States Requiring Electronic Child Support Payments

Federated States of Micronesia Federated States of Micronesia

Do not have child support agency

Republic of the Marshall Islands Republic of the Marshall Islands

Do not have child support agency

Republic of Palau Republic of Palau

Do not have child support agency

State Data

Alabama

Not required

Back to top

Alaska

Not required

Back to top

Arizona

Not required

Back to top

Arkansas

Not required

Back to top

California

Employers in California who are required to file state taxes electronically are required to remit their child support payments electronically. California offers a web-based payment service for employers and noncustodial parents:

California SDU Electronic Help Desk
Phone: 866-901-3212
E-mail: casdu-electronichelpdesk@dcss.ca.gov
Website: childsupport.ca.gov/make-a-payment/ Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Delaware

Employers with 50 or more employees must send electronic payments. Delaware offers a web-based service that employers can use to meet the electronic requirement.

Website: https://deipay.dhss.delaware.gov/iPayOnline/ Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Florida

Employers in Florida with 10 or more employees or who pay $20,000 or more in state taxes annually are required to remit their child support payments electronically. Florida offers two web-based payment services:

Florida State Disbursement Unit Smart ePay
Phone: 1-888-883-0743
Website: https://fl.smartchildsupport.com/ Visit disclaimer page

OR

MyFloridaCounty.com (employers fee: $5 per 20 payments)
Phone: 877-326-8689
E-mail: webmaster@myfloridacounty.com
Website: www.myfloridacounty.com Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Illinois

Employers in Illinois with 250 or more employees or fewer than 250 employees but paying on 10 or more orders are required to remit child support payments electronically. Illinois offers a web-based payment service for employers:

ExpertPay (free to employers)
Phone: 800-403-0879
E-mail: customer.service@expertpay.com
Website: www.expertpay.com Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Indiana

Employers in Indiana with more than 50 employees and having more than one employee with an income withholding order are required to remit their child support payments electronically. Indiana also has a non-compliance fine of $25 per employee, per pay period. Indiana offers a web-based payment service for employers:

Indiana Child Support Payment System (free to employers)
Phone: 800-292-0403
Website: http://www.in.gov/dcs/2507.htm Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Iowa

Payers of income with 500 or more employees must remit support payments electronically. For payers of income with 200 to 499 employees AND employers with 100 or more employees using an agent for payroll processing, the compliance date is December 31, 2013. Payers of income with fewer than 200 employees and who handle their own payroll are not subject to the EFT mandate. Payers of income with fewer than 100 employees and who use a payroll service provider are also not subject to the EFT mandate. If it is determined that EFT would cause undue hardship, payers of income may elect to submit payments electronically through a website operated by the state of Iowa. Iowa offers a web-based payment service for employers:

Iowa DHS CS (free to employers)
Phone: 877-274-2580
Fax: 319-226-7150
E-mail: csrue@dhs.state.ia.us
Website: http://www.iowachildsupport.gov Visit disclaimer page
Website: https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/epay/ Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Massachusetts

Employers in Massachusetts with five or more employees who have child support orders are required to remit child support payments electronically. Also, employers with a history of irregular or untimely payments or other instances of failure to remit child support payments may be required to remit electronically. Massachusetts offers a web-based payment service for employers and noncustodial parents:

Smart System (free to employers and noncustodial parents)
Website: https://ma.smartchildsupport.com Visit disclaimer page

Employer Relations Unit and EFT Outreach
Phone: 781-917-0050
Fax: 781-917-0055
E-mail: maeru.fax@smimail.net
Note: Credit cards accepted

Back to top

Nebraska

Employers in Nebraska with 50 or more employees and who are paying on at least one order are required to remit child support payments electronically. Nebraska offers a web-based payment service for employers:

Nebraska Child Support Payment Center (free to employers)
Phone: 877-631-9973, Option 3

Website: https://childsupport.nebraska.gov/Employers/ Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Nevada

Employers in Nevada with 50 or more employees are required to remit child support payments electronically.  Nevada offers a web-based payment service for employers:   

E-mail: SCaDU.EFT@dwss.nv.gov

Website: https://dwss.nv.gov Visit disclaimer page , click the ’How to Pay’ button underneath the Child Support tab

Back to top

North Dakota

Employers in North Dakota with more than 24 employees and having received more than four income withholding orders (IWO) must remit child support payments electronically. An employer with more than 24 employees but fewer than five IWOs may opt out of the electronic payment requirement only through a written request. The Child Support Enforcement Division may waive the requirement for employers who can show good cause. Information about electronic payments is available at www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childsupport/empinfo/eft Visit disclaimer page . North Dakota offers a web-based payment service for employers:

Employer EFT (free to employers)
Phone: 800-251-8685, #2
Phone: 701-328-7528 (out-of-state employers)
E-mail: soeft@nd.gov
Websites: www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childsupport/empinfo/eft Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Ohio

Employers in Ohio with 50 or more employees are required to remit child support payments electronically. Ohio offers a web-based payment service for employers:

ExpertPay (free to employers)
Phone: 800-403-0879 (outside Ohio)
Phone: 888-965-2676 (within Ohio)
E-mail: customer.service@expertpay.com
Website: www.expertpay.com Visit disclaimer page
Note: Free software offered to employers for e-Payments

Back to top

Oregon

Employers in Oregon with five or more employees and who have received one or more orders; employers with fewer than five employees but have received orders against more than one employee; employers required to pay taxes electronically; or employers who have failed to withhold or pay correctly and timely, according to law, are required to remit child support payments electronically. Oregon offers a web-based payment service for employers:

CSPay (free to employers)
Phone: 866-907-2857
E-mail: EFTHelp@doj.state.or.us
Website: http://www.oregonchildsupport.gov/ Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Pennsylvania

Employers in Pennsylvania with 15 or more employees and who are paying on two or more orders are required to remit child support payments electronically. Also, employers with a history of two payments that have been returned for insufficient funds will be required to remit electronically. There is a monetary sanction for failure to comply. Pennsylvania offers a web-based payment service:

ExpertPay (free to employers)
Phone: 800-403-0879
E-mail: customer.service@expertpay.com
Website: www.expertpay.com Visit disclaimer page

For more information on electronic payments contact Pennsylvania SCDU Customer Services:
Phone: 877-676-9580
E-mail: pa-childsupp-2.fc-sls@acs-inc.com

Back to top

Tennessee

Not required

Back to top

Texas

Employers in Texas with 50 or more employees must remit child support payments electronically within two business days after pay date. Texas offers a web-based payment service:

Smart E-Pay (free to employers and noncustodial parents)
Phone: 855-853-8286
Website: https://tx.smartchildsupport.com Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Virginia

Employers in Virginia with 100 or more employees and payroll processing firms with at least 50 employer clients are required to remit child support payments electronically. Virginia offers a portal-based payment service:

https://mychildsupport.dss.virginia.gov/ Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

Washington

Employer and contactors are required to remit electronically when they:

  • have ten or more employees or contract workers with one or more withholding orders

  • have fewer than ten employees or contract workers with withholding orders for more than one employee

  • are required to pay taxes electronically

  • use a payroll processor 

Web-based payment service:
Division of Child Support Internet Payment Service (DCSOnline)
Phone: 800-468-7422
Website: www.childsupportpayment.dshs.wa.gov Visit disclaimer page

Back to top

West Virginia

Employers with more than 50 employees are required to remit child support payments electronically. West Virginia offers a web-based payment service:

West Virginia Support Payment Center
Phone: 800-835-4683 Employer Relations Unit
Phone: 800-446-5382 (Phone payments by noncustodial parents)
E-mail: DHHRBCSEERU@wv.gov

Website: https://wv.smartchildsupport.com Visit disclaimer page for employers (no fee)  
Website: https://apps.wv.gov/DHHR/wvchildsupportdirect Visit disclaimer page for employers ($1 per use fee)
Website: https://apps.wv.gov/DHHR/SPI/login.aspx Visit disclaimer page for noncustodial parents paying directly ($3 service fee)

Back to top

Wyoming

Not required

Back to top

Puerto Rico

Not required

Back to top

Virgin Islands

Not required

Back to top

Guam

Employers in Guam with 10 or more employees and at least one child support order are required to remit child support payments electronically.

Download the employer EFT authorization form at http://oagguam.org/child-support/ Visit disclaimer page .
Fax the completed form to the Guam SDU at 671-477-2159.
Phone: 671-475-3324, ext. 786 (technical assistance)
E-mail: child.support@guamcse.net

Back to top

American Samoa

Do not have child support agency

Back to top

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Do not have child support agency

Back to top

Federated States of Micronesia

Do not have child support agency

Back to top

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Do not have child support agency

Back to top

Republic of Palau

Do not have child support agency

Back to top