< Back to Search

CSBG IM No. 39 Unified State Plan Block Appropriation and Allocations

Published: May 31, 2000
Audience:
Community Services Block Grants (CSBG)
Category:
Guidance, Policies, Procedures, Information Memorandums (IM)

 

 

TO: COMMUNITY SERVICES BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM DIRECTORS

SUBJECT: Programs Authorized Under the Workforce Investment Act: Unified State Plan

RELATED REFERENCES: The Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (WIA), Section 501, and the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Applied Technology Amendments Act (Perkins III)

PURPOSE: To transmit an updated list of WIA contacts identified within each State and Territory. This information is provided for your use should you need to communicate questions or suggestions relative to the promotion of training and employment outcomes for individuals served under WIA.

INQUIRIES TO:

Comments and inquires may be sent to:
Brandy RayNor-Hill, Program Manager
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families
Office of Community Services
Division of State Assistance
370 L'Enfant Promenade,S.W.
Washington, DC 20447
Telephone (202) 205-5926
 

LISTING OF STATE WIA CONTACTS

Alabama
Mr. Dewayne Freeman, Director
Alabama Department of Economic and
Community Affairs
401 Adams Avenue
P.O. Box 5690
Montgomery, Alabama 66103-5690
Phone: (334) 242-8672
Fax: (334) 242-5099
Email: Dewaynef@Adeca.state.al.us

Alaska
Mr. Mike Andrews, Executive Director
AHRIC
3601 C Street, Suite 380
Anchorage, Alaska 99503
Phone: (907) 269-7485
Fax: ( 907) 269-7489
Email: Mike_Andrews@gov.state.ak.us

American Samoa
Mr. Ali'imau H. Scanlan, Jr.
Director
Department of Commerce
American Samoa Government
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799

Arizona
Ms. C. Diane Bishop, Director
Office of Workforce Development Policy
Arizona Department of Commerce
3800 North Central Avenue - Building D
Phoenix, Arizona 85012
Phone: (602) 280-8130
Fax: (602) 280-8139
Email: cdianeb@ep.state.az.us
   
Arkansas
Dr. Stephen Franks, Director
Arkansas Department of Workforce
Education
#3 Capitol Mall
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone : (501) 682-1510
Fax: (501-682-1509
Email: Steve.Franks@mail.state.ar.us

California
Mr. Michael Bernick, Director
Employment Development Department
P.O. Box 826880, MIC 83
Sacramento, California 94280-001
Phone: (916) 654-8210
Fax: (916) 657-5294
Email: mbernick@edd.ca.gov

Colorado
Mr. Clark Bolser, Executive Director
Colorado Workforce Coordinating Council
Office of the Governor
1580 Logan, Suite 410
Denver, Colorado 80203
Phone: (303) 894-2077
Fax: (303) 894-2064
Email: clark.bolser@state.co.us

Connecticut
Ms. Susan G. Townsley
Deputy Commissioner
Connecticut Labor Department
200 Folly Brook Boulevard
Wethersfield, Connecticut 06109
Phone: (860) 263-6515
Fax: (860) 263-6529
Email: susan.townsley@po.state.ct.us
 
Delaware
Ms. Lynn Howard
Policy Advisor for Family Services
820 French Street
Wilmington, Delaware 19801
Phone: (302) 577-3210
Fax: (302) 577-3118
Email: lhoward@state.de.us

The Honorable Lisa Blunt-Bradley
Secretary of Labor
4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, Delaware 19802
Phone: (302) 761-8000
Fax: (302) 761-6621
Email:

District of Columbia
Gregory Irish, Director
DC Department of Employment Services
500 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 724-7185
Fax: (202) 724-7112
Email: des15@erols.com

Florida
Ms. Lois A. Scott
Director of Jobs and Benefits
Department of Labor and Employment Security
1320 Executive Center Drive
Room 300 Atkins Building
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0667
Phone: (850) 488-7225
Fax: (805) 487-1753
Email: lois_scott@jb.fdles.state.fl.us

Georgia
Commissioner Michael Thurmond
Geogia Department of Labor
148 International Blvd. N.E., Suite 600
Sussex Place
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Phone: (404) 656-3011
Fax: (404) 656-2683
Email: commissioner@dol.state.ga.us

Mr. Milton Martin
Deputy Commissioner
Georgia Department of Labor
148 International Blvd. N.E., Suite 600
Sussex Place
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-1751
Phone: (404) 657-8242
Fax: (404) 656-2683
Email: mmartin@dol.state.ga.us

Guam
Mr. James H. Underwood
Acting Director
Department of Labor
P.O. Box U
Agana, Guam 96932
Phone: (671) 647-7076
Fax: (671) 647-7063
Email: onestop@ns.gov.gu

Hawaii
Ms. Lorraine H. Akiba, Director
Department of Labor and Industrial
Relations
830 Punchbowl Street, Room 321
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Phone : (808) 586-8844
Fax : (808) 586-9099
Email:

Idaho
Ms. Tana Shillingstad
Office of The Governor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0034
Phone: (208) 334-2100
Fax: (208) 334-3454
Email: tshillin@gov.state.id.us

Illinois
Mr. Herbert D. Dennis, Manager
Job Training Division
Department of Commerce and
Community Affairs
620 East Adams, 4th Floor
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Phone: (217) 785-6006
Fax: (217) 785-6454
Email: hdennis@commerce.state.il.us

Dr. Hazel Loucks
Deputy Governor of Education
Statehouse, Room 204
Springfield, Illinois 62706
Phone: (217) 524-1423
Fax: (217) 557-1733
Email: hazel_loucks@gov.state.il.us

Indiana
Mr. Craig Hartzer, Commissioner
Department of Workforce Development
10 North Senate Avenue
Indiana Government Center
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Phone: (317) 233-5661
Fax: (317) 233-1670
Email: chartzer@dwd.state.in.us
 
Iowa
Mr. Richard V. Running
Iowa Workforce Development
1000 East Grand Ave.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
Phone: (515) 281-5365
Fax: (515) 281-4698
Email: Richard.Running@iwd.state.ia.us

Kansas
Ms. Heather M. Whitley, Director
Division of Employment and Training
Kansas Department of Human Resources
512 SW 6th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3174
Phone: (785) 296-7874
Fax: (785) 296-5112
Email: hwhitley@hr.state.ks.us

Kentucky
Mr. Allen D. Rose, Secretary
Cabinet for Workforce Development
Capital Plaza, Tower, 2nd Floor
500 Mero Street
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Phone: (502) 564-6606
Fax: (502) 564-2289
Email: allend.rose@mail.state.ky.us

Louisiana
Ms. Sujuan Boutte, Assistant Secretary
Office of Labor
State Department of Labor
1001 North 23rd Street
P.O. Box 94094
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9094
Phone: (225) 342-7693
Fax: (225) 342-7960
Email: sboutte@ldol.state.la.us

Maine
Commissioner Valerie R. Landry
20 Union Street
P.O. Box 309
Augusta, Maine 04332-0309
Phone : (207) 287-3788
Fax : ( 207) 287-5292
Email: Valerie.R.Landry@state.me.us

Maryland
Mr. Stephen Crawford, Executive Director
Governor's Workforce Investment Board
1414 Key Highway, 2nd Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21230
Phone : (410) 333-4454
Fax: (410) 333-4467
Email: scrawford.gwib@erols.com

Massachusetts
Mr. Angelo R. Buonopane, Director
Massachusetts Department of Labor &
Workforce Development
One Ashburton Place, Room 1402
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
Phone : (617) 727-6573
Fax: (617) 727-1090
Email: angelo.buonopane@state.ma.us

Michigan
Mr. Robert T. Pendleton, Director
Office of Workforce Development
Michigan Department of
Career Development
201 N. Washington Square
Victor Office Center, 5th Floor
Lansing, Michigan 48913
Phone: (517) 335-5858
Fax: (517) 335-5945
Email:
 
Minnesota
Mr. Earl Wilson, Commissioner
Department of Economic Security
390 North Robert Street
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
Phone: (651) 297-4336
Fax: (651) 296-0994
Email: earl.wilson@state.mn.us

Mississippi
Ms. Jean Denson, Director
Employment Training Division
State Department of Economic and
Community Development
301 West Pearl Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39203
Phone : (601) 949-2234
Fax: (601) 949-2291
E-mail: jdenson@mississippi.org

Missouri
Mr. John Cope, Deputy Director
Department of Economic Development
Division of Workforce Development
421 East Dunkin Street
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
Phone: (573) 751-3753
Fax: (573) 571-5316
E-mail : jcope@wfd.state.mo.us

Montana
Commissioner Pat Haffey
Department of Labor and Industry
1327 Lockey
Helena, Montana 59624-1728
Phone: (406) 444-9091
Fax: (406) 444-1394
E-mail: phaffey@state.mt.us
 
Mr. Erik Burke
Policy Advisor for Education and Labor
Office of the Governor
State Capitol Building
Helena, Montana 59620-0801
Phone: (406) 444-0575
Fax: (406) 444-4151
E-mail: eburke@state.mt.us

Nebraska
Commissioner Fernando Lecuona, III
Nebraska Department of Labor
550 South 16th Street
P.O. Box 94600
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4600
Phone : (402) 471-9000
Fax : (402) 471-2318
E-mail : flecuona@dol.state.ne.us

Nevada
Ms. Carol A. Jackson, Director
Department of Employment, Training
and Rehabilitation
1830 East Sahara Avenue, Suite 201
Las Vegas, Nevada 89104
Phone: (702) 486-7923
Fax: (702) 486-7924
E-mail: cjackson@govmail.state.nv.us

New Hampshire
Mr. John Hamilton
Executive Director
New Hampshire Job Training Council
64 Old Suncook Road
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Phone: (603) 228-9500 ext. 307
Fax: (603) 228-8557
E-mail:
 
New Jersey
Mr. Mark B. Boyd
Deputy Commissioner
New Jersey Department of Labor
P. O. Box 110
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0110
Phone: (609) 292-1906
Fax: (609) 292-1987
E-mail: mboyd@dol.state.nj.us

New Mexico
Mr. Clinton D. Harden, Jr.
Cabinet Secretary
Department of Labor
P. O. Box 1928
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87103
Phone: (505) 841-8409
Fax: (505) 841-8491
E-mail: lgarcia2.state.nm.us

New York
Mr. James T. Dillon
Executive Deputy Commissioner
New York State Department of Labor
Building 12, Room 592
State Office Campus
Albany, New York 12240
Phone: (518) 457-2270
Fax: (518) 485-6297
E-mail: 8107ZZ@dfa.state.ny.us

North Carolina
Mr. Wayne Daves, Executive Director
Policy and Employment Programs
North Carolina Department of Commerce
301 North Wilmington Street
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601
Phone: (919) 715-3300
Fax: ( 919) 715-3974
E-mail: wdaves@work.commerce.state.nc.us
 
North Dakota
Mr. Fraine Zeitler
Workforce Development Director
Dept. of Economic Development & Finance
1833 East Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, North Dakota 58504
Phone: (701) 328-5300
Fax: (701) 328-5320
E-mail: fzeitler@state.nd.us

Northern Mariana Islands
Mr. Felix Nogis, Administrator
Job Training Partnership
Act Programs
Office of the Governor
CNMI/Mail Civic Center
P.O. Box 1799
Saipan, CM 96950
Phone: (670) 664-1700
Fax: (670) 322-7333
E-mail: gov.jtpa@saipan.com

Ohio
Mr. James Mermis, acting Administrator
Ohio Bureau of Employment Services
145 South Front Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: (614) 466-2100
Fax: 614-466-5025
E-mail: Mermisj@obes.state.oh.us

Oklahoma
Mr. Glen E. Robards, Jr.
Associate Director of
Employment and Training division
State Employment Security Commission
Will Rogers Memorial Office Building
2401 N. Lincoln
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73152
Phone: (405) 557-5329
Fax: (405) 557-7256
E-mail: glen.robards@oesc.state.ok.us
 
Oregon
Ms. Camille Preus-Braly
Workforce Policy Coordinator
Governor's Office of Education &
Workforce Policy
255 Capitol Street, N.E. Suite 126
Salem, Oregon 97310
Phone: (503) 378-3921
Fax: (503) 387-4789
E-Mail: cam.presu-braly@state.or.us

Pennsylvania
Ms. Martha Harris
Chief Operating Officer
Team Pennsylvania Human Resources
Investment Council
901 North 7th Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone : (717) 772-4966
Fax: (717) 783-4660
E-mail: martha_harris@dced.state.pa.us

Mr. Mike Acker, Deputy Secretary
Workforce Development and Safety
Department of Labor and Industry
1720 Labor and Industry Building
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone : (717) 787-8655
Fax: (717) 772-1461
E-mail: macker@dli.state.pa.us

Mr. Timothy B. Bittle
Director of Operations
Workforce Investment Center
Department of Labor and Industry
1719B Labor and Industry Building
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Phone: (717) 705-2630
Fax: (717) 772-1461
E-mail: tbittle@dli.state.pa.us
 
Puerto Rico
Ms. Jennifer L. Garity
Social Welfare Advisor
La Fortaleza
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00902
Phone : (787) 721-7000
Fax : (787) 721-5336
E-mail: jgarity@fortaleza.prstar.net

Rhode Island
Mr. Marvin Perry
Deputy Director
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
101 Friendship Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
Phone: (401) 222-3648
Fax: (401) 222-1473
E-mail: mperry@dlt.state.ri.us

South Carolina
Mr. Joel T. Cassidy
Executive Director
South Carolina Employment Security Commission
P. O. Box 995
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 737-2617
Fax: (803) 737-2642
E-mail: dmungo@sces.org

South Dakota
Mr. Lloyd Schipper, Deputy Secretary
South Dakota Department of Labor
Kneip Building
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2291
Phone : (605) 773-3101 voice/TTY
Fax : (605) 773-4211
E-mail: mmagill@mail.state.tn.us

Texas
Ms. Diane Rath, Chair
Texas Workforce Commission
101 E. 15th Street
Austin, Texas 78778-0001
Phone: (512) 463-2800
Fax: (512) 463-1289
E-mail: diane.rath@twc.state.tx.us

Utah
Mr. Robert Gross, Executive Director
Department of Workforce Services
140 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
Phone: (801) 526-9210
Fax: (801) 526-9211
E-mail: rgross@state.ut.us

Vermont
Commissioner Steven M. Gold
Vermont Department of Employment and
Training
5 Green Mountain Drive
P. O. Box 488
Montpelier, Vermont 05601-0488
Phone: (802) 828-4000
Fax: (802) 828-4181
E-mail: sgold@top.det.state.vt.us
 
 
 
Virgin Islands
Commissioner Sonia Jacobs Dow
Department of Labor
2203 Church Street
Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820-4612
Phone: (340) 773-1994 ext. 230
Fax: (340) 773-0094
Email: sjdow@usvi.org

Dr. Aletha Baumann
Federal Liaison
Department of Labor
2203 Church Street
Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820-4612
Phone: (340) 773-1994 ext 214
Fax: (340) 773-0094
Email: abaumann@usvi.org

Virginia
Commissioner Thomas J. Towberman
Virginia Employment Commission
703 East Main Street - Rm. 300
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Phone : (804) 786-3001
Fax: (804) 225-3923
Email: vaemploy@aol.com

Washington
Mr. Rich Nafziger
Executive Policy Advisor
P. O. Box 43113
Olympia, Washington 98504-3113
Phone : (360) 902-0664
Fax :(360) 586-8380
E-mail : rich.nafziger@ofm.wa.gov

West Virginia
Dr. Edna Rothwell, Chair
West Virginia Human Resource
Investment Council
McJunkin Corporation
835 Hillcrest Drive
Charleston, West Virginia 25311
Phone: (304) 348-4962
Fax: (304) 348-5809
Email: erothwell@mcjunkin.com

Wisconsin
Secretary Linda Stewart
Department of Workforce Development
201 East Washington Avenue
Room 400-X
Madison, Wisconsin 53707
Phone: (608) 267-9692
Fax: (608) 266-1784
Email: stewali@dwd.state.wi.us

Wyoming
Ms. Beth Nelson
Deputy Director
Department of Employment
P.O. Box 2760
Casper, Wyoming 82602
Phone: (307) 235-3254
Fax: (307) 235-3278
Email: bnelso@missc.state.wy.us

 

 

 

 

Margaret Washnitzer, D.S.W.
Director
Division of State Assistance
Office of Community Services