 

agencies maximum flexibility to track the three-year period as they 

deem appropriate, given their choices as to how to measure the period, 

their computer systems' tracking abilities, etc.

    The language of Section 6(o) provides that an individual is 

ineligible if, ``during the preceding 36-month period,'' (emphasis 

added), the individual participates for more than three countable 

months. There are two basic ways a State agency could measure or track 

the three-year period: as a ``fixed'' or a ``rolling'' period. A fixed 

period has a definite start and stop date; it starts on a given date, 

runs continuously for three years, stops exactly three years later, and 

then a new fixed three-year period starts. Under a fixed period 

approach, when a new three-year period starts, a participant's slate is 

``wiped clean,'' and he or she can be eligible for another three 

countable months. A rolling period does not have definite start or stop 

dates; using a rolling period, the eligibility worker always ``looks 

back'' three years from the date of application (but not beyond the 

notification date or November 22, 1996, as discussed below) and keeps 

looking back three years each ensuing month. Under the rolling period 

approach, a participant must wait three years between a total of three 

countable months.

    The following example illustrates the different approaches. The 

State agency notified recipients of this provision on November 22, 1996 

that it is using a fixed three-year period beginning November 22, 1996 

and ending November 21, 1999. Mary, a food stamp recipient, gave birth 

to a baby in November, 1996. Mary's three-year clock started on 

November 22, but because she had a baby she was exempt from the time 

limit. On April 30, 1999, Mary's baby (now almost three years old) 

moves in with the baby's father, causing Mary to lose her exemption 

from this provision. Mary reports this change to her eligibility 

worker, and because she is no longer exempt, not covered by a waiver, 

and not satisfying the work requirement, she uses up her first three 

countable months in May, June, and July, 1999. In August, 1999, Mary 

gets a job and works 80 hours, regaining her eligibility as explained 

below. When Mary loses her job at the end of August and returns to her 

food stamp office on September 1, she gets her second three countable 

months (also explained below) for September, October, and November, 

1999. On December 1, 1999, Mary has still not found a job. Under a 

fixed approach, Mary's three-year period ran from November 22, 1996 to 

November 21, 1999. On November 22, 1999, Mary started a new three-year 

period. If she is otherwise eligible, Mary can receive three countable 

months of food stamps for December (1999), January, and February, 2000.

    Under a rolling approach, on December 1, 1999, Mary's eligibility 

worker will look back three years to December 1, 1996 to see if Mary 

has used all of her allowable countable months. Mary's worker will find 

all of Mary's allowable countable months from May through November, 

1999, so Mary will not be eligible until she becomes exempt, covered by 

a waiver, or until three years have elapsed between a total of three 

countable months. Assuming she is not exempt, covered by a waiver, or 

satisfying the work requirement, Mary will begin to be eligible in 

June, 2002, as the May, 1999 countable month drops off of the rolling 

period.

    How can Mary be eligible in June 2002 when in fact Mary's 

eligibility worker will look back and see that Mary still has used five 

countable months (May dropped off the calendar, but Mary still received 

food stamps in June and July, and September, October and November 

1999)? The law says, ``no individual shall be eligible * * * if, during 

the preceding 36-month period, the individual received food stamp 

benefits for not less than 3 months (consecutive or otherwise)'' during 

which he did not fulfill the work requirement, was exempt or covered by 

a waiver. The law also provides individuals the opportunity to receive 

an additional 3 months of food stamps if he regains eligibility by 

working 80 hours in a 30 day period. Therefore, the law actually 

provides an individual the opportunity to receive a total of 6 months 

of food stamps in a three-year period if the two periods are 

interrupted by a period of work. Given this ambiguity, the Department 

believes it is appropriate to allow the State agency to issue benefits 

to an individual who has used up his/her countable months, three years 

after receiving his/her first countable months benefits. Therefore, 

under the rolling period, as the first 3 (consecutive or otherwise) 

month period falls off the calendar, the individual can become eligible 

for another 3 (consecutive or otherwise) month period. In the example 

above, Mary will become eligible for her first three (consecutive or 

otherwise) months again in June 2002 as May 1999 falls off the 

calendar. She will only become eligible for her second three 

(consecutive) months in October 2002 as September 1999 falls off the 

calendar.

    Under either the fixed or rolling approach, the outcome is the 

same; individuals who are not either exempt, covered by a waiver, or 

satisfying the work requirement will not receive food stamps for more 

than three months (six, under circumstances discussed below) in three 

years. Neither the statutory language nor the legislative history 

specifically address how to measure or track the three-year period. If 

the statutory language had referred to the preceding ``36 months,'' 

rather than the ``36-month period'' as it did, there would be no 

ambiguity, and State agencies could only measure the period as a 

``rolling'' period. Allowing the use of a ``fixed'' period will not 

increase Program costs, it would be consistent with the provision's 

intent, and would be easier for many State agencies to administer. 

Given these factors and the ambiguity in the statutory language and 

legislative history, the Department believes it is appropriate to allow 

State agencies to choose either approach, and is proposing to do so. 

However, under the proposal, the State agency must apply its procedures 

consistently, and make sure that participants who are similarly 

situated are treated the same.

    Under a fixed approach, there are a few areas where the State 

agency will have additional flexibility. The State agency can elect to 

administer separate three-year periods for individuals, or it can use 

the same three-year period for everyone. If the State uses individual-

based periods, for non-exempt individuals, the periods would start on 

the date of application (but, as discussed below, not before the 

earlier of November 22, 1996, or the date the state notified recipients 

of this provision). For someone who is exempt from the provision, the 

State agency can
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either start the three-year period at the date of application (so that 

the period runs during the period of exemption) or on the date the 

individual's exemption is removed. The State could also choose to use 

the same three-year period for everyone. As in the example above, the 

State had the same three year clock for everyone, regardless of when 

they applied or lost their exemption, which ran from November 22, 1996 

through November 21, 1999. On November 22, 1999, everyone's slate is 

wiped clean and a new three year clock begins. Under either approach, 

non-exempt individuals who are not satisfying the work requirement will 

only get food stamps for three months in three years. The Department 

believes that the added flexibility of determining how to track a fixed 

three-year period will be useful to State agencies, who can develop 

tracking policies to suit their computer systems, other welfare reform 

initiatives, etc.

    There is one important limitation on the three-year period which 

applies under both a fixed and a rolling approach. The statute mandates 

that the three-year period shall not include any time before the date 

the State notifies recipients of the application of this provision (the 

``notification date), or November 22, 1996 (the date that was three 

months after the date of enactment of the PRWORA), whichever is 

earlier. Therefore, if the State agency chooses a fixed three-year 

period, the start date cannot be before November 22, 1996, or the 

notification date, whichever was earlier. If the State agency elects to 

use a rolling three-year period, it cannot look back beyond either 

November 22, 1996, or the notification date, whichever was earlier. The 

proposed rule includes this limitation.

What Counts as ``Receiving'' Food Stamps?

    Section 6(o) of the Act, subsequent to amendment by Section 824 of 

PRWORA makes individuals ineligible for food stamps if during the 

preceding 36-month period, the individual ``received food stamp 

benefits'' for more than three months during which time the individual 

was not either exempt, covered under a waiver, or satisfying the Food 

Stamp Program work requirement. An individual's participation in a 

particular month does not count toward the time limit unless he or she 

actually received some food stamps during that month. The statute does 

not require that the individual actually use his or her benefits in 

order for a month to be counted; it just requires that he or she 

receive them. The only significant issue that the Department must 

address in this context is how to handle a situation in which an 

individual was certified in error. As discussed below, the Department 

is proposing that when an individual is certified in error, the stamps 

be considered to have been ``received'' unless the erroneous benefits 

have been repaid.

    In a situation in which an individual was mistakenly certified 

(e.g., a work sanction was incorrectly applied), the clear language of 

the statute would require that the month be counted because the 

individual received food stamps. Once a claim is established and the 

overissued benefits are repaid in full, counting the erroneously issued 

benefits as having been received would be inappropriate. A policy that 

ignores the actual receipt of food stamps based on the possibility that 

they might be repaid would be inconsistent with the intent of the 

provision and the statutory language. A policy that did not count 

erroneously issued benefits as having been ``received'' would be 

inconsistent with efforts to discourage clients from misrepresenting 

their circumstances. However, the Department recognizes the 

administrative complexity involved, and is therefore proposing that the 

State agencies may opt to treat benefits erroneously received as having 

been ``received'' unless or until they are repaid in full.

Administrative Requirements

    The statutory language and legislative history are silent as to 

verification and reporting requirements, and how the income and 

resources of someone made ineligible by this provision should be 

handled for the rest of the household.

    The statutory language of Section 6(o) is very specific as to the 

number of hours required to be worked in order to satisfy the work 

requirement (``20 hours per week, averaged monthly''). Because 

eligibility can hinge on the actual number of hours worked, the 

Department believes that it is necessary to verify an individual's work 

hours when that individual is meeting the requirement of this provision 

by working. None of the current mandatory verification items at 7 CFR 

273.2(f)(1) would capture all work situations. Income must be verified, 

so paid work hours would probably be captured as part of the 

verification of income. But the Department is proposing to allow unpaid 

or ``in-kind'' work to satisfy the work requirement, and those items 

would not be captured in the verification of a household's income. 

Because the accurate assessment of an individual's work hours is 

crucial (both at initial certification and recertification) to the 

eligibility determination, the Department is proposing to make 

verification of work hours mandatory at certification and 

recertification for certain individuals who are subject to the time 

limit. The State agency should have information as to an individual's 

work hours if the individual is satisfying the work requirement by 

participating in a state-operated work or workfare program. Therefore, 

additional verification of work hours will not be necessary in those 

circumstances. However, the State agency may not have information about 

an individual's work hours if the individual is participating in a work 

or workfare program that is not operated by the State agency. The 

Department is therefore proposing that the verification requirement 

apply to individuals subject to the food stamp time limit who are 

satisfying the work requirement by working, or by combining work and 

work program participation, or by participating in a work or workfare 

program that is not operated or supervised by the State agency.

    One other verification issue is raised when an individual indicates 

that he/she has participated in the food stamp program in another 

State. Though no national database exists now that would capture the 

number of ``countable months'' each participant has used, the 

Department is in the process of exploring the feasibility of designing 

one. In the meantime, the Department believes that it is not overly 

burdensome to require State agencies to check other States for the 

number of ``countable months'' an individual has used when the 

individual indicates that he/she has participated in those other 

states. Such a policy is consistent with Food Stamp procedures that 

require State agencies to verify anything that appears 

``questionable.'' The Department does not believe, however, that it 

would make sense to require the new State to perform an independent 

analysis to determine how many countable months the individual has 

used. Therefore, the Department is proposing to allow a State agency to 

rely on another State agency's assertion as to how many countable 

months an individual has used. Verification of the number of countable 

months an individual has used in another State is not necessary at 

recertification, so the Department is proposing to make it mandatory 

only at initial certification (and when there is an indication that the 

individual participated in another state). To codify these policies, 

the Department is proposing to amend regulations at 7 CFR 273.2(f)(1) 

and 273.2(f)(8) to add
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the new mandatory verification requirements.

    As discussed above, the number of hours an individual works is 

crucial to the eligibility determination for most individuals subject 

to the time limit and satisfying the work requirement. None of the 

current requirements for reporting changes that occur during a 

certification period would necessarily capture changes in an 

individual's work hours. Because the Department is proposing to allow 

unpaid or ``in-kind'' work to satisfy the work requirement, reporting 

changes in income will not necessarily capture changes in the number of 

work hours. As part of its flexible approach to change reporting, the 

Department published a proposed rule on December <strong>17</strong>, 1996 (61 FR 

66233), which would provide State agencies with options for requiring 

changes to be reported. One of the options would require a change 

report when the number of hours worked changed more than 5 hours a 

week, and the change is expected to continue for more than a month. 

Even this requirement will not capture a small change in the number of 

hours worked, which could affect eligibility. The Department believes 

that because hours worked are so critical to the eligibility 

determination for individuals subject to the time limit, it must 

require that changes in work hours be reported. Therefore, the 

Department is proposing to require that individuals subject to the time 

limit must report changes in work hours that bring the individual below 

20 hours per week, averaged monthly. The Department is proposing to 

amend 7 CFR 273.<strong>12</strong>(a)(1) accordingly.

    Another reporting issue is whether or not a household must report 

when an able-bodied adult without dependents obtains or loses 

employment, thus becoming eligible or ineligible. For example, if an 

individual is ineligible because he/she has used up his/her countable 

months, and then gets a job and works 80 hours in a 30 day period, he/

she becomes eligible. The regulations at 273.<strong>12</strong>(a) require that a 

household report changes in the source or amount of gross monthly 

income and changes in household composition such as the addition or 

loss of a household member. Policy memo 86-7 further addresses this 

issue and states that households are required to report changes during 

the certification period which affect the nonhousehold status of 

members, for example, when a full-time student quits college or 

increases part-time employment from 15 hours to 20 hours a week, or a 

household member marries a live-in attendant or begins to purchase and 

prepare food with a nonhousehold member. A household must report these 

changes because they may affect the household's eligibility or 

allotment. Therefore, as the regulations and current policy already 

address this issue, the Department is not proposing additional 

household composition reporting requirements specific to able-bodied 

adult without dependents.

    Another issue that arises in this context is how to handle an 

unreported job. Section 6(o)(2)(A) of the Act provides that an 

individual's participation counts toward the time limit during times 

when the individual ``did not work 20 hours or more per week.* * *'' If 

an individual was working 20 hours per week but did not report the job, 

the individual may have received benefits erroneously (or a higher 

allotment that he or she should have received), but the individual was 

working 20 hours per week, and so the participation should not count 

toward the time limit. Existing policy would require that when an 

unreported job is discovered, the State agency must count the 

unreported income, recalculate the household's eligibility and benefit 

level, and establish claims as appropriate. But the State agency must 

also consider the individual to have been ``working,'' and so not count 

those months of participation if the work requirement was being 

satisfied with an unreported job. The Department has incorporated this 

policy into its proposal.

    The final administrative issue is the treatment of an ineligible 

individual's income and resources. In other contexts, the Department 

handles the nonhousehold member's income and resources in one of three 

ways. The income and resources of the nonhousehold member are either 

counted in full as available to the household, excluded from those of 

the household except to the extent that they are actually contributed 

to, or jointly owned by, eligible household members, or a pro rata 

share of the individual's income and all of the individual's resources 

are counted as available to the household. The Department recognizes 

that most of these individuals will not have much income or resources. 

However, if the ineligible able-bodied adult without dependents is 

purchasing and preparing food with the remaining members of the 

household, what little income he/she has should be counted at least in 

part as available to the household and the resources be counted in 

full. To count all of the income as available to the household would be 

more punitive than necessary. Therefore, the Department is proposing 

that the income and resources of someone made ineligible under this 

provision be handled according to Sec. 273.11(c)(2); The resources of 

the ineligible able-bodied adult without dependents shall count in 

their entirety and a pro rata share of the income shall be counted as 

income to the remaining members. The remaining provisions of 

273.11(c)(2) concerning deductible expenses and eligibility and benefit 

levels will also apply. In order to codify this policy, the Department 

is proposing a technical amendment to 273.1(b); section 273.11(c)(2) 

does not need to be amended.

Exemptions

    Section 6(o) of the Act exempts from the otherwise generally 

applicable statutory time limit individuals who are: (1) under 18 or 

over 50 years of age; (2) medically certified as physically or mentally 

unfit for employment; (3) a parent or other household member with 

responsibility for a dependent child; (4) exempt from work registration 

requirements under section 6(d)(2) of the Act; or (5) pregnant. Periods 

of participation in the Food Stamp Program while an individual is 

exempt are not counted toward the individual's three-month limit. 

Therefore, exempt individuals may participate in the Food Stamp Program 

for as long as they are otherwise eligible. Eligibility workers should 

set certification periods as appropriate for the exemption. Two of the 

exemptions (age and pregnancy) need minor clarification; two of the 

exemptions raise substantial issues (the ``unfit for employment'' and 

the ``household member with responsibility for a child'' exemptions). 

As elsewhere in this proposed rule, the Department is seeking a balance 

between consistency and State agency flexibility in the context of 

these exemptions.

    Section 6(o)(3)(A) of the Act exempts individuals who are ``under 

18 or over 50 years of age.'' The Department would like to clarify that 

someone is ``over 50 years of age'' on his or her 50th birthday. On 

that day, the individual starts his or her 51st year, and so is ``over 

50 years of age.'' Similarly, an individual loses the exemption on his 

or her 18th birthday. The provision also exempts pregnant women, and 

the Department would like to clarify that any trimester of pregnancy 

exempts a woman from this provision. However, to clarify and be 

consistent with the proposal to not count partial months, the 

Department is proposing that a month is not a countable month for able-

bodied adult without dependents purposes if the individual is exempt 

for part of the month. For example, if an individual turns 18 on 

September 5, he retains his exemption for September, and his first 

countable month is
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October. Or if an individual turns 50 in September, he will be exempt 

for the entire month of September. The provision incorporates by 

reference the work registration exemptions from subsection 6(d)(2) of 

the Act. Regulations at 7 CFR 273.7(b) already implement those 

exemptions, so they will not be addressed further in this rulemaking.

    The Department would like to clarify that only those provisions of 

7 CFR 273.7(b) that implement the section 6(d)(2) exemptions are 

incorporated by reference as exemptions to this provision.

Medically Certified as Physically or Mentally Unfit for Employment

    Section 6(o)(3)(B) of the Act exempts individuals who are 

``medically certified as physically or mentally unfit for employment.'' 

Nothing in the legislative history of this provision provides guidance 

in defining either ``medically certified,'' or ``unfit for 

employment.'' In crafting this exemption, Congress did not use the term 

``disabled,'' which is defined in Section 3 of the Act, 7 U.S.C. 2012. 

Someone who is disabled as defined in the Act may be ``unfit for 

employment,'' but the language of this exemption is more broad. The 

concept of physical or mental ``fitness'' for employment, as 

distinguished from physical or mental ``disability,'' is found in the 

context of the work requirements that predate PRWORA. Section 

6(d)(1)(A) of the Act defines the work requirements for ``physically 

and mentally fit'' individuals (emphasis added). Regulations that 

implement this provision (at 7 CFR 273.7(b)(1)(ii)) exempt individuals 

who are ``unfit for employment.'' It would not make sense for Congress 

to have intended two different meanings of ``unfit for employment'' in 

the context of exemptions from food stamp work requirements. It appears 

that the only difference between the ``unfit for employment'' exemption 

in section 6(d)(1)(A) of the Act (as implemented in 7 CFR 

273.7(b)(1)(ii)) and the one in Section 6(o)(3)(B) of the Act is 

whether the condition is ``medically certified.''

    Regulations at 7 CFR 273.7(b)(1)(ii) do not define ``unfit for 

employment,'' but set out verification requirements if the 

``unfitness'' is not evident. Someone whose condition (and that the 

condition made him or her unfit for employment) was ``evident'' would 

not have to provide any verification in order to be entitled to the 

exemption. Under this rule, verification ``may consist of receipt of 

temporary or permanent disability benefits issued by governmental or 

private sources, or of a statement from a physician or licensed or 

certified psychologist.'' The receipt of disability benefits is 

indirect proof that there has been a medical certification of a 

condition making the recipient unfit for employment. A statement from a 

physician or licensed or certified psychologist is certainly a 

``medical certification.'' The Department believes that the 

verification requirement in this context is essentially a ``medical 

certification'' requirement. With no legislative history to indicate 

otherwise, the Department believes that it would not make sense to try 

to establish a new, separate definition of ``medically certified.'' The 

real distinction appears to be that under the work registration 

exemption, participants only have to furnish a medical certification if 

the condition (or its debilitating nature) is not evident. Section 

6(o)(3)(B) of the Act requires medical certification in all cases. The 

verification requirement in 7 CFR 273.7(b)(1)(ii) is a reasonable 

definition of what ``medically certified'' might mean. In addition, it 

would not make sense for an individual to be considered ``unfit for 

employment'' under 7 CFR 273.7(b)(1)(ii) after providing the requisite 

verification, but not be considered ``unfit for employment'' in this 

context, even after providing the same verification. For these reasons, 

the Department is proposing to incorporate the exemption in 7 CFR 

273.7(b)(1)(ii), as the ``unfit for employment'' exemption, except that 

the verification (medical certification) will be mandatory.

Parent or Other Household Member With Responsibility for a Dependent 

Child

    Section 6(o)(3)(C) of the Act exempts an individual who is ``a 

parent or other member of a household with responsibility for a 

dependent child.'' This exemption raises two issues: what is the age of 

the child that entitles certain household members to the exception; and 

assuming a qualifying child which household members can qualify 

for the exemption.

    The Department is proposing that in this context child'' mean any 

individual under age 18. The Department has considered proposing a 

lower age, but could find no basis in the Act or the regulations for 

any qualifying age other than six. Section 6(d)(2) of the Act exempts 

parents or other household members responsible for the care of a child 

under age six from the work requirements that predate the PRWORA. 

However, as mentioned above, Section 6(o)(3)(D) of the Act exempts from 

its provisions anyone who is exempt under Section 6(d)(2) of the Act. 

Clearly Congress would not have created a separate exception in Section 

6(o)(3)(C) for parents or other household members with ``responsibility 

for a dependent child'' if it intended that the child be under age 

six. Without any legislative history on the issue, or any other 

statutory or regulatory basis, the Department believes that selecting 

an age other than that of majority would be arbitrary. The Department 

also believes that this is one area in which consistency is important, 

and so is proposing to consider anyone under age 18 a child for 

these purposes.

    The statutory language exempts any parent of a child household 

member. Therefore, if a food stamp household consists of two parents 

and a child, the child is exempt as being under 18, and both parents 

are exempt under the ``parent'' exemption. As in other contexts, the 

Department is proposing to include adoptive and stepparents in the 

definition of ``parent.''

    The provision also exempts an individual who is not a parent, but 

who is a member of the household ``with responsibility for'' a child 

The Department recognizes that there will be many situations in which 

non-parent adults have responsibilities for child household members. A 

grandparent may provide most of the financial support for the child, an 

unrelated household member may be the child primary caretaker, etc. 

The statutory language did not limit the number of household members 

that could be exempted under this provision. The Department believes it 

would be administratively burdensome to require the State agency to 

evaluate the exemption on a case-by-case basis to determine whether an 

individual has ``responsibility'' for a dependent child. Accordingly, 

the Department is proposing that whenever there is a child under 18 in 

the household, no adult in the household would be subject to the work 

requirements.

Regaining and Maintaining Eligibility

    Section 6(o)(5) of the Act allows an individual who has ``used up'' 

his or her countable months to regain eligibility if, during a thirty-

day period, the individual works 80 or more hours, participates in and 

complies with a work program for 80 or more hours (as determined by the 

State agency), or participates in and complies with a workfare program. 

Someone who has regained eligibility under this provision may remain 

eligible as long as he or she continues to satisfy the work requirement 

(or is exempt or covered by a waiver). The terms ``work program''
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and ``workfare'' have the same meaning as in the discussion of the 

general rule. The discussion as to what will qualify as ``work'' 

(volunteer or ``in kind'' work) is also applicable in this context, and 

the Department's proposal reflects that. The provision allowing 

individuals to regain eligibility raises three new issues: what is the 

``30-day period,'' whether the 80 hours of work or participation in a 

work program has to be completed before the individual can receive 

benefits, and whether the individual can regain eligibility more than 

once in a three-year period. The Department would also like to clarify 

that someone who becomes ineligible under the time limit, but later 

becomes exempt or covered by a waiver, does not have to regain 

eligibility under this provision (i.e., he or she does not have to work 

80 hours in a thirty-day period, etc.). He or she is exempt from the 

provision, and can begin or continue to receive benefits as long as the 

exemption or waiver lasts and the individual is otherwise eligible.

    The statutory language requires that the 80 hours of work, etc. be 

completed ``during a 30-day period.'' The provision does not specify 

that the work must be done during a calendar month, but it does imply 

that the thirty-day period be uninterrupted. To allow otherwise would 

distort the plain meaning of the language. The Department is therefore 

proposing to define ``30-day period'' as ``30 consecutive days.'' A 

second issue in the context of the thirty-day period is whether the 

thirty days has to immediately precede the date of reapplication. There 

is no requirement in the statutory language that the thirty-day period 

immediately precede the reapplication. Elsewhere in the provision, 

Congress specified reference to the ``preceding'' time period, and it 

certainly could have in this context if it had intended that the 80 

hours of work (or work program, etc.) be completed immediately prior to 

the reapplication. The Department is therefore proposing that someone 

can regain eligibility by working 80 hours, etc. during any 30 

consecutive days.

    When an individual applies for benefits and completes the ``cure'' 

for regaining eligibility during the application period by either 

working or participating in a work program, the Department is proposing 

to allow States the option of either providing benefits back to the 

date of application or prorating benefits from the date the cure is 

complete. For example, for an individual who uses up his or her three 

countable months, reapplies on December 1, but does not complete his or 

her 80 hours of work until the 15th of December, the State agency may 

either provide benefits back to December 1st , or prorate them from 

December 15th. However, the Department would like to stress that this 

proposed policy is for individuals regaining eligibility by working or 

participating and complying in a work program. An individual who 

regains eligibility by participating in and complying with workfare, 

and whose workfare obligation is based on an estimated monthly 

allotment prorated to the date of application, then the allotment 

issued must be prorated back to this date.  Section 20 of the Act, 7 

U.S.C. 2029, is clear that food stamps are compensation for work 

performed in a workfare program. For example, if an individual has used 

up his first three months, then applies for food stamps, and is 

assigned to a workfare slot prior to determination of eligibility, and 

he then completes his workfare obligation within 30 days, his benefits 

shall be calculated to the date of application. The Department believes 

that this interpretation is the only one consistent with the Act 

regarding workfare. One additional clarification is proposed in the 

regulatory language. The statutory language of Section 6(o)(5) does not 

require individuals participating in workfare to work 80 hours in a 30-

day period because under a workfare program, an individual's work 

obligation is linked with the amount of the individual's food stamp 

benefit. The language requires that an individual ``participate in and 

comply with'' a workfare program during a 30-day period, not that an 

individual participate in a workfare program for 30 days, which would 

essentially require a 30-day waiting period. The Department is 

proposing to clarify that when an individual is regaining eligibility 

through a workfare program, the individual must be considered to have 

completed the cure when the individual has completed the required 

number of hours of work.

    The last issue in this context is whether an individual can regain 

eligibility and then maintain eligibility under this provision more 

than once during the three-year period. Neither the statutory language 

nor the legislative history address this issue. (The statutory language 

does prohibit someone from using his or her second three ``countable 

months'' more than once, as discussed below.). As mentioned above, 

Section 6(o)(5) of the Act allows an individual who has ``used up'' his 

or her countable months to regain eligibility if, during a thirty-day 

period, the individual works 80 or more hours, participates in and 

complies with a work program for 80 or more hours (as determined by the 

State agency), or participates in and complies with a workfare program. 

Someone who has regained eligibility under this provision may remain 

eligible as long as he or she continues to satisfy the work requirement 

(or is exempt or covered by a waiver). This provision is a time limit 

for individuals who are not working, and individuals can only regain 

eligibility by working (or participating in a work program or workfare) 

and then maintain eligibility by continuing to work. Allowing 

individuals to be able to regain and maintain eligibility whenever and 

as often as they meet the 80 hour/30-day work requirement would 

encourage individuals to continue to look for work even after having 

used up their countable months. The Department is therefore not 

proposing to limit the number of times an individual can regain and 

maintain eligibility under this provision.

Eligibility for the Additional Three ``Countable Months''

    Section 6(o)(5)(C) allows an individual who has regained 

eligibility (by working 80 hours in a 30-day period, etc.) and then 

lost the job (or workfare slot, etc.) to be eligible for an additional 

period of three countable months. The additional three months must be 

consecutive, and they start on the date the individual notifies the 

State agency that he or she is no longer meeting the work requirement. 

An illustration will help explain this general concept. Joe uses up his 

three countable months, and becomes ineligible for food stamps. Two 

months later, he gets a job and works 80 hours in a thirty-day period, 

regaining eligibility. For six months, Joe works at least 20 hours per 

week. He is satisfying the work requirement, so he is maintaining his 

food stamp eligibility. Joe is laid off in the seventh month of Joe's 

job, and notifies his eligibility worker immediately. Starting the day 

he notifies his worker, Joe is eligible for an additional three 

consecutive ``countable'' months of food stamps. That is, even though 

he already used up his (first) three countable months, he is eligible 

for up to three consecutive months without having to either fulfill the 

work requirement (20 hours per week, etc.), be exempt (physically or 

mentally unfit for employment, etc.), or be covered by a waiver. There 

are two significant issues that arise only in the context of this 

additional three countable months: the additional countable months are 

consecutive, and they start the date the client notifies the
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State that he or she is no longer meeting the work requirement.

    Section 6(o)(5)(C) of the Act specifies that, although the first 

three countable months can be consecutive or otherwise, the second 

three countable months are consecutive. The plain meaning of this 

language is that the second three countable months cannot be used in a 

piecemeal fashion, they must be used consecutively. For example, Sue 

has just lost her job, and becomes eligible for the second three 

countable months on January 1, so (if she is otherwise eligible) her 

second three countable months are January, February, and March. If she 

gets a job in March, she essentially ``forfeits'' her last countable 

month (a month when she can receive food stamps without working, etc.) 

because she cannot ``save'' the month for use some time later when she 

is no longer working.

    The statute not only requires that the additional three countable 

months be consecutive, but it requires that they start ``the date the 

individual first notifies the State agency'' that the individual is no 

longer fulfilling the work requirement. That means that even if the 

individual cannot take advantage of the second three countable months 

(e.g., he or she is under a work sanction or temporarily resource 

ineligible), the additional three month ``window'' opens the date the 

individual notifies the State that he or she is no longer working (and 

because it has to be three consecutive months, it closes exactly three 

months later). To illustrate, if John notifies the State agency on 

January 1 that he has quit his job (without good cause), he is 

potentially eligible under this provision for a period of three 

consecutive months starting January 1. However, Section 6(o)(6) of the 

Act states that nothing in its provisions makes an individual eligible 

for food stamps if he or she is not otherwise eligible for benefits. 

Therefore, the provisions in Section 6(o) that make an individual 

eligible do not override other provisions of the Food Stamp Act and 

implementing regulations that make an individual ineligible. In the 

illustration, John is subject to a 90-day voluntary quit sanction under 

7 CFR 273.7(n). His sanction would expire on April 1, but his second 

three-month window of eligibility was only open from January 1 (the day 

he notified the State agency that he was no longer working) through the 

end of March (three consecutive months later). John has forfeited the 

opportunity to use his additional three countable months (at least this 

time).

    There are two more issues arising from the provision mandating when 

the additional three months of eligibility start. Section 6(o)(5)(C) 

mandates that the additional three countable months start the date the 

individual ``first notifies the State agency'' that he or she is no 

longer meeting the work requirement. Therefore, even if the individual 

does not report the job loss right away, the additional three month 

``window'' opens when the individual notifies the State agency.

    Although this policy might not provide incentive to report the job 

loss immediately, the Department cannot ignore the plain language of 

the statute. Therefore, the Department's proposal mirrors the statutory 

requirement that eligibility for the additional three countable months 

starts the day the client first notifies the State agency that he or 

she is no longer meeting the work requirement.

    There is one circumstance when the Department believes that a 

departure from this general rule is necessary. If an individual is 

meeting the work requirement by participating in a work program or 

workfare, and at some point no longer meets the requirements of the 

work or workfare program (such that he or she could be eligible for the 

additional three months), in most cases the State agency becomes aware 

of this information and is required by work rules to take an action on 

the individual's case. In most cases the State agency is either 

supervising the workfare or work program and is aware that the 

individual is no longer meeting the work requirements or is notified by 

the agency that is. Once the State agency becomes aware that the 

individual is no longer meeting the work requirements, the eligibility 

worker will send the individual a notice explaining that he or she no 

longer meets the work requirements (of 7 CFR 273.7), and advise him of 

his options. The Department believes that in these cases, when the 

State agency becomes aware that the individual is no longer meeting the 

work requirement because the State agency was operating or supervising 

the work or workfare program, or was notified by the agency that was, 

it would be meaningless to require the individual to contact his or her 

eligibility worker in order to trigger the eligibility for the 

additional three months. The individual may not even be aware that he 

or she is no longer meeting the work requirement. When the State agency 

is the entity with information as to whether the work requirement is 

being met, the additional three month period should start on the date 

of the notice. Accordingly, the Department is proposing that when an 

individual is meeting the work requirement by participating in a work 

or workfare program, the additional three-month period will start the 

date the State agency notifies the individual that he or she is no 

longer meeting the work requirements.

    The statute also makes it clear that individuals may only ``receive 

benefits'' for a second three countable months once in a three-year 

period. Therefore, although individuals may regain eligibility (by 

working 80 hours in a 30-day period, etc.) many times, they can only 

take advantage of the second three countable months once. Individuals 

can therefore get food stamps for no more than six countable months in 

a three-year period, but in order to become eligible for the second 

three countable months, the individual has to have worked at least 80 

hours in a thirty-day period. Significantly, the statute uses the 

following language: ``an individual shall not receive any benefits 

pursuant to * * * [the additional three month provision] for more than 

a single 3-month period in any 36-month period.'' (emphasis added.) 

Therefore, using the example above, although John has essentially 

forfeited the second three countable months (because of the voluntary 

quit sanction), he may become eligible again for the additional three 

consecutive countable months because he never received benefits for 

that period. As before, any three consecutive month window would open 

the day John first notifies the State agency that he has lost his job, 

and would close three months later. In the example, after John's 

voluntary quit sanction expires (and he has forfeited the opportunity 

to use the three consecutive countable months), he finds a new job on 

May 1. He works 80 hours in a thirty-day period, regaining his 

eligibility. On August 1, John is laid off from the new job, and 

notifies his eligibility worker.

    John is now eligible for three consecutive countable months 

starting August 1. After John has received any benefits during this 

second three-month window, he will have to either meet the work 

requirement, become exempt, or be covered by a waiver in order to 

participate.

Waivers

    Section 6(o)(4) of the Act allows the Department, at the request of 

a State agency, to waive the time limit for any group of individuals if 

the Secretary determines that the area in which the individuals reside 

has an unemployment rate of over ten percent, or ``does not have a 

sufficient number of jobs to provide employment for the individuals.'' 

The Department issued guidance for States seeking waivers on
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December 3, 1996. The guidance contained basic procedures for applying 

for waivers, identified data sources which could be used to 

substantiate requests, and described some approaches that could support 

a ``lack of sufficient jobs'' waiver. This proposed rule does not 

substantially change the policies expressed in the December 3, 1996 

guidance. Because of the nature of the waiver approval process and the 

many factors involved in the analysis of whether a waiver is 

appropriate, the Department cannot specify which waiver requests it 

will approve and which it will not. This proposed rule is intended 

merely to provide a framework for waiver requests.

    The waiver authority raises several issues: data required to 

justify a waiver, the duration of waivers, defining an area, and 

factors to indicate a lack of sufficient jobs. Other than the limits 

discussed here, FNS is not proposing any specific procedures for 

applying for waivers. FNS will expedite the approval process, and 

intends that it be as simple as possible. Consistent with these goals, 

FNS is proposing that in areas for which the State has certified that 

data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) show an unemployment 

rate above 10 percent, the State may begin to operate the waiver at the 

time the waiver request is submitted. FNS has proposed to retain the 

ability to require any modifications that might be required in order to 

meet the requirement of the statute. For example, if the most recent 

data (that might not have been available to the State at the time of 

the request) shows that some areas no longer have unemployment rates 

above 10 percent, FNS must be able to reexamine the basis for waivers 

in those areas. The terms of any such modification of the waiver would 

be negotiated with the State agency. Allowing States to begin to 

operate such waivers would provide immediate relief to areas long 

suffering with high unemployment rates. All other waivers will need 

prior approval before they take effect.

Kinds of Data Needed

    With respect to the kinds of data required to support a waiver, 

established Federal policy requires Federal executive branch agencies 

to use the most recent National, State or local labor force and 

unemployment data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) for all 

program purposes. This policy is contained in Statistical Policy 

Directive No. 11, issued by the Office of Federal Statistical Policy 

Standards, Office of Management and Budget. This policy ensures the 

standardization of collection methods and the accuracy of data used to 

administer Federal programs. In accordance with this policy, the 

Department is proposing that States seeking waivers for areas with 

unemployment rates higher than 10 percent be required to rely on 

standard BLS data or methods. To the extent that a ``lack of sufficient 

jobs'' waiver is also based on labor force and unemployment data, the 

Department is proposing that the labor force and unemployment data also 

be based on BLS data or methods.

Duration of Data and Duration of Waivers

    Another issue related to the data required to support a waiver is 

how recent the data and analysis must be, and whether the data must 

cover a certain period before a waiver will be granted. Closely related 

is the issue of the duration of the waivers. Unemployment rates 

fluctuate from month to month, with fluctuations likely to be larger 

for estimates based on smaller areas. Data must be recent because a 

waiver must be based on the job market as it then exists. Stale data 

could mask areas in which the labor market has recently declined, or 

overestimate the unemployment rate in an area that is experiencing job 

growth. If requested, FNS will automatically grant a waiver in any area 

in which the average unemployment rate in the preceding 12 months is 

greater than 10 percent. However, the Department will not require a 12-

month average to approve a waiver for two reasons: a 12-month average 

may mask portions of the year when the unemployment rate rises above or 

falls below 10 percent. In addition, requiring a 12-month average 

before a waiver could be approved would necessitate a sustained period 

of high unemployment before an area became eligible for a waiver. 

However, although allowing States to obtain a year-long waiver based on 

fewer months of data might be more responsive to early labor market 

signals, it could be an over response to a seasonal problem or a short 

term aberration. Therefore, the Department is proposing that in 

general, the duration of a waiver should bear some relationship to the 

documentation provided in support of the waiver request. FNS will 

consider approving waivers for up to one year based on documentation 

covering a shorter period, but the State must show that the basis for 

the waiver is not a seasonal or short term aberration. In general, the 

Department will not approve waivers for more than one year. In 

addition, States in areas with predictable seasonal variations in 

unemployment may use historical trends to anticipate the need for 

waivers for certain periods. For example, if the pattern of seasonal 

unemployment is such that an area's unemployment rate typically 

increases by two percentage points in January, February, and March, and 

the area's unemployment rate is currently 9 percent, a State may 

request a waiver for this area based on its current rate and historical 

trends. The period covered by the waiver would then coincide with the 

period of projected high unemployment.

Defining an ``Area''

    With respect to the question of what ``areas'' can receive waivers, 

the Department is allowing States broad discretion in defining areas 

that best reflect the labor market prospects of Program participants 

and State administrative needs. In general, the Department encourages 

States to consider requesting waivers for areas smaller than the entire 

State. Statewide averages may mask slack job markets in some counties, 

cities, or towns. Accordingly, States should consider areas within, or 

combinations of, counties, cities, and towns. The Department also urges 

States to consider the particular needs of rural areas and Indian 

reservations. Although the Department is proposing to allow States 

flexibility in defining areas to be covered by waivers, the supporting 

data must correspond to the requested area (e.g., a county-wide waiver 

must be supported by county-wide data).

    Unemployment figures for many local areas based on standard BLS 

data or methods are readily available. Through its Local Area 

Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program, BLS works in concert with State 

employment security agencies to estimate unemployment rates for all 

states and counties, all cities with a population of 25,000 or more, 

all cities and towns in New England, and all metropolitan and small 

labor market areas in the United States. In addition, State employment 

security agencies can use standard BLS methods to generate unemployment 

rates for smaller geographic areas and special geographic areas such as 

Indian reservations, as long as the boundaries of those areas coincide 

with the boundaries of a group of census tracts. While standard methods 

can be used to estimate unemployment rates for smaller areas, the 

estimates will be less reliable. A list of State employment security 

agency contacts can be accessed through the BLS LAUS  home  page  

(found  at  http://stats.bls.gov:80/lauhome.htm). Monthly State and 

local area unemployment rates are also readily available from a variety 

of published sources. Current data can be obtained via the LAUS home 

page,
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the LAUS program, BLS regional offices, or the State's employment 

security agency.

Lack of Sufficient Jobs

    Section 6(o)(4)(A)(ii) of the Act allows the Department to waive 

the time limit for a group of individuals if the area in which the 

individuals reside ``does not have a sufficient number of jobs to 

provide employment for the individuals.'' The legislative history does 

not provide guidance on what types of waivers the Department should 

approve under this standard, and there are no standard data or methods 

to make the determination of the sufficiency of jobs. States requesting 

waivers are therefore free to compile evidence and construct arguments 

to show that in a particular area, there are not enough jobs for 

individuals who are affected by the time limit. However, as described 

in the December 3, 1996, guidance, some indicators that an area has 

insufficient jobs are: if the area is on the U.S. Department of Labor's 

(DOL) Employment and Training Administration's list of labor surplus 

areas; if the area qualifies for extended unemployment benefits; or if 

the area has a falling ratio of employment to population. No particular 

approach is required. Because waivers are approved based on current 

labor market conditions, evidence and data should be the most recent 

available to the State. The Department will make the decisions on a 

case-by-case basis.

Implementation

    While most of the provisions of PRWORA were effective, and required 

to be implemented on August 22, 1996, some of the provisions in this 

rule have different statutory implementation dates. Section 115 (42 

U.S.C. 862a), denial of benefits for drug-related convictions, was 

required to be implemented July 1, 1997, unless the State submitted a 

TANF plan to DHHS, in which case the effective date of Section 115 was 

the date the TANF plan was received by DHHS. In no event may State 

agencies disqualify an individual for a conviction occurring on or 

before August 22, 1996. States may also opt out of Section 115 by 

legislative action.

    Sections 829 and 911 of PRWORA (Section 8(d) of the Act and 42 

U.S.C. 608a) are mandatory and were required to be implemented on 

August 22, 1996, for all reductions in an assistance program's benefits 

initiated on or after that date for failure to perform a required 

action or for fraud. Section 819 of PRWORA (Section 6(i) of the Act) 

regarding comparable disqualifications is optional and, therefore, 

effective when the State chooses to implement it; but disqualifications 

imposed prior to August 22, 1996, shall not be imposed for food stamp 

purposes. The provisions in 42 U.S.C. 404(i) and (j) (Section 103(a) of 

PROWRA) are optional and, therefore, effective when the State chooses 

to implement them, but not prior to the State's receipt of a TANF block 

grant.

    Pursuant to Section 824 of the PRWORA, (7 U.S.C. 2015(o)) the time 

limit for able-bodied adults is effective the date the State notifies 

recipients of the application of the time limit, or November 22, 1996 

(the date that was three months after the date of enactment of the 

PRWORA), whichever is earlier.

    The Department is proposing that the changes made by this rule 

would be effective and implemented no later than the first day of the 

month 180 days after publication of the final rule.

List of Subjects

7 CFR Part 272

    Alaska, Civil rights, Food stamps, Grant programs-social programs, 

Reporting and recordkeeping requirements.

7 CFR Part 273

    Administrative practice and procedures, Claims, Food stamps, Grant 

programs-social programs, Penalties, Reporting and recordkeeping, 

Social Security, Students.

    Accordingly, 7 CFR Parts 272 and 273 are proposed to be amended as 

follows:

    1. The authority citation for parts 272 and 273 continues to read 

as follows:

    Authority: 7 U.S.C. 2011-2036.

PART 272--REQUIREMENTS FOR PARTICIPATING STATE AGENCIES

    2. In Sec. 272.1, a new paragraph (c)(1)(vii) is added to read as 

follows:

Sec. 272.1  General terms and conditions.

* * * * *

    (c) Disclosure. (1) * * *

    (vii) Local, State or Federal law enforcement officers, upon 

written request, for the purpose of obtaining the address, social 

security number, and, if available, photograph of any household member, 

if the member is fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody for a crime, 

or an attempt to commit a crime, that would be classified as a felony 

(or in the State of a New Jersey, a high misdemeanor), or is violating 

a condition of probation or parole imposed under a Federal or State 

law. The State agency shall also provide information regarding any 

household member, upon the official request of a law enforcement 

officer, necessary for the conduct of an official duty, such as 

apprehension or investigation, related to the any of the above-

described individuals.

* * * * *

    3. In Sec. 272.2, new paragraphs (d)(1)(xiii) and (d)(1)(xiv) are 

added to read as follows:

Sec. 272.2  Plan of operation.

* * * * *

    (d) Planning documents. (1) * * *

    (xiii) If the State agency chooses to implement the optional 

provisions specified in (273.11(l), (m), and (n) of this chapter, the 

Plan's attachment shall include the options selected, guidelines to be 

used, and specify how the income of any disqualified individuals will 

be treated.

    (xiv) If the State agency chooses to implement the optional 

provisions specified in (273.11(q), (r), and (s) of this chapter, the 

Plan's attachment shall include the options selected, and procedures to 

be used. The plan shall also include a description of the safeguards 

the State agency will use to restrict the use of information collected 

by a State agency in implementing the optional provision contained in 

Sec. 273.11(r) of this chapter.

* * * * *

PART 273--CERTIFICATION OF ELIGIBLE HOUSEHOLDS

    4. In Sec. 273.1, new paragraphs (b)(2)(viii), (b)(2)(ix), 

(b)(2)(x), (b)(2)(xi), (b)(2)(xii), and (b)(2)(xiii) are added to read 

as follows.

Sec. 273.1  Household concept.

* * * * *

    (b) Nonhousehold members. * * *

    (2) * * *

    (viii) School attendance requirements. At State agency option, 

individuals who are disqualified in accordance with the school 

attendance provisions of Sec. 273.11(m) and (n).

    (ix) Individuals convicted of drug-related felonies. Individuals 

who are ineligible under Sec. 273.11(o) because of a drug-related 

felony conviction.

    (x) Individuals disqualified from other means-tested programs. At 

State agency option, individuals who are disqualified in another 

assistance program in accordance with Sec. 273.11(l).

    (xi) Fleeing felons. Individuals who are fleeing to avoid 

prosecution or custody for a crime, or an attempt to commit a crime, or 

who are violating a condition of probation or parole who are ineligible 

under Sec. 273.11(p).

    (xii) Individuals ineligible because of child support issues. 

Individuals disqualified for failure to cooperate with
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child support enforcement agencies in accordance with Sec. 273.11(q) or 

(r), or for being delinquent in any court-ordered child support 

obligation in accordance with Sec. 273.11(s).

    (xiii) Able-bodied adults who have exceeded the time limit. Persons 

ineligible under Sec. 273.24, the time limit for able-bodied adults.

* * * * *

    5. In Sec. 273.2:

    a. Two new paragraphs (f)(1)(xiv) and (f)(1)(xv) are added.

    b. Paragraph (f)(8)(i)(C) is redesignated as paragraph 

(f)(8)(i)(D), and a new paragraph (f)(8)(i)(C) is added.

    The additions read as follows:

Sec. 273.2  Application processing.

* * * * *

    (f) Verification. * * *

    (1) Mandatory verification. * * *

    (xiv) Additional verification for able-bodied adults subject to the 

time limit. (A) Work hours. For individuals subject to the food stamp 

time limit of Sec. 273.24 who are satisfying the work requirement by 

working, by combining work and participation in a work program, or by 

participating in a work or workfare program that is not operated or 

supervised by the State agency, the individuals' work hours shall be 

verified.

    (B) Countable months in another state. For individuals subject to 

the food stamp time limit of Sec. 273.24, the number of countable 

months (as defined in Sec. 273.24(b)(1)) an individual has used in 

another State shall be verified if there is an indication that the 

individual participated in that State. The State agency may accept 

another State agency's assertion as to the number of countable months 

an individual has used.

    (xv) Verification of applicants fleeing to avoid prosecution or 

custody for felonies. The State agency shall establish a system for 

verifying whether applicants or participants are subject to 

disqualification under the provisions of Sec. 273.11(p) based on their 

possible status as individuals fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody 

for a crime, or an attempt to commit a crime, that would be classified 

as a felony (or in the State of New Jersey, a high misdemeanor) or who 

are violating a condition of probation or parole under a Federal or 

State law, or fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody for felonies; or 

are subject to disqualification under Sec. 273.11(o) as individuals 

convicted of drug-related felonies.

* * * * *

    (8) Verification subsequent to initial certification.* * *

    (i) Recertification* * *

    (C) For individuals subject to the food stamp time limit of 

Sec. 273.24 who are satisfying the work requirement by working, by 

combining work and participation in a work program, or by participating 

in a work program that is not operated or supervised by the State 

agency, the individuals' work hours shall be verified.

* * * * *

    6. In Sec. 273.9, paragraph (b)(5)(i) is revised in its entirety to 

read as follows:

Sec. 273.9  Income and deductions.

* * * * *

    (b) Definition of income. * * *

    (5) * * *

    (i) Moneys withheld from an income source, or moneys received from 

the income source, which are voluntarily or involuntarily returned to 

repay a prior overpayment from that income source, shall not be counted 

as income provided that the overpayment was not excludable under 

paragraph (c) of this section. However, this exclusion shall not apply 

to means-tested public assistance income sources when the overpayment 

was caused by the household.

* * * * *

    7. In Sec. 273.11:

    a. The introductory text of paragraphs (c), (c)(1) and (c)(2) are 

revised.

    b. Paragraph (c)(3)(ii) is revised.

    c. Paragraph (k) is revised.

    d. Paragraphs (l), (m), (n), (o), (p), (q), (r), and (s) are added.

    The additions and revisions read as follows:

Sec. 273.11  Action on households with special circumstances.

* * * * *

    (c) Treatment of income and resources of certain nonhousehold 

members. During the period of time that a household member cannot 

participate for the reasons addressed in this section, the eligibility 

and benefit level of any remaining household members shall be 

determined in accordance with the procedures outlined in this section. 

The State agency may opt to treat individuals disqualified under 

paragraph (l), (m), (n), (q), (r), or (s) of this section under either 

paragraph (c)(1) or (c)(2) of this section.

    (1) Intentional Program violation, felony drug conviction, or 

fleeing felon disqualifications, and workfare or work requirement 

sanctions. The eligibility and benefit level of any remaining household 

members of a household containing individuals determined ineligible 

because of a disqualification for an intentional Program violation, a 

felony drug conviction, their fleeing felon status, noncompliance with 

a work requirement of Sec. 273.7, or imposition of a sanction while 

they were participating in a household disqualified because of failure 

to comply with workfare requirements shall be determined as follows:

* * * * *

    (2) Ineligible alien, SSN disqualifications and ineligible ABAWDs. 

The eligibility and benefit level of any remaining household members of 

a household containing individuals determined to be ineligible for 

being an ineligible alien, for refusal to obtain or provide an SSN, or 

for meeting the time limit for able-bodied adults without dependents 

shall be determined as follows:

* * * * *

    (3) Reduction or termination of benefits within the certification 

period. * * *

    (ii) Disqualified or determined ineligible for reasons other than 

intentional Program violation. If a household's benefits are reduced or 

terminated within the certification period for reasons other than an 

intentional Program violation disqualification, the State agency shall 

issue a notice of adverse action in accordance with Sec. 273.13(a)(2) 

which informs the household of the ineligibility, the reason for the 

ineligibility, the eligibility and benefit level of the remaining 

members, and the action the household must take to end the 

ineligibility.

* * * * *

    (k) Reduction of public assistance benefits. If the benefits of a 

household that is receiving public assistance are reduced under a 

Federal, State, or local means-tested public assistance program because 

of the failure of a household member to perform an action required 

under the assistance program or for fraud, the State agency shall not 

increase the household's food stamp allotment as the result of the 

decrease in income. In addition to prohibiting an increase in food 

stamp benefits, the State agency may impose a penalty on the household 

that represents a percentage of the food stamp allotment that does not 

exceed 25 percent. Reaching a time limit for time-limited benefits, 

having a child that is not eligible because of a family cap, or failure 

to comply with purely procedural requirement such as failure to submit 

a monthly report for the other program or failure to reapply for 

continued assistance under the other program, shall not be considered a 

failure to perform an action required by an assistance program for 

purposes of
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this provision. This provision shall not be applied at the time of 

initial application for assistance. It shall be applied if the person 

was receiving such assistance at the time the reduction was imposed and 

to reductions imposed at the time of application for continued benefits 

if there is no break in participation. The person does not have to be 

certified for food stamps at the time of the failure to perform a 

required action for this provision to apply. Public assistance benefits 

shall be considered reduced if they are decreased, suspended, or 

terminated.

    (1) For purposes of this provision a Federal, State, or local 

``means-tested public assistance program'' shall mean any public or 

assisted housing under Title I of the United States Housing Act of 

1937; any State program funded under part A of Title IV of the Social 

Security Act; any program for the aged, blind, or disabled under Titles 

I, X, XIV, or XVI of the Social Security Act; and State and local 

general assistance as defined in Sec. 271.2 of this chapter. This 

provision must be applied to all applicable cases. If a State agency is 

not successful in obtaining the necessary cooperation from another 

Federal, State or local means-tested welfare or public assistance 

program to enable it to comply with the requirements of this provision, 

the State agency shall not be held responsible for noncompliance as 

long as the State agency has made a good faith effort to obtain the 

information. The State agency, rather than the household, shall be 

responsible for obtaining information about sanctions from other 

programs and changes in those sanctions.

    (2) The prohibition on increasing food stamp benefits applies for 

the duration of the reduction in the assistance program, and shall be 

concurrent with the reduction in the other assistance program to the 

extent allowed by normal food stamp change processing and notice 

procedures.

    (3) The State agency shall determine how to prevent an increase in 

food stamp benefits. Among other options, the State agency may increase 

the assistance grant by a flat percent, not to exceed 25 percent, for 

all households that fail to perform a required action in lieu of 

computing an individual amount or percentage for each affected 

household.

    (4) If the allotment of a household is reduced under Title IV-A of 

the Social Security Act, the State agency may use the same procedures 

that apply under Title IV-A to prevent an increase in food stamp 

benefits as the result of the decrease in Title IV-A benefits. For 

example, the same budgeting procedures and combined notices and 

hearings may be used, but the food stamp allotment may not be reduced 

by more than 25 percent.

    (5) In no event shall the prohibition on increasing food stamp 

benefits apply for longer than 1 year. The State agency may lift the 

ban on increasing food stamp benefits at any time if the person becomes 

ineligible during the disqualification period for some other reason.

    (6) If an individual who fails to perform a required action in a 

State or local assistance program moves within the State, the 

prohibition on increasing benefits shall be applied to the gaining 

household unless that person is ineligible for the assistance program 

for some other reason. If such individual moves to a new State the 

prohibition on increasing benefits shall not be applied. If an 

individual fails to perform a required action in a Federal program, and 

the individual moves, either interstate or intrastate, the State must 

verify the status and continue the disqualification if appropriate.

    (l) Comparable disqualifications. If a disqualification is imposed 

on a member of a household for failure to perform an action required 

under a Federal, State, or local means-tested public assistance 

program, the State agency may impose the same disqualification on the 

member of the household under the Food Stamp Program. The program must 

to be authorized by a Federal, State, or local law, but the provision 

itself does not have to be specified in the law. A State agency may 

choose to apply this provision to one or more of these programs, and it 

may select the types of disqualifications within a program that it 

wants to impose on food stamp recipients. The State agency shall be 

responsible for obtaining information about sanctions from other 

programs and changes in those sanctions.

    (1) For purposes of this section Federal, State, or local ``means-

tested public assistance program'' shall mean any public or assisted 

housing under Title I of the United States Housing Act of 1937; any 

State temporary assistance for needy families funded under part A of 

Title IV of the Social Security Act; any program for the aged, blind, 

or disabled under Titles I, X, XIV, XVI, or XIX of the Social Security 

Act; Medicaid under XX of the Social Security Act; and State and local 

general assistance as defined in Sec. 271.2 of this chapter.

    (2) This provision shall not be applied at the time of initial 

application for public assistance. It shall be applied if the person 

was receiving such assistance at the time the disqualification was 

imposed and to disqualifications imposed at the time of application for 

continued benefits if there is no break in participation with the 

following exceptions. Reaching a time limit for time-limited benefits 

or having a child that is not eligible because of a family cap shall 

not be considered failures to perform an action required by an 

assistance program. In addition, this provision shall not apply to 

purely procedural requirements such as failure to submit a monthly 

report for the other program or failure to reapply for continued 

assistance under the other program. Assistance disqualifications that 

were imposed while the person was receiving assistance and are still in 

effect shall be applied to both food stamp applicants and recipients.

    (3) In no event shall the disqualification be applied for food 

stamp purposes for longer than 1 year. The State agency may stop the 

disqualification at any time if the person becomes ineligible for 

assistance for some other reason.

    (4) If a disqualification is imposed for a failure of an individual 

to perform an action required under a program under Title IV-A of the 

Social Security Act, the State may use the rules and procedures that 

apply under the Title IV-A program to impose the same disqualification 

under the Food Stamp Program.

    (5) Only the individual who committed the violation may be 

disqualified for food stamp purposes even if the entire assistance unit 

is disqualified for Title IV-A purposes.

    (6) A comparable disqualification for food stamp purposes shall be 

imposed concurrently with the disqualification in the assistance 

program to the extent allowed by normal food stamp processing times and 

notice requirements. For example, if the assistance disqualification is 

for June and July, and the State is unable to disqualify the person 

until July for food stamp purposes, the person would only be 

disqualified for July for food stamp purposes.

    (7) If there is a pending disqualification for a food stamp 

violation and a pending comparable disqualification, they shall be 

imposed concurrently to the extent appropriate. For example, if the 

household is disqualified for June for a food stamp violation and an 

individual is disqualified for June and July for an assistance program 

violation, the whole household shall be disqualified for June and the 

individual shall be disqualified for July for food stamp purposes.

    (8) The State agency may choose to count all or only a prorated 

amount of
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the member's income and expenses as available to the household. All of 

the member's resources shall be counted as available to the household.

    (9) After a disqualification period has expired, the person may 

apply for food stamp benefits and shall be treated as a new applicant 

or a new household member, except that a prior disqualification based 

on a food stamp work requirement shall be considered in determining 

eligibility.

    (10) A comparable food stamp disqualification may be imposed in 

addition to any coupon allotment reductions made in accordance with 

paragraph (k) of this section.

    (11) State agencies shall state in their Plan of Operation if they 

have elected to apply comparable disqualifications and indicate the 

options and procedures allowed in paragraphs (l)(1), (l)(2), (l)(3), 

(l)(4), (l)(8), and (l)(10) of this section which they have selected.

    (m) School attendance. (1) A State agency may not apply a food 

stamp sanction to an adult because he or she fails to ensure his or her 

minor children attend school. However, if the benefits of a household 

are reduced under a TANF sanction due to the failure of an adult to 

ensure that his or her minor dependent children attend school as 

required by State law while the children are living with him or her, 

the State agency shall not increase the household's food stamp 

allotment as the result of the decrease in income in accordance with 

paragraph (k) of this section. In addition to prohibiting an increase 

in food stamp benefits, the State agency may impose a penalty on the 

household that represents a percentage of the food stamp allotment that 

does not exceed 25 percent in accordance with paragraph (k) of this 

section. Finally, if a member of a household is disqualified under the 

TANF program for failure to ensure that his or her minor dependent 

children attend school as required by State law while the children are 

living with him or her, the State agency may impose the same 

disqualification on the member of the household under the Food Stamp 

Program in accordance with paragraph (l) of this section.

    (2) A State agency electing to reduce the household's benefits in 

accordance with paragraph (k) of this section or to apply a comparable 

disqualification in accordance with paragraph (l) of this section shall 

so specify in its Plan of Operation. If the member will be 

disqualified, the State agency shall specify in its Plan of Operation 

if all or a prorated share of the income of the disqualified member 

shall be counted as available to the household. All of the disqualified 

member's resources shall be counted as available to the household. If 

the food stamp allotment is to be reduced, the State agency shall 

specify in its Plan of Operation the method of reduction.

    (n) Secondary school diploma. (1) A State agency may not apply a 

food stamp sanction to an adult because he or she is not working 

toward, or does not have, a secondary school diploma or its recognized 

equivalent. However, if the benefits of a household are reduced under a 

TANF sanction because an adult who is older than age 20 and younger 

than age 51 does not have, or is not working toward attaining, a 

secondary school diploma or its recognized equivalent, the State agency 

shall not increase the household's food stamp allotment as the result 

of the decrease in income in accordance with paragraph (k) of this 

section. In addition to prohibiting an increase in food stamp benefits, 

the State agency may impose a penalty on the household that represents 

a percentage of the food stamp allotment that does not exceed 25 

percent in accordance with paragraph (k) of this section. Finally, if a 

member of a household is disqualified under the TANF the State agency 

may impose the same disqualification on the member of the household 

under the Food Stamp Program in accordance with paragraph (l) of this 

section.

    (2) A State agency electing to reduce the household's benefits in 

accordance with paragraph (k) of this section or to apply a comparable 

disqualification in accordance with paragraph (l) of this section shall 

so specify in its Plan of Operation. If the member will be 

disqualified, the State agency shall specify in its Plan of Operation 

if all or a prorated share of the income of the disqualified member 

shall be counted as available to the household. If the food stamp 

allotment is to be reduced, the State agency shall specify in its Plan 

of Operation the method of reduction. All of the disqualified member's 

resources shall be counted as available to the household.

    (o) Individuals convicted of drug-related felonies. An individual 

convicted (under Federal or State law) of any offense which is 

classified as a felony by the law of the jurisdiction involved and 

which has as an element the possession, use, or distribution of a 

controlled substance (as defined in section 102(6) of the Controlled 

Substance Act) shall not be considered an eligible household member 

unless the State legislature of the State where the individual is 

domiciled has enacted legislation exempting individuals domiciled in 

the State from the above exclusion. If the State legislature has 

enacted legislation limiting the period of disqualification, the period 

of ineligibility shall be equal to the length of the period provided 

under such legislation.

    (p) Fleeing felons and probation or parole violators. Individuals 

who are fleeing to avoid prosecution or custody for a crime, or an 

attempt to commit a crime, that would be classified as a felony (or in 

the State of New Jersey, a high misdemeanor) or who are violating a 

condition of probation or parole under a Federal or State law shall not 

be considered eligible household members.

    (q) Custodial parent's cooperation with the State agency. (1) 

Option to disqualify custodial parent for failure to cooperate. At the 

option of a State agency, subject to paragraphs (q)(2) and (q)(4) of 

this section, no natural or adoptive parent or other individual 

(collectively referred to in this paragraph (q) as ``the individual'') 

who is living with and exercising parental control over a child under 

the age of 18 who has an absent parent shall be eligible to participate 

in the Food Stamp Program unless the individual cooperates with the 

State agency and the agency administering a Child Support Enforcement 

program established under Part D of Title IV of the Social Security Act 

(42 U.S.C. 651, et seq.).

    (i) Cooperation in obtaining support.  As a condition of eligibility 

for food stamps, the individual will be required to cooperate with the 

State agency in:

    (A) Identifying and locating the absent parent of the child.

    (B) Establishing the paternity of a child born out of wedlock;

    (C) Obtaining support payments for the child or the individual and 

the child  and

    (D) Obtaining any other payments or property due the child or the 

individual and the child.

    (ii) Cooperation. Cooperation includes any of the following actions 

that are relevant to, or necessary for, the achievement of the 

objectives specified in paragraph (q)(1)(i) of this section:

    (A) Appearing at any office of the State or local agency or the 

child support agency as necessary prior to receipt of benefits (or, if 

necessary for recipients, at recertification) to provide verbal or 

written information, or documentary evidence known to, possessed by, or 

reasonably obtainable by the individual. State agencies shall specify 

the actions, documents and information required of individuals to 

cooperate in achieving the objectives specified in paragraph (q)(1)(i) 

of this section;
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    (B) Appearing as a witness at judicial or other hearings or 

proceedings;

    (C) (1) In the establishment of paternity, providing the name of 

the putative father and sufficient additional information to enable the 

State agency, if reasonable efforts were made, to verify the identity 

of the person named, including such information as the putative 

father's social security number, date of birth, past or present 

address, telephone number, past or present place of employment, past or 

present school attended, names and addresses of parents, friends or 

relatives able to provide location information, or other information 

which could enable service of process on such person.

    (2) The state agency shall establish criteria for determining 

cooperation in cases where the individual cannot reasonably be expected 

to know the required identifying information about the father 

(including, but not limited to, cases where long-term recipients do not 

know the required information due to a lapse of a long period of time 

since contact with the father.)

    (D) Paying to the child support agency any support payments 

received from the absent parent.

    (2) Claiming good cause for noncooperation. Prior to requiring 

cooperation under paragraph (q)(1) of this section, the State agency 

will notify the household in writing of the right to good cause as an 

exception to the cooperation requirement and of all the requirements 

applicable to a good cause determination. Paragraph (q)(1) of this 

section shall not apply to the individual if good cause is found for 

refusing to cooperate, as determined by the State agency.

    (i) Circumstances under which cooperation may be ``against the best 

interests of the child.'' Under circumstances described in either 

paragraph (q)(1)(ii)(A) or (q)(1)(ii)(B) of this section, the 

individual's cooperation would be against the best interests of the 

child and so the individual's failure to cooperate is deemed to be for 

``good cause.''

    (A) The individual's cooperation in establishing paternity, 

security support, or identifying and providing information to assist 

the State agency in pursuing third parties potentially liable for 

medical services is reasonably anticipated to result in:

    (1) Physical harm to the child for whom support is sought;

    (2) Emotional harm to the child for whom support is sought;

    (3) Physical harm to the parent or caretaker relative with whom the 

child is living, of such nature or degree that it would reduce such 

person's capability to care for the child adequately; or

    (4) Emotional harm to the parent or caretaker relative with whom 

the child is living which would reduce such person's capacity to care 

for the child adequately.

    (B) At least one of the following circumstances exists, and the 

State agency believes that, because of the existence of that 

circumstance, proceeding to establish paternity, secure support, or to 

identify and provide information to assist State agencies in pursuing 

third party liability for medical services would be detrimental to the 

child for whom support is sought:

    (1) The child for whom support is sought was conceived as a result 

of incest or forcible rape;

    (2) Legal proceedings for the adoption of the child are pending 

before a court of competent jurisdiction; or

    (3) The individual is currently being assisted by a public or 

licensed private social agency to resolve the issue of whether to keep 

the child or relinquish him or her for adoption, and the discussions 

have not gone on for more than 3 months.

    (ii) Physical harm and emotional harm defined. Physical harm and 

emotional harm must be of a serious nature in order to justify a 

finding of good cause under paragraph (q)(2) of this section. A finding 

of good cause for emotional harm may only be based upon a demonstration 

of an emotional impairment that substantially affects the individual's 

functioning.

    (iii) Special considerations related to emotional harm. For every 

good cause determination which is based in whole or in part upon the 

anticipation of emotional harm to the child, the parent or the 

caretaker relative, as provided for in this section, the State agency 

will consider the following:

    (A) The present emotional state of the individual subject to 

emotional harm;

    (B) The emotional health history of the individual subject to 

emotional harm;

    (C) Intensity and probable duration of the emotional impairment;

    (D) The degree of cooperation to be required; and

    (E) The extent of involvement of the child in the paternity 

establishment, support enforcement activity or collection of 

information to assist the State agency in the pursuit of third parties 

to be undertaken.

    (iv) Proof of good cause claim. (A) The State agency will make a 

good cause determination based on the corroborative evidence supplied 

by the household only after it has examined the evidence and found that 

it actually verifies the good cause claim.

    (B) The individual who claims good cause must provide corroborative 

evidence within 20 days (or whatever time frame the State Agency 

employs under Title IV, Part A, of the Social Security Act) from the 

day the claim was made. In exceptional cases where the State agency 

determines the applicant or recipient requires additional time because 

of the difficulty of obtaining the corroborative evidence, the agency 

shall allow a reasonable additional period of time upon approval by 

supervisory personnel.

    (C) A good cause claim may be corroborated with the types of 

evidence chosen by the State agency.

    (D) Where a claim is based on the individual's anticipation of 

physical harm and corroborative evidence is not submitted in support of 

the claim:

    (1) The State agency will investigate the good cause claim when the 

agency believes that the claim is credible without corroborative 

evidence and corroborative evidence is not available.

    (2) Good cause will be found if the claimant's statement and the 

investigation satisfy the agency that the individual has good cause for 

refusing to cooperate.

    (E) A determination that good cause exists will be recorded in the 

case file.

    (v) Review by the Child Support Enforcement Program agency. Prior 

to making a final determination of good cause for refusing to 

cooperate, the State agency will afford the Child Support Enforcement 

Program agency the opportunity to review and comment on the findings 

and the basis for the proposed determination and consider any 

recommendation from the Child Support Enforcement Program agency.

    (vi) Delayed finding of good cause. The State agency will not deny, 

delay, or discontinue assistance pending a determination of good cause 

for refusal to cooperate if the applicant or recipient has complied 

with the requirements to furnish corroborative evidence and 

information.

    (3) Individual disqualification. If the State agency has elected to 

implement this provision and determines that the custodial parent has 

not cooperated without good cause, then that individual shall be 

ineligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program. The 

disqualification shall not apply to the entire household. The income 

and resources of the disqualified individual shall be handled to the 

extent specified in paragraph (c)(1) or (c)(2) of this section, 

depending on how the State agency opts to do it.
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    (4) Fees. A State electing to implement this provision shall not 

require the payment of a fee or other cost for services provided under 

Part D of Title IV of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 651, et seq.)

    (5) The period of disqualification ends once it has been determined 

that the individual is cooperating with the child support agency. The 

state agency must have procedures in place for re-qualifying such an 

individual.

    (r) Non-custodial parent's cooperation with child support agencies. 

(1) Option to disqualify non-custodial parent for failure to cooperate. 

At the option of a State agency, subject to paragraphs (r)(2) and 

(r)(4) of this section, a putative or identified non-custodial parent 

of a child under the age of 18 (referred to in this subsection as ``the 

individual'') shall not be eligible to participate in the Food Stamp 

Program if the individual refuses to cooperate with the State agency 

administering the program established under Part D of Title IV of the 

Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 651, et. seq.):

    (i) In establishing the paternity of the child (if the child is 

born out of wedlock); and

    (ii) In providing support for the child.

    (2) Guidelines for refusal to cooperate. Refusal to cooperate 

includes:

    (i) Refusal to appear for an interview;

    (ii) Refusal to furnish requested documentation;

    (iii) Refusal to cooperate with DNA testing; or

    (iv) Failing to make payments to the Child Support Enforcement 

agency.

    (3) Individual disqualification. If the State agency has elected to 

implement this provision and determines that the non-custodial parent 

has failed to cooperate, then that individual shall be ineligible to 

participate in the Food Stamp Program. The disqualification shall not 

apply to the entire household. The income and resources of the 

disqualified individual shall be handled to the extent specified in 

paragraph (c)(1) or (c)(2) of this section depending on how the State 

agency opts to do it.

    (4) Fees. A State electing to implement this provision shall not 

require the payment of a fee or other cost for services provided under 

Part D of Title IV of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 651, et seq.)

    (5) Privacy. The State agency shall provide safeguards to restrict 

the use of information collected by a State agency administering the 

program established under Part D of Title IV of the Social Security Act 

(42 U.S.C. 651, et seq.) to purposes for which the information is 

collected.

    (6) The period of disqualification ends once it has been determined 

that the individual is cooperating with the child support agency. The 

State agency must have procedures in place for re-qualifying such an 

individual.

    (s) Disqualification for child support arrears. (1) Option to 

disqualify. At the option of a State agency, no individualshall be 

eligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program as a member of any 

household during any month that the individual is delinquent in any 

payment due under a court order for the support of a child of the 

individual.

    (2) Exceptions. A disqualification under paragraph (s)(1) of this 

section shall not apply if:

    (i) A court is allowing the individual to delay payment; or

    (ii) The individual is complying with a payment plan approved by a 

court or the State agency designated under Part D of Title IV of the 

Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 651, et seq.) to provide support of a 

Child of the individual.

    (3) Individual disqualification. If the State agency has elected to 

implement this provision and determines that the individual should be 

disqualified for child support arrears, then that individual shall be 

ineligible to participate in the Food Stamp Program. The 

disqualification shall not apply to the entire household. The income 

and resources of the disqualified individual shall be handled to the 

extent specified in paragraph (c)(1) or (c)(2) of this section, 

depending on how the State agency opts to do it.

    (4) Collecting claims. State agencies shall initiate collection 

action as provided for in Sec. 273.18 for any month a household member 

is disqualified for child support arrears by sending the household a 

written demand letter which informs the household of the amount owed, 

the reason for the claim and how the household may pay the claim. The 

household should also be informed as to the adjusted amount of income, 

resources, and deductible expenses of the remaining members of the 

household for the month(s) a member is disqualified for child support 

arrears.

    8. In section 273.12, a new paragraph (a)(1)(vii) is added as 

follows:

Sec. 273.12 Reporting changes.

    (a) Household responsibility to report. * * *

    (1) * * *

    (vii) For able-bodied adults subject to the time limit of 

Sec. 273.24, any changes in work hours that bring an individual below 

20 hours per week, averaged monthly.

* * * * *

    9. Section 273.16 is revised to read as follows.

Sec. 273.16  Disqualification for intentional program violation.

    (a) Administrative responsibility. Each State agency shall be 

responsible for effectively and efficiently:

    (1) Investigating instances of alleged intentional Program 

violation (IPV) and ensuring that appropriate cases are timely acted 

upon in accordance with the procedures outlined in this section;

    (2) Establishing and/or utilizing a system to determine whether an 

individual has committed an IPV and therefore warrants disqualification 

from the Program. This may be through administrative and/or judiciary 

means, or a combination of both; and

    (3) Disqualifying an individual from participation in the Program, 

where appropriate, in accordance with the procedures outlined in this 

section.

    (b) Definition of an IPV. (1) An IPV occurs when an individual 

intentionally either makes a false or misleading statement, or 

misrepresents, conceals or withholds facts or commits any act that 

constitutes a violation of the Food Stamp Act, the Food Stamp Program 

Regulations, or any State statute relating to the use, presentation, 

transfer, acquisition, receipt, possession or trafficking of coupons, 

authorization cards or reusable documents used as part of an automated 

benefit delivery system (access device).

    (2) The determination of an IPV shall be based on clear and 

convincing evidence which demonstrates that the individual committed, 

or intended to commit, the violation.

    (c) Disqualification penalties. (1) An individual found to have 

committed an IPV either through an administrative disqualification 

hearing (ADH) or by a Federal, State or local court, or who has signed 

either a waiver of his right to an ADH or a disqualification consent 

agreement in cases referred for prosecution, shall be ineligible to 

participate in the Program:

    (i) For a period of one year for the first IPV, except as provided 

under paragraphs (c)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4) and (c)(5) of this section;

    (ii) For a period of two years upon the second occasion of any IPV, 

except as provided in paragraphs (c)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4) and (c)(5) of 

this section; and

    (iii) Permanently for the third occasion of any IPV.

    (2) Except as provided under paragraph (c)(1)(iii) of this section, 

an individual found by a Federal, State or local court to have used or 

received coupons in a transaction involving the sale of a controlled 

substance (as
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defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 

802)) shall be ineligible to participate in the Program:

    (i) For a period of two years upon the first occasion of such 

violation; and

    (ii) Permanently upon the second occasion of such violation.

    (3) An individual found by a Federal, State or local court to have 

used or received coupons in a transaction involving the sale of 

firearms, ammunition or explosives shall be permanently ineligible to 

participate in the Program upon the first occasion of such violation.

    (4) An individual found by a Federal, State or local court to have 

trafficked benefits for an aggregate amount of $500 or more shall be 

permanently ineligible to participate in the Program upon the first 

occasion of such violation.

    (5) Except as provided under paragraph (c)(1)(iii) of this section, 

an individual found to have made a fraudulent statement or 

representation with respect to the identity or place of residence of 

the individual in order to receive multiple food stamp benefits 

simultaneously shall be ineligible to participate in the Program for a 

period of 10 years.

    (6) The penalties in paragraphs (c)(2), (c)(3) and (c)(4) of this 

section may also apply in cases of deferred adjudication as described 

in paragraph (d)(4) of this section, where the court makes a finding 

that the individual engaged in the conduct described in paragraph 

(c)(2), (c)(3) or (c)(4) of this section.

    (7) If a court fails to impose a disqualification or a 

disqualification period for any IPV, the State agency shall impose the 

appropriate disqualification penalty specified in paragraph (c) of this 

section unless it is contrary to the court order.

    (8) State agencies shall disqualify only the individual found to 

have committed the IPV, or who signed the waiver of the right to an 

administrative disqualification hearing or disqualification consent 

agreement in cases referred for prosecution, and not the entire 

household.

    (9) Even though only the individual is disqualified, the household 

is responsible for making restitution for the amount of any 

overpayment. All IPV claims shall be established and collected in 

accordance with the procedures set forth in Sec. 273.18.

    (10) The household shall be notified when it applies for benefits 

of the disqualification penalties if an individual intentionally 

violates the rules of the Program.

    (11) The individual shall be notified in writing once it is 

determined that he/she is to be disqualified. The disqualification 

period shall begin no later than the second month which follows the 

<strong>date</strong> the individual receives written notice of the disqualification. 

The disqualification period shall continue uninterrupted until 

completed regardless of the eligibility of the disqualified 

individual's household.

    (d) Bases for disqualification. (1) Administrative disqualification 

hearing (ADH). (i) Definition. An ADH is a hearing undertaken in a non-

judicial setting to determine whether an individual committed an IPV. 

This is one of two administrative State agency options for making this 

determination.

    (ii) ADHs and fair hearings. (A) The State agency may combine a 

fair hearing with an ADH if the factual issues arise out of the same, 

or related circumstances.

    (B) If the amount of the claim is determined at an ADH, the 

individual's household shall lose its right to a subsequent fair 

hearing on the amount of the claim.

    (iii) Advance notice of hearing. (A) The State agency shall provide 

written notice to the individual suspected of committing an IPV at 

least 30 days in advance of the date an ADH has been scheduled.

    (B) The notice shall contain at a minimum:

    (1) The date, time, and place of the hearing;

    (2) The charge(s) against the individual;

    (3) A summary of the evidence, and how and where the evidence can 

be examined;

    (4) A warning that the decision will be based solely on information 

provided by the State agency if the individual fails to appear at the 

hearing;

    (5) A statement that the individual or representative will, upon 

receipt of the notice, have a specified number of days from the date of 

the scheduled hearing to present good cause for failure to appear in 

order to receive a new hearing;

    (6) A warning that a determination of IPV will result in 

disqualification periods as determined by paragraph (c) of this 

section, and a statement of which penalty the State agency believes is 

applicable to the case scheduled for a hearing;

    (7) A listing of the individual's rights;

    (8) A statement that the hearing does not preclude the State or 

Federal Government from prosecuting the individual for the IPV in a 

civil or criminal court action, or from collecting any overissuance(s); 

and

    (9) If there is an individual or organization available that 

provides free legal representation, the notice shall advise the 

affected individual of the availability of the service.

    (iv) Program participation while awaiting a hearing. A pending ADH 

or a pending ADH decision shall not affect the individual's or the 

household's right to be certified and participate in the Program.

    (v) Conducting the ADH. The State agency shall establish its own 

procedures for conducting an ADH incorporating the requirements in this 

section.

    (vi) Written notification and time frame for a decision. The State 

agency shall provide written notification of its decision to the 

individual within 180 days after the discovery of the suspected 

violation or within 60 days of the date of the hearing, whichever is 

sooner.

    (vii) Local-level ADHs. The State agency may choose to provide ADHs 

at the local level in some or all of its project areas with a right to 

appeal to a State-level hearing. If the household or the State agency 

wishes to appeal a local-level hearing decision, the appeal request 

must be filed within 15 days of the local-level hearing decision 

notice.

    (viii) Appeal of a State-level ADH. The State-level decision shall 

be binding on the State agency. Also, no further administrative appeal 

procedure exists for the affected individual after an adverse State-

level ADH. The individual, however, is entitled to seek relief in a 

court having appropriate jurisdiction.

    (2) Waived ADHs. (i) State agency option and establishing 

procedures. A State agency may allow an accused individual to waive 

his/her right to an ADH in exchange for serving a disqualification 

period without necessarily admitting guilt. For a State agency which 

chooses this option, the procedures established shall conform with the 

requirements outlined in this section.

    (ii) Waiver requirements. (A) The State agency shall develop its 

own waiver form and provide written notification to the individual 

suspected of IPV that he/she can waive his/her right to an ADH.

    (B) The waiver/written notification shall clearly inform the 

individual that once the individual signs the waiver, he/she shall be 

disqualified from the Program in accordance with paragraph (c) of this 

section. A signed waiver shall have the same effect as a finding made 

after an ADH.

    (iii) Appeal of a signed waiver. No further administrative appeal 

procedure shall be made available to the affected individual after he/

she signs the waiver to the ADH. The individual, however, is
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entitled to seek relief in a court having appropriate jurisdiction.

    (3) Court referrals. A State agency may seek a determination of IPV 

and subsequent disqualification by referring appropriate cases for 

prosecution in a court of appropriate jurisdiction. This is one of two 

judicial State agency options for making this determination. The State 

agency shall establish procedures to determine the types of cases to be 

referred for prosecution.

    (4) Deferred adjudication. (i) State agency option and establishing 

procedures. A State agency may allow an accused individual to sign a 

disqualification consent agreement for cases of deferred adjudication. 

For a State agency which chooses this option, the procedures 

established shall conform with the requirements outlined in this 

section.

    (ii) Written agreement. The State agency shall develop its own 

disqualification consent agreement and provide written notification to 

the accused individual of the consequences of consenting to a 

disqualification (as defined in paragraph (c) of this section) as part 

of a deferred adjudication.

    (5) Conducting both a court action and an ADH. State agencies may:

    (i) Simultaneously begin and/or conduct an ADH and court action and 

may proceed with a court action whether or not a violation has been 

determined by the ADH; and

    (ii) Conduct and make a determination based on an ADH for any case 

for which the court has not already returned a verdict.

    (e) Reporting requirements. (1) Each State agency shall report to 

FNS information concerning individuals disqualified for IPV, including 

those individuals disqualified based on the determination of an 

administrative disqualification hearing official or a court of 

appropriate jurisdiction and those individuals disqualified as a result 

of signing either a waiver of right to a disqualification hearing or a 

disqualification consent agreement in cases referred for prosecution. 

This information shall be submitted to FNS so that it is received no 

later than 30 days after the date the disqualification has taken 

effect.

    (2) Each State agency shall report information concerning each 

individual disqualified for IPV in a format designed by FNS. The format 

shall include the individual's social security number, date of birth, 

and full name, the number of the disqualification (1st, 2nd or 3rd), 

the State and county in which the disqualification took place, the date 

on which the disqualification took effect, and the length of the 

disqualification period imposed.

    (3) Each State agency shall submit the required information on each 

individual disqualified for IPV through a reporting system in 

accordance with procedures specified by FNS.

    (4) All data submitted by State agencies will be available for use 

by any State welfare agency.

    (i) State agencies shall, at a minimum, use the data for the 

following:

    (A) To determine the eligibility of individual Program applicants 

prior to certification in cases where the State agency has reason to 

believe a household member is subject to disqualification in another 

political jurisdiction, and

    (B) To ascertain the appropriate penalty to impose, based on past 

disqualifications, in a case under consideration.

    (ii) State agencies may also use the data in other ways, such as 

the following:

    (A) To screen all Program applicants prior to certification, and

    (B) To periodically match the entire list of disqualified 

individuals against their current caseloads.

    (5) The disqualification of an individual for IPV in one political 

jurisdiction shall be valid in another.

    (6) In cases where the disqualification for IPV is reversed by a 

court of appropriate jurisdiction, the State agency shall submit a 

report to purge the file of the information relating to the 

disqualification which was reversed in accordance with instructions 

provided by FNS.

    (f) Reversed disqualifications. In cases where the determination of 

IPV is reversed by a court of appropriate jurisdiction, the State 

agency shall reinstate the individual in the Program if the household 

is eligible. The State agency shall restore benefits that were lost as 

a result of the disqualification in accordance with the procedures 

specified in Sec. 273.17.

    10. A new Sec. 273.25 is added to read as follows:

Sec. 273.25  Time limit for able-bodied adults.

    (a) Definitions. For purposes of the food stamp time limit, the 

terms below have the following meanings.

    (1) Fulfilling the work requirement means:

    (i) Working 20 hours per week, averaged monthly; for purposes of 

this provision, 20 hours a week averaged monthly means 80 hours a 

month;

    (ii) Participating in and complying with the requirements of a work 

program 20 hours per week, as determined by the State agency;

    (iii) Working and participating in a work program for a total of 20 

hours per week, as determined by the State agency; or

    (iv) Participating in and complying with a workfare program.

    (2) Working means:

    (i) Work in exchange for money;

    (ii) work in exchange for goods or services (``in kind'' work); or

    (iii) Unpaid work under standards established by the State agency.

    (3) Work Program means:

    (i) A program under the Workforce Investment Act (Pub.L. 105-220);

    (ii) A program under section 236 of the Trade Act of 1974 (19 

U.S.C. 2296); or

    (iii) An employment and training program, other than a job search 

or job search training program, operated or supervised by a State or 

political subdivision of a State that meets standards approved by the 

Governor of the State, including a program under Sec. 273.7(f). Such a 

program may contain job search or job search training as a subsidiary 

component as long as such component is less than half the requirement.

    (4) Workfare program means:

    (i) A program under Sec. 273.22; or

    (ii) A comparable program established by a State or political 

subdivision of a State.

    (b) General Rule. Individuals are not eligible to participate in 

the Food Stamp Program as a member of any household if the individual 

received food stamps for more than three countable months during any 

three-year period, except that individuals may be eligible for up to 

three additional countable months in accordance with paragraph (e) of 

this section.

    (1) Countable months. Countable months are months during which an 

individual receives food stamps for the full benefit month while not 

either:

    (i) Exempt under paragraph (c) of this section;

    (ii) Covered by a waiver under paragraph (f) of this section; or

    (iii) Fulfilling the work requirement as defined in paragraph 

(a)(1) of this section.

    (2) Good cause. As determined by the State agency, if an individual 

would have worked an average of 20 hours per week but missed some work 

for good cause, the individual shall be considered to have met the work 

requirement if the absence from work is temporary and the individual 

retains his or her job.

    (3) Measuring the three-year period. The three-year period may be 

measured and tracked as the State agency deems appropriate; except 

that, with respect to a State, the three-year period:
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    (i) Shall be measured and tracked consistently so that individuals 

who are similarly situated be treated the same; and

    (ii) Shall not include any period before the earlier of November 

22, 1996, or the date the State notified food stamp recipients of the 

application of Section 824 of the Personal Responsibility and Work 

Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Pub. L. 104-193).

    (4) Treatment of income and resources. The income and resources of 

an individual made ineligible under this paragraph shall be handled in 

accordance with Sec. 273.11(c)(2).

    (5) Benefits received erroneously. If an individual subject to this 

section receives food stamp benefits erroneously, the State agency may 

opt to consider the benefits to have been received unless or until they 

are repaid in full.

    (6) Verification. Verification shall be in accordance with 

(273.2(f)(1) and (f)(8).

    (7) Reporting. A change in work hours below 20 hours per week, 

averaged monthly, is a reportable change in accordance with 

Sec. 27312 a)(1)(vii). Work performed in a job that was not reported 

according to the requirements of Sec. 273.12 shall be considered 

``work'' for purposes of this provision.

    (8) Applicability of Food Stamp Act. Nothing in this paragraph 

shall make an individual eligible for food stamp benefits if the 

individual is not otherwise eligible for benefits under the other 

provisions of these regulations and the Food Stamp Act of 1977, as 

amended.

    (c) Exemptions. An individual is exempt from the time limit if he 

or she is

    (1) Under 18 or older than 50 years of age;

    (2) Determined by the State agency to be medically certified as 

physically or mentally unfit for employment. An individual is medically 

certified as physically or mentally unfit for employment if he or she:

    (i) Is receiving temporary or permanent disability benefits issued 

by governmental or private sources; or

    (ii) Provides a statement from a physician or a licensed or 

certified psychologist that he or she is physically or mentally unfit 

for employment.

    (3) Is a parent (natural, adoptive, or step) of a household member 

under age 18;

    (4) Is residing in a household where a household member is under 

age 18;

    (5) Is otherwise exempt from work requirements under section 

6(d)(2) of the Food Stamp Act, as implemented in regulations at 

Sec. 273.7(b); or

    (6) Is pregnant.

    (d) Regaining eligibility.

    (1) An individual denied eligibility under paragraph (b) of this 

section shall regain eligibility to participate in the Food Stamp 

Program if, as determined by the State agency, during any 30 

consecutive days, he or she:

    (i) Worked 80 or more hours;

    (ii) Participated in and complied with the requirements of a work 

program for 80 or more hours;

    (iii) Worked and participated in a work program for a total of 80 

hours; or

    (iv) Participated in and complied with a workfare program.

    (2) An individual regaining eligibility under paragraph (d)(1) of 

this section shall have benefits calculated as follows:

    (i) For individuals regaining eligibility by working, participating 

in a work program, or combining hours worked and hours participating in 

a work program, the State agency may either prorate benefits from the 

day the 80 hours are completed or from the date of application.

    (ii) For individuals regaining eligibility by participating in a 

workfare program, and the workfare obligation is based on an estimated 

monthly allotment prorated back to the date of application, then the 

allotment issued must be prorated back to this date.

    (e) Additional three-month eligibility. An individual who regained 

eligibility under paragraph (d) of this section and who is no longer 

fulfilling the work requirement as defined in paragraph (a) of this 

section is eligible for a period of three consecutive countable months 

(as defined in paragraph (b) of this section), starting on the date the 

individual first notifies the State agency that he or she is no longer 

fulfilling the work requirement, unless the individual has been 

satisfying the work requirement by participating in a work or workfare 

program, in which case the period starts on the date the State agency 

notifies the individual that he or she is no longer meeting the work 

requirement. An individual shall not receive benefits under this 

paragraph (e) more than once in any three-year period.

    (f) Waivers. (1) General. On the request of a State agency, the FNS 

may waive the time limit for a group of individuals in the State if FNS 

determines that the area in which the individuals reside:

    (i) Has an unemployment rate of over 10 percent; or

    (ii) Does not have a sufficient number of jobs to provide 

employment for the individuals.

    (2) Required data. In developing unemployment rates or labor force 

data to support waiver requests, States shall use standard Bureau of 

Labor Statistics (BLS) data or methods.

    (3) Effective date of certain waivers. In areas for which the State 

certifies that data from BLS show an unemployment rate above 10 

percent, the State may begin to operate the waiver at the time the 

waiver request is submitted. FNS will contact the State if the waiver 

must be modified.

    (4) Duration of waiver. In general, waivers will not be approved 

for more than one year, and the duration of a waiver should bear some 

relationship to the documentation provided in support of the waiver 

request. FNS will consider approving waivers for up to one year based 

on documentation covering a shorter period, but the State must show 

that the basis for the waiver is not a seasonal or short term 

aberration.

    (5) Areas covered by waivers. States may define areas to be covered 

by waivers, but the data and analysis used to support the waiver must 

correspond to the defined area.

    Dated: November 30, 1999.

Shirley R. Watkins,

Under Secretary, Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services.
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