Many different agencies contribute to the policy that drives human services after a disaster.

HHS Disaster Operations

Following a disaster or public health emergency, HHS transitions from normal operations to a coordinated, department-wide response of human services. The HHS Disaster Human Services Concept of Operations (CONOPS) describes this process, and the involvement of ACF.

Other Federal Plans

Several federal documents guide the provisions of human services following disaster.

National Response Framework (NRF) – Federal Emergency Management Agency

This framework guides how the nation responds to all types of disasters and emergencies by describing principles, roles, and responsibilities, and by coordinating structures for delivering the core capabilities required to respond to an incident. The NRF includes Emergency Support Function (ESF) Annexes and Support Annexes that further describe the roles and responsibilities of Federal departments and agencies.

National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) – Federal Emergency Management Agency

This framework facilitates effective recovery support to disaster-impacted states, tribes, territories and local jurisdictions. It establishes a flexible structure that focuses on how best to restore, redevelop, and revitalize the health, social, economic, natural and environmental fabric of the community and build a more resilient nation.

Presidential Policy Directive 8 (PPD-8) – National Preparedness - Department of Homeland Security

This directive is aimed at strengthening the security and resilience of the United States through systematic preparation for the threats that pose the greatest risk to the security of the nation, including acts of terrorism, cyberattacks, pandemics, and catastrophic natural disasters. Our national preparedness is the shared responsibility of all levels of government, the private and nonprofit sectors, and individual citizens. The documents identify 32 core capabilities, and is intended to assist everyone who has a role in achieving all elements of the goal.

Recovery Federal Interagency Operational Plan (FIOP) – Annex C, Health and Social Services - Federal Emergency Management Agency

This document outlines how federal agencies and national nongovernmental organizations plan to support health and social services disaster recovery efforts of States, Territories, Tribes, and localities (STTL). It describes how HHS Health and Social Services Recovery Support Function provides technical assistance in the form of impact analyses and supports recovery planning of public health, health care and human services infrastructure. The FIOP identifies three goals:

  • Restore basic health and social services functions
  • Complete an assessment of community health and social services needs and develop a comprehensive recovery timeline
  • Restore and improve the resilience and sustainability of the health and social services networks

Health and Social Services Recovery Support Function (H&SS-RSF) Concept of Operations (CONOPS) – Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Emergency

This document describes how the departments, agencies, and organizations that comprise the H&SS RSF will coordinate to support the recovery planning and operations of state, local, tribal, territorial and insular area governments to address unmet health and social services disaster recovery needs.

Last Reviewed: December 12, 2017

Was this page helpful?

Step One
I found this page helpful because the content on the page: (check all that apply)
I did not find this page helpful because the content on the page: (check all that apply)

Your feedback is important to us and will help improve our website. Thank you!

Step Two
Back to Top