< Back to Search

Mutual Assistance Associations

Published: September 27, 2012

AZ CA CO DC GA IL KY ME MD MA MN NE NH NY NC OH OR PA TN TX UT VA VT WA WI

Arizona

Mette Brogden
Somali Bantu Association of Tucson
4500 E. Speedway Blvd., Suite 7
Tucson, AZ 85712
Tel: 520-881-4373
Email: metteb@aol.com

California

Ibrahim Hussein
East African Community of Orange County
2301 W. Lincoln Ave., Ste 246
Anaheim, CA 92801
Tel: 714.254.8880
Email: eastafrican@msn.com

Dr. Pary Karadaghi
Kurdish Human Rights Watch, Inc.
1109 East Washington Ave.
San Diego, CA 92019
Tel: 703.385.3806
Email: parykaradaghi@khrw.org
Website: www.khrw.org

Brenda Lynch
East Bay Agency for Children
303 Van Buren Avenue
Oakland , CA 94610
Tel: 510-268-3770
Email: brenda@ebac.org

May Ying Ly
Hmong Women's Heritage Association
2251 Florin Road, Suite 104
Sacramento , CA 95822
Tel: 916.394.1405
Email: mlyhwha@sbcglobal.net
Website: www.hmongwomenheritage.org/

Weng Elegado
3540 Wilshire Blvd. , Room 806
Los Angeles , CA 90010
Tel: 213-637-1450
Email: weng@acrcintl.org
Website: www.acrcintl.org

Blong Xiong
Fresno Center for New Americans
4879 East Kings Canyon Road
Fresno , CA 92727
Tel: 559-255-8395
Email: blongxiong@fresnocenter.com
Website: www.fresnocenter.com

Lalo Acevedo
Fresno County Economic Opportunities Commission
1920 Mariposa Mall, Suite 300
Fresno , CA 93721
Tel: 559.263.1293
Email: Lalo.Acevedo@fresno.org
Website: http://www.fresnoeoc.org/

Rev. Sharon Stanley
Fresno Interdenominational Refugee Ministries
1940 North Fresno Street
Fresno , CA 93703
Tel: 559.487.1509
Email: soulhikr@aol.com

Seng Yang
Hmong Cultural Center of Butte County
P.O. Box 2134
Oroville , CA 95965-2134
Tel: 530.534.7474
Email: ssyhccbc@sbcglobal.net

Houa Vang
Merced Lao Family Community, Inc.
855 West 15 th Street
Merced , CA 95340-5822
Tel: 209.384.7384
Email: mercedlao@laofamilymerced.com

Maurine Huang
Opening Doors, Inc.
2118 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95816
Tel: 916-492-2591
Email: Maurine@openingdoorsinc.org
Website: www.openingdoorsinc.com

Chaosarn S. Chao, Founder/CEO
Lao Family Community Development, Inc.
2325 E. 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94601
6840 - 65th Street, Suite 115, Sacramento, CA 95828
1865 Rumrill Blvd, Suite B, San Pablo, CA 94806
Tel: 510-533-8850
Fax: 510-533-1516
Email: chaosarn@lfcd.org
Website: www.lfcd.org

Colorado

Paul Stein
Colorado Department of Human Services
789 Sherman Street, Suite 250
Denver, CO 80203
Tel: 303.863.8211
Email: paul.stein@state.co.us
Website: http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/

District of Columbia

Dawn Blankenship
US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
1717 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202.347.3507 x3006
Email: dblankenship@uscridc.org

Peggy Gilbert
ISED Solutions, Inc.
1900 L Street, Suite 705
Washington , DC 20036
Tel: 202.223.3288
Email: peggy.gilbert@ised.us

Doua Thor
Southeast Asia Resource Action Center
1628 16 th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
Tel: 202.667.4690
Email: doua@searac.org
Website: www.searac.org/

Hillary Binder-Aviles
Mosaica, Inc
1522 K Street, NW, Ste 1130
Washington, DC 20005
Tel: 202.887.0620
Email: hilary@mosaica.org
Website: www.mosaica.org/

Georgia

Barbara Peters
Goodwill Industries of North Georgia
2201 Glenwood Avenue, SE
Atlanta, GA 30316
Tel: 404.420.9991
Email: bpeters@ging.org
Website: www.ging.org/

Abdullahi Abdullahi
Somali Bantu Community Organization
964 North Indian Creek Drive, Suite A-3
Clarkston, GA 30021
Tel: 404.216.1606
Email: somalibantu@yahoo.com

BryAnn Chen
Refugee Women’s Network, Inc.
4151 Memorial Dr., Ste 103F
Decatur, GA 30032
Tel: 404.299.0180 x224
Website: www.riwn.org

Illinois

Patrick Augustin
Pan-African Association
6163 North Broadway
Chicago, IL 60600
Tel: 773.381.9723
Email: apaugustin@sbcglobal.net
Website: www.panafricanassociation.org/

Kentucky

Jennifer Van Buskirk
Western KY Mutual Assistance Society, Inc.
806 Kenton Street
Bowling Green, KY 42101
Tel: 270.781.8336
Email: Jennifer@wkrmaa.org

Maine

Pierrot Rugaba
Catholic Charities Maine
P.O. Box 10660
Portland, ME 04104-6060
Tel: 207.879.1130
Email: prugaba@ccmaine.org

Catherine Yomoah, State Refugee Coordinator
Office of Multicultural Affairs
State of Maine Department of Health and Human Services
11 State House Station
Augusta , ME 04333
Tel: 207.287.5737
Email: catherine.yomoah@maine.gov

Maryland

Huy Bui
NAVASA
1010 Wayne Ave., Ste 310
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Tel: 301.587.2781
Email: huy.bui@navasa.org
Website: www.navasa.org/

Massachusetts

Carol Chandler
Office for Refugees and Immigrants
18 Tremont St., Suite 1020
Boston, MA 02108
Tel: 617.727.7888 x315
Email: carol.chandler@state.ma.us
Website: www.mass.gov/ori

Victoria Fahlberg
Community Team Work, Inc.
167 Dutten Street
Lowell, MA 01852
Tel: 978.654.6957
Email: vfahlberg@Onelowell.net
Website: www.comteam.org/

Vong Ros
Cambodian Mutual Assistance Association of Greater Lowell
120 Cross Street
Lowell, MA 01854
Tel: 978.596.1000 x7311
Email: vros@cmaalowell.org
Website: www.cmaalowell.org/

Minnesota

Kou Xiong
Hmong American Family
27 Empire Drive, Suite 208
St. Paul, MN 55101
Tel: 651.222.2959
Email: xio65@aol.com
Website: www.hmong.org/

Saeed Osman
Confederation of Somali Community in Minnesota
420 15th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55454
Tel: 612.338.8421
Email: saeed@cscmn.org

Jane Hanger Seeley
East Side Neighborhood Services, Inc.
1700 Second Street, NE
Minneapolis, MN 55413
Tel: 612-787-4036
Email: seeljh@esns.org
Website: www.esns.org/

Fadumo Dubet
Somali International Minorities of America
801 Park Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55404
Tel: 612.359.1248
Email: dubet01@yahoo.com

Melissa Ndinge Nambangi
Minnesota African Women's Association, Inc.
2207 N. 2nd St.
Minneapolis, MN 55411
Tel: 612.588.7666
Email: mawa0302@yahoo.com
Website: www.mawanet.org/

Moua Xiong
Lao Veterans of America
761 North Milton Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55104
Tel: 651.488.2800
Email: mouajouaxiong@yahoo.com
Website: www.laoveterans.com/

Wilhelmina Holder
Women’s Initiative for Self-Empowerment, Inc.
Hamline Park Plaza
570 Asbury Street, Suite 110
St. Paul , MN 55104
Tel: 651.646.3268
Email: wilhelminaholder@aol.com
Website: www.womenofwise.org

Yen Pham
Vietnamese Social Services of America
1159 University Avenue West
St. Paul , MN 55104
Tel: 651.641.8907
Email: ypham@vssmn.org
Website: www.vssmn.org

Licho Xenexai
Hmong Youth Education Services, Inc.
277 University Ave., Suite 205
St. Paul, MN 55103
Tel: 651.644.2446
Email: lichoxenexai@hmongyes.org

Ly Vang
Association for the Advancement of Hmong Women in Minnesota
1101 N. Snelling
St. Paul, MN 55108
Tel: 651.255.0799 x192
Email: lyvang@aahwm.org
Website: www.aahwm.org/

Robinson Cook
Centre for Asians and Pacific Islanders
3702 East Lake Street
Minneapolis, MN 55406
Tel: 612.721.0122 x 29
Email: Robinson.Cook@capiusa.org
Website: www.capiusa.org/

Bao Vang
Hmong American Partnership
1075 Arcade Street
St. Paul , MN 55106
Tel: 651.495.1507
Email: baovang@hmong.org
Website: www.hmong.org

Sharon Nelson
Lao Family Community of MN, Inc
320 University Avenue W
St. Paul, MN 55703
Tel: 651.221.0069
Email: snelson@laofamily.org

Joel Luedtke
Minnesota Council of Churches
122 Franklin Avenue West, Suite 100
Minneapolis, MN 55404
Tel: 612.230.3215
Email: luedtkej@mnchurches.org
Website: www.mnchurches.org/

Renae Oswald-Anderson
Neighborhood House
179 Robie Street
St. Paul, MN 55107
Tel: 651-789-2519
Email: roanderson@neighb.org
Website: www.neighb.org/

Jim Anderson
Ramsey County
160 East Kellogg Blvd., #9500
St. Paul, MN 55101
Tel: 651.266.4116
Email: jim.anderson@co.ramsey.mn.us

Lynn Gallandat
St. Paul Public Schools
360 Colborne Street
St. Paul, MN 55102
Tel: 651.290.4706
Email: lynn.gallandat@spps.org
Website: www.spps.org/

Doua Lee
Southeast Asia Community Council, Inc.
555 Girard Terrace N., Suite 110
Minneapolis, MN 55405
Tel: 612.342.1530
Email: dlee@seacc-mn.org
Website: http://seacc-mn.org/

Nebraska

Modestra Putla
Asian Community & Cultural Center, Inc.
2651 O Street
Lincoln, NE 68510
Tel: 402.477.3446
Email: asiancenter2004@yahoo.com

New Hampshire

Anne Sanderson
International Institute of New Hampshire
315 Pine Street
Manchester, NH 03103
Tel: 603.647.1500
Email: asanderson@iinh.org

New York

Marina Belotserkovsky
Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society, Inc.
333 Seventh Avenue, 16 th Floor
New York, NY 10001
Tel: 212-613-1337
Email: marina.belotserkovsky@hias.org
Website: www.hias.org

Asmaa Donahue
Sauti Yetu Center for African Women, Inc.
P.O Box D
New York, NY 10034
Tel: 718-665-2486
Email: adonahue@sautiyetu.org
Website: www.sautiyetu.org

Jim Morris
Catholic Family Center, Division of Catholic Charities
87 North Clinton Avenue
Rochester, NY 14604
Tel: 585.262.7076
Email: jmorris@cfcrochester.org

Peter Vogelaar
Mohawk Valley Resource Ctr for Refugees, Inc
309 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501
Tel: 315.738.1083
Email: peterv@mvrcr.org
Website: http://mvrcr.org/

North Carolina

Rong Nay
Montagnard Human Rights Organization
1720 Hillsborough Street , Suite LL Two
Raleigh , NC 27605
Tel: 919.614.4028
Email: rongnay@mhro.org
Website: www.mhro.org

Ohio

Jane McGrew
Community Refugee and Immigration Services
3624 Bexvie Avenue
Columbus, OH 43227
Tel: 614.235.5747
Email: jmcgrew@cris.org
Website: www.cris-ohio.com/

Tatyana Mindlina
US Together, Inc.
5815 Millbank Road , Apt. B
Columbus , OH 43229
Tel: 614.437.9941
Email: tmindlina@ustogether.us

Oregon

Daniel Van Lehman
Portland State University
P.O. Box 751
Portland, OR 97207
Tel: 503-725-8587
Email: dvanlehman@pdx.edu
Website: www.pdx.edu/

Nancy Koroloff
Portland State University
P.O. Box 751
Portland , OR 97207
Tel: 503.725.9675
Email: koroloffn@pdx.edu
Website: www.pdx.edu

Jeff MacDonald
IRCO
10301 N.E. Glisan Street
Portland, OR 97220
Tel: 503.234.1541
Email: jeffm@mail.irco.org
Website: www.irco.org/

Salah Ansary
Lutheran Community Services Northwest
605 SE 39th Street
Portland, OR 97214
Tel: 503.231.7480
Email: sansary@lcsnw.org
Website: www.lcsnw.org/

Pennsylvania

Juliane Ramic
Nationalities Services Center
1300 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Tel: 215.893.8400 x103
Email: jramic@nationalitiesservice.org
Website: www.nationalitiesservice.org/

Helena Alston
Clergy and Churches United
1901-15 Centre Avenue, Suite 300
Pittsburg, PA 15219
Tel: 412-765-3190 
Email: hdsaconsulting@msn.com

Tennessee

Abdirizak Hassan
Somali Community Center of Nashville
295 Plus Park Blvd. Ste. 102
Nashville, TN 37217
Tel: 615.366.6868
Email: ahassan@somalinashville.org

Texas

Kassahun Bisrat
Alliance for Multicultural Community Services
6440 Hillcroft, Suite 411
Houston, TX 77081
Tel: 713.776.4700 x126
Email: kbisrat@allianceontheweb.org
Website: www.allianceontheweb.org/

Bernard Johnson
Catholic Family Service
Amarillo, TX 79105
Tel: 806.376.4571 x254
Email: bjohnson@catholicfamilyservices.net

Abdirahman Ibrahim
Somali Bantu Association of San Antonio
2939 Mossrock, Suite 275
San Antonio , TX 78230
Tel:  210-979-9226
Email: abdirahman@sbantuassofsa.org

Utah

Paul McCarty
Granite School District
2500 South State Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84115
Tel: 801.244.3326
Email: paul.mccarty@granite.k-12.ut.us

Vermont

Yacouba Jacob Bogre
Association of Africans Living in Vermont, Inc.
139 Elmwood Avenue
Burlington , VT 05401
Tel: 802.578.8993
Email: jbogre@hotmail.com

Virginia

Khanh T. Tran
Boat People SOS, Inc.
6066 Leesburg Pike, Suite 100
Falls Church , VA 22041
Tel: 703.538.2190 x219
Email: khanh.tran@bspos.org
Website: www.bpsos.org

Tsehaye Teferra, Ph.D.
Ethiopian Community Development Council
901 S. Highland
Arlington, VA 22204
Tel: 703.685.0510
Email: tsehaye.teferra@ecdcinternational.org
Website: www.ecdcinternational.org/

Raqiya Abdalla
Somali Family Care Network
2724 Dorr Avenue, Suite 102
Fairfax, VA 22041
Tel: 703.560.0005
Email: raqiya@somalifamily.org
Website: www.somalifamily.org/

Ricarda Dowling
Center for Multicultural Human Services
701 West Broad Street, #305
Falls Church, VA 22046
Tel: 703.533.3302 x128
Email: rdowling@cmhs.org
Website: www.cmhs.org/

Washington

Oleg Pynda
Ukrainian Community Center of Washington
221 Hardie Ave NW
Renton, WA 98057
Tel: 425.430.8229; 206.369.6398
Email: opynda@uccwa.org
Website: www.uccwa.org/

Wisconsin

 Fessahaye Mebrahtu
Pan-African Community Association
6222 W. Capitol Drive
Milwaukee, WI 53216
Tel: 414.442.5864
Email: apaugustin@sbcglobal.net
Website: www.panafricoma.com

Sue Levy
Department of Workforce Development
201 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707-7946
Tel: 608.288.0678
Email: Susan.levy@dwd.state.wi.us
Website: www.dwd.state.wi.us/

Viluck Kue
Wisconsin United Coalition of Mutual Assistance Associations
1020 South 10 th Street
Manitowoc , WI 54220
Tel: 920.683.1806
Email: viluck@wucmaa.org
Website:  www.wucmaa.org/