OCC To Co-host Webinar on What Early Care and Education Providers Should Know About the Affordable Care Act

More than 1 million home and center-based teachers and caregivers who currently do not have health insurance may be impacted by new health insurance opportunities made possible by the Affordable Care Act (ACA).  A healthy individual caring for young children is an important aspect of children’s ability to develop, learn, and thrive.  Health insurance and access to care can provide parents, family members, and early care and education providers with health security and peace of mind that allows better support of child learning and exploration. 

In partnership with the Head Start National Center on Health and Healthy Child Care America at the American Academy of Pediatrics, National Association for the Education of Young Children, National Association of Family Child Care, National Head Start Association, and Child Care Aware, the Administration for Children and Families (ACF) Offices of Child Care, Head Start, and the Chief Medical Officer are hosting a 90 minute webinar on the ACA for early care and education providers.  The webinar will discuss tax and employer provisions that may affect providers, information on the Health Insurance Marketplace, and the role that early care and education providers can play in raising awareness about ACA and the Health Insurance Marketplace.

When?

Tuesday, December 17, 2013
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM Pacific
11:00 AM - 12:30 PM Mountain
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM Central
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM Eastern

Who Should Participate?

  • Child Care Center Directors and Staff
  • Family Child Care Home Providers
  • Head Start Directors, Program Managers, Staff

How to Register

To register for the webinar please visit the Registration Page and fill out the registration form. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with information about joining the webinar.

Presenter Information

Dr. George L. Askew, Chief Medical Officer, ACF, will conduct the presentation and representatives from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid, the Small Business Administration, and the Internal Revenue Service will be on hand to answer questions including those specific to the tax and employer provisions of the law.

For additional information on early care and education and ACA, please visit The Affordable Care Act: What It Means for Children, Families, and Early Childhood Programs.  Other resources include the following: Health Care and Small Businesses, Affordable Care Act Tax Provisions, and Health Insurance Marketplace.