FYSB Grantees to Be Honored as 'Champions of Change'

Representatives from seven Family and Youth Services Bureau grantee organizations will be honored at the White House today during a “Champions of Change” event on youth homelessness. All seven hold Runaway and Homeless Youth Program grants from FYSB:

  • Sherilyn Adams, executive director of Larkin Street Youth Services in San Francisco
  • Tim Baack, executive vice president of Pathfinders in Milwaukee, WI
  • Steve Bewsey, director of housing and homelessness services for youth at LifeWorks in Austin, TX
  • Paul Hamann, president and CEO of The Night Ministry in Chicago
  • Sparky Harlan, CEO of the Bill Wilson Center in Santa Clara, CA
  • Deborah Shore,founder and executive director of Sasha Bruce Youthwork in Washington, DC
  • Carl Siciliano, executive director of the Ali Forney Center in New York

“We couldn’t be more proud of these grantees,” says Curtis O. Porter, director of FYSB’s Runaway and Homeless Youth program. “Their work embodies the Bureau’s commitment to ending youth homelessness. These are some of our most successful programs, and they deserve the recognition.”

A total of 13 youth workers will be honored at the event, a collaborative effort between the U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness, the White House Office of Public Engagement, the Department of Health and Human Services, and the Department of Housing and Urban Development. It is meant to call attention to the council’s goal of ending youth homelessness by 2020.

The honorees will take part in a panel discussion with White House officials to highlight the work they are doing, and will also be featured on the White House’s Champions of Change website.