< Back to Search

Webinar on Regulation Rollout: Computerized Tribal IV-D Systems and Office Automation

TDCL-10-03

Published: April 16, 2010
Information About:
Tribal Child Support Agencies
Topics:
Funding, Federal Financial Participation (FFP), State Systems, Advance Planning Documents (APD)
Types:
Policy, Dear Colleague Letters (DCL), Tribal Policy

DATE: April 16, 2010

TO: Tribal IV-D and Start-up Program Directors

RE: Webinar on Regulation Rollout: Computerized Tribal IV-D Systems and Office Automation

Dear Tribal IV-D Director:

The Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) recently completed two sessions – a meeting in Dallas, Texas on March 23, 2010; and a webinar on March 26, 2010 that substituted for a meeting in Denver, Colorado, cancelled due to snow – to discuss the Final Rule: Computerized Tribal IV-D Systems and Office Automation.

The final rule allows for federal financial participation (FFP) in the costs of installing, operating, maintaining, and enhancing automated processing systems for comprehensive tribal child support enforcement programs in accordance with section 455(f) of the Social Security Act. You can view the final rule published on February 25, 2010 in the Federal Register by clicking on this link: http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/2010/pdf/2010-3572.pdf (107.39KB Adobe PDF)

Several tribes requested that we schedule another webinar, so this is your invitation. In addition to providing a summary of the final rule, this webinar will include training on how to prepare the grant funding application for tribal systems expenditures, called a tribal Advance Planning Document (APD).

Webinar Information
Date: Tuesday, April 27, 2010
Time: 1:00 p.m. EDT (12:00 p.m. CDT; 11:00 a.m. MDT; and 10:00 a.m. PDT)

Webinar Registration

To help us ensure a sufficient number of lines for all participants and distribute any webinar materials, we ask that you register to participate by Thursday, April 22, 2010.

Upcoming Face-to-Face Opportunity
OCSE staff has also been invited to participate in the National Tribal Child Support Conference in Mescalero, New Mexico on July 25-29, 2010, where we will address the final rule and provide training on how to secure federal funding for tribal automation. This meeting will provide tribal staff with another opportunity to interact face to face with OCSE staff on this issue.

Please contact Robin Rushton at (202) 690-1244 if you have any questions.

Thank you for your efforts to improve the lives of children and families. This is an exciting time, and I look forward to your participation in the webinar.

Sincerely,

Vicki Turetsky
Commissioner
Office of Child Support Enforcement

cc: Tribal Leaders
ACF OCSE Regional Program Managers