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ACF - 801 Child Care Monthly Case Record Form                                      OMB #: 0970-0167     Expires: 07-31-2018 
Head of Family Receiving Assistance 
 1. Reporting Period 

Month: _ _ Year: _ _ _ _ 
 2. Unique State Identifier (required in absence of SSN#) _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _  
 3. Social Security Number (optional) _ _ _- _ _ - _ _ _ _ 
 4. FIPS Code 

State: _ _ County: _ _ _ 
 5. Single Parent  _ 
 6. Reason for Receiving Subsidized Child Care  _ 
 7. Total Monthly Child Care Co-payment by Family 

$ _, _ _ _ 
 8. Month/Year Child Care Assistance to the Family Started 

Month: _ _ Year: _ _ _ _ 
 9. Total Monthly Income 

$ _ _ ,_ _ _ 
 10.  Employment Including Self-Employment _ 
 11. Cash or Other Assistance Under Title IV of the Social Security  Act 

(TANF) _ 
 12. State Program for Which State Spending Is Counted Towards 

TANF MOE _ 

 13. Housing Voucher or Cash Assistance _ 

 14. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (formerly Food 
Stamps) _ 

 15. Other Federal Cash Income Programs (such as SSI) _ 
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 16. Family Size Used to Determine Eligibility _ _ 

Dependent Children Receiving Child Care Assistance (One record per child) 
 17. Social Security Number (Optional) OR Unique State  Identifier 

(Required in absence of SSN#) _ _ _-_ _-_ _ _ _ 
 18. Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity _ 

 19. American Indian or Alaskan Native _ 

 20. Asian _ 

 21. Black or African American _ 

 22. Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander _ 

 23. White _ 

 24. Gender _ 

 25. Month/Year of Birth 
Month: _ _       Year: _ _ _ _ 

Setting Information (One record for each setting for each child) 
 26. Type of Child Care _ _ 

 27. Total Monthly Amount Paid to Provider _ _ _ _ 

 28. Total Hours of Care Provided in Month _ _ _ 

 29. Provider FEIN _ _-_ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
 30. Provider Unique State ID _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
Provider Information (One record for each provider) 
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 31. Provider FEIN (same as item 29) _ _-_ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
 32. Provider Unique State ID (same as item 30) _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
 33. QRIS Participation _ 
 34. QRIS Rating _ _ _ 

 35. Accreditation Status _  

 36. Provider is Subject to State Pre-K Standards _ 

 37. Other State-defined Quality Measure _ 
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CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND 
ACF-801 CASE-LEVEL REPORTING FORM 

Instructions 
 

The ACF-801 case-level data are collected monthly and reported either monthly or quarterly.  Quarterly data 
are reported 60 days after the end of each quarter and monthly data are due 90 days after the report month.  All 
Lead Agencies in the States, the District of Columbia, and Territories (Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, 
Northern Marianna Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) are responsible for collecting and reporting ACF-801 
data.  States submit their records electronically to the Office of Child Care Information System.  Lead 
Agencies may submit either full population or a monthly sample (approximately 200 families) of subsidized 
child care recipients for the ACF-801.  In addition to the ACF-801, States and Territories must submit 
aggregate data for all families and children in care annually on the ACF-800. 
 
Effective Date of New Elements:  Submission of the new data elements described below (Record Header 
Item C and Elements 29-37) will be mandatory beginning October 2013.  However, beginning October 2012, 
States and Territories will have the option of using either the current ACF-801 format or the new format.  
States and Territories that are able to use the new format are strongly encouraged to do so during the optional 
year.  In addition, while the new quality data elements offer a wide range of responses (including the ability to 
answer “NA” for any question), it is expected that the State or Territory will be able to report quality data (at 
least one of the quality data elements 33-37) for at least a portion of the provider population.  
 
For more information and guidance on Federal reporting requirements, see the Office of Child Care’s Web site 
at: http://www.acf/hhs/gov/programs/occ/report. 

 
 
Record Header Information 
 
The following elements (items A - G) refer to the header information.  
 

A. Report Period:  This data element identifies the month being reported.  For example, if the report 
covers April 2012, this element would be “201204”. 

 
B. Families Receiving Subsidized Child Care:  The number of families receiving subsidized child care for 

the report month.  The field is seven digits.  The number should be right-justified within the field and 
padded with zeros.  For example, 25,387 would be formatted as “0025387”. 

 
C. Number of Providers Receiving Subsidy Payments:  The number of providers receiving subsidized 

child care payments for the report month.  The field is seven digits.  The number should be right-
justified within the field and padded with zeros.  For example, 22,322 would be formatted as 
“0022322”.  

 
D. State Contact Name:  The name of the child care contact who is designated to receive the Summary 

Assessment reports. 
 

E. State Contact Telephone Number:  The telephone number of the named child care contact. 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ccb/report


 

 5 

 
F. State Contact Fax Number:  The fax number of the named child care contact. 

 
G. State Contact E-mail Address:  The e-mail address of the named child care contact. 

 
 
Head of Family Receiving Assistance 
 
The following elements (items 1-16) refer to the head of the family receiving child care assistance.  The "Head 
of Family Receiving Assistance" is the person for whom eligibility is determined.  If the child is considered a 
family of one (i.e., a protective service case), then all items refer to the child.   
 
1. Reporting Period:  The month and year being reported.  The report should include information about 

the families and children who actually received child care services during the reporting month, 
irrespective of when payment is made for those services.    

 
2. Unique State Identifier:  A unique identifying number, up to fifteen characters, assigned by the State to 

the family receiving child care assistance.  States may use alphanumeric characters.  The Social 
Security Number may not be required of families as a condition of eligibility.  However, in the absence 
of the Social Security Number, the Office of Child Care requires that States use a Unique State 
Identifier to ensure that cases are unduplicated for reporting purposes in accordance with the Statute 
governing the Child Care and Development Fund.  If a case has neither a Social Security Number nor a 
Unique State Identifier, the data related to the case cannot be processed.  

 
3. Social Security Number:  The Social Security Number of the head of the family.  Again, States are 

reminded that CCDF eligibility may not be denied because a parent chooses not to provide their Social 
Security Number.  (See ACYF-PI-CC-00-04 issued October 27, 2000.)  In cases in which care is being 
provided to a child as a family of one, the child’s Social Security Number is used for this element.    

  
4. Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) Code:  The FIPS Code geographic identifier issued 

by the National Bureau of Standards to designate where the head of the family receiving assistance is 
residing.  A list of all FIPS codes can be found at http://www.itl.nist.gov/fipspubs/co-codes/states.htm  
or by contacting the National Center on Child Care Data and Technology (1-877-249-9117).  This 
includes a two digit State code and a three digit county code. 

 
5. Single Parent:  A single parent/adult who is legally/financially responsible for and living with a child 

where there is no other adult legally/financially responsible for the child in that eligible family.  If 
there is someone else in the household who does not have legal/financial responsibility for the child, 
the legally/financially responsible applicant is still considered a single parent.  A one-digit code 
indicates if the head of the family receiving assistance is single or not.   

 
  
  
  

 

0 -- No  
1 -- Yes 
9 -- Not applicable; child is reported as head of household.  (If “9” is selected, indicate the 
Child’s Social Security Number in Item 3.)  

http://www.itl.nist.gov/fipspubs/co-codes/states.htm
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6. Reason for Receiving Subsidized Child Care:  The one-digit code indicating the reason for receiving 
subsidized child care.  If more than one category applies, report the primary reason.  States should 
report responses that correspond to the State’s definitions of “working,” “job training and educational 
program,” and “protective services” that are included in its approved CCDF Plan.  Categories 6, 7, 8, 
and 9 should be used for families affected by a federally declared emergency. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Codes:   
      
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1 -- Employment 
2 -- Training/Education 
3 -- Both Employment and Training/Education 
4 -- Protective Services 
6 -- Federal Declared Emergency and Employment 
7 -- Federal Declared Emergency and Training/Education 
8 -- Federal Declared Emergency and both Employment and Training/Education 
9 -- Federal Declared Emergency and Protective Services 

   
7. Total Monthly Child Care Co-payment by Family:  The monthly dollar amount the family receiving 

assistance must pay for child care services for the month being reported (the co-payment assigned by 
the Lead Agency or its designee). 
 

8. Month/Year Child Care Assistance to the Family Started:  The numbers for the month and year child 
care assistance started for the family receiving assistance.  If there was a short interruption of up to 
three months in child care assistance (for reasons such as a vacation or illness), indicate the original 
month/year the assistance started, rather than when the assistance resumed. 

 
9. Total Monthly Income:  Report total monthly income amount received by the family.  This is the total 

income that is used for determining eligibility and/or co-payment before any deductions that may be 
allowed are subtracted.  The amount should be rounded to the nearest dollar. 
 

ITEMS 10-15:  Family Income Sources:  Each item reports sources of income, and requires a “yes” (1) or 
“no” (0) answer as it relates to the family receiving assistance for the month being reported.  Even if a source 
of income is disregarded for eligibility determination purposes, the correct answer is “yes” for a family that 
received income from that source in the reporting month.  For Protective Services cases only, if on a case-by-
case basis income is not used to determine eligibility and no income is reported, items 10-15 do not have to be 
completed. 
 

10. Employment income, including self-employment 
11. Cash or other monetary assistance under Title IV of the Social Security Act (TANF)   
12. State program for which State spending is counted towards TANF MOE 
13. Housing voucher or cash assistance 
14. Assistance under the Food Stamps Act of 1977 
15. Other Federal Cash Income Programs (such as SSI) 

 
16. Family Size Used to Determine Eligibility:  Number of family members upon which eligibility is 

based.  The field size is two digits and requires a value within the range of 1 to 99.   
 



 

 7 

 
Dependent Children Receiving Child Care Assistance (One record per child) 

 
Items 17 through 25 refer to dependent children in the family receiving child care assistance and indicate the 
demographic characteristics of children receiving care.   
 
17. Child’s Social Security Number (Optional) or Unique State Identifier (Required in absence of SSN):  

Indicate the Social Security Number of the child receiving assistance.  The Social Security Number 
may not be required of families as a condition of eligibility.  However, in the absence of the Social 
Security Number, the Office of Child Care requires that States use a Unique State Identifier to ensure 
that cases are unduplicated for reporting purposes.  The Unique State Identifier must be less than or 
equal to 9 characters. 

 
States are required to request information about ethnicity and race.  However, if a parent refuses to report 
ethnicity and/or race for their child, the field should be left blank.   
 
18. Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity:  Indicate the one digit code for the ethnicity of each child.  (Ethnicity 

should be determined for every child in the family.) 
  
  
 

0 -- No 
1 -- Yes 

ITEMS 19-23:  Race Of Child:  This item applies to each child receiving care.  Indicate the code for “yes” (1) 
or “no” (0) for each race listed below.  Select “yes” for as many races as reported by the family.  (Each child 
should have at least one race coded “yes.”  Multi-racial children should have a “1” in more than one race 
field.)   
 
19.   American Indian or Alaskan Native   
20. Asian   
21.  Black or African American  
22.  Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander   
23. White 
 
24. Child’s Gender:  Indicate the one digit code for the gender of the child receiving care. 

 
 
  

Codes: 
1-- Male 
2-- Female 

 
25. Month/Year of Birth:  Enter the numbers for the month and year of birth of the child receiving care. 
 
 
Child Care Setting (One record for each setting for each child) 

 
This group of questions applies to the child care provided to each child (setting).  Include all information for 
each setting for each child in the family receiving care.  The displayed form includes space for only two 
settings, but the number of settings may exceed this in the electronic submittal. 
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26. Type of Child Care:  The two-digit code indicating the type of child care setting.  Provider types are 
divided into two broad categories:  “licensed/regulated” and “legally operating without regulation.”  
For reporting purposes, a legally operating, unregulated provider is a provider that, if not participating 
in the CCDF program, would not be subject to any State or local child care regulations.  In order to be 
counted as a regulated provider, the provider must meet State-established health and safety standards 
and be subject to monitoring (i.e., self-certification by the provider without documentation or 
verification is not sufficient).  The “licensed/regulated” and “legally operating without regulation” 
categories each include four types of providers (each State's definition of these terms apply):  in-home, 
family home, group home, and centers.  A relative provider is defined as being the grandparent, great-
grandparent, aunt or uncle, or sibling (living outside of the child’s home) of the child in care.  The 
following codes specify the type of care provided by each provider for each child during the report 
month.   

 
Codes: 

01 -- Licensed/regulated in-home child care 
02 -- Licensed/regulated family child care 
03 -- Licensed/regulated group home child care 
04 -- Licensed/regulated center-based care 
05 -- In-home care provided by a non-relative in a setting legally operating without regulation 
06 -- In-home care provided by a relative in a setting legally operating without regulation 

 

 

 

 

07 -- Family home child care provided by a non-relative in a setting legally operating without 
regulation 

08 -- Family home child care provided by a relative in a setting legally operating without 
regulation 

09 -- Group home child care provided by a non-relative in a setting legally operating without 
regulation 

10 -- Group home child care provided by a relative in a setting legally operating without regulation 
11--  Child care center legally operating without regulation 

 
27.   Total Monthly Amount Paid to Provider:  For each child receiving care, indicate the total monthly 

dollar amount (rounded to the nearest dollar) paid or to be paid to the provider for the care of the child.  
The Total Monthly Amount should include Federal, State, and locally funded amounts.  This amount 
does not include the family co-payment and should reflect only the subsidy that is paid to the provider 
for services rendered.   

 
28. Total Hours of Care Provided in Month:  Indicate the total number of hours of care provided for the 

reporting period (rounded to the nearest whole number).  States must indicate in a footnote how these 
hours are captured and calculated, i.e., Actual Clock Hours, Blocked Hours Based on Attendance, 
Authorized Clock Hours, or Authorized Blocked Hours.  Actual Clock Hours should reflect the real 
hours of care a child received.  Blocked Hours Based on Attendance should reflect blocked hours 
associated with the days the child actually received care.  Authorized Clock Hours should reflect the 
maximum number of paid hours of care that a child was authorized to receive.  Authorized Blocked 
Hours of care should reflect the upper threshold of the range of hours within each defined block.  For 
example, a CCDF grantee might have a block of hours associated with full-time care spanning 8 to 10 
hours for one day of care.  In this instance, if a State is unable to determine if the child received 8 or 10 
hours of care, they should report 10 hours of care.  Regardless of the type of hours being reported, a 
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CCDF grantee should base their calculations on real numbers retrieved from one of their child care 
data systems.  They should not use averages that are calculated over a series of months. 

 
29. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN):  Indicate the provider’s FEIN.  If a FEIN is 

unavailable, the State must provide a Unique State Provider ID in question 30. 
 
30. Unique State Provider ID:  Indicate the provider’s Unique State ID.  If the State does not have Unique 

State Provider IDs, leave field blank.  In the absence of a FEIN, the Office of Child Care requires that 
States use a Unique State Identifier (which can be a Social Security Number, if the State chooses).  If a 
case has neither a FEIN nor a Unique State Identifier, the data related to the case cannot be processed.  
The unique ID must be location specific.  If a provider operates in multiple locations, each location 
must have a unique ID.   
 
The Office of Child Care encourages States to use a unique identifier that can be linked, as appropriate, 
with other early care and education programs (e.g., Head Start, Early Head Start, State Pre-K) for 
purposes of integrated data and service coordination. 
 
Note:  Questions 29 and 30 are repeated as questions 31 and 32.  This duplication is necessary to 
connect the Child Care Setting record above to the Child Care Provider Record below.   
 
 

Child Care Provider (One record for each provider)  
 
This group of questions applies to the child care provider.  The State should include all providers receiving 
subsidies during the report month and include one record for each provider.  The set of data elements 31-37 is 
not included in the child or case level record (with elements 1-30), but is a separate provider record. 
   
31. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN):  Indicate the provider’s FEIN.  (Same as #29.)  If a 

FEIN is unavailable, the State must provide a Unique State Provider ID in question 32. 
 
32. Unique State Provider ID:  Indicate the provider’s unique State ID.  If the State does not have Unique 

State Provider IDs, leave field blank.  (Same as #30.)  In the absence of a FEIN, the Office of Child 
Care requires that States use a Unique State Identifier (which can be a Social Security Number, if the 
State chooses).  If a case has neither a Federal Employer Identification Number nor a Unique State 
Identifier, the data related to the case cannot be processed.  The unique ID must be location specific.  If 
a provider operates in multiple locations, each location must have a unique ID.   
 

33. QRIS Participation:  Indicate one of the following codes.  
 

0-- No:  Provider is eligible, but does not participate in the QRIS  
1-- Yes:  Provider does participate in the QRIS 
7-- The State has an operating QRIS in the provider’s area, but the provider is not eligible to 
participate 
8-- The State does not have an operating QRIS in the provider’s area 
9-- The State has an operating QRIS in the provider’s area, but information is currently 
unavailable at the provider level 
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34. QRIS Rating:  This is the QRIS rating for the provider.  The State must choose and enter a three-digit 

code of alphanumeric characters to correspond with the appropriate level of QRIS rating.  The 
State must also provide a key explaining the code for quality levels in a footnote.  If the Lead 
Agency did not answer “Yes” to question 33, report (999). 

 
35. Accreditation Status:  Indicate one of the following codes. 

 
0-- No  
1-- Yes:  National Accreditation  
2-- Yes:  State Accreditation 
3-- Yes:  Other Accreditation (Not National or State Level)  
4-- Yes:  Level/Type of Accreditation Unavailable 
9-- NA:  Information Currently Unavailable  

 
36. Provider is subject to State or Local Pre-K Standards:  Indicate one of the following codes.  If there are 

multiple Pre-K Standards, the State does not need to specify which particular standard applies to the 
provider.  An answer of “Yes” indicates that the provider is subject to at least one set of standards. 
 

0-- No 
1--Yes 
9--NA 

 
37. Provider Meets Other State-defined Quality Measure:  Indicate one of the following codes.  If the State 

answers “Yes,” it must provide a brief footnote describing the quality measure. 
 

0-- No 
1--Yes 
9--NA 
  

The Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995 
 
Public reporting burden for this collection of information is estimated to average 25 hours per response, 
including the time for reviewing instructions, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and reviewing 
the collection of information. 
 
An agency may not conduct or sponsor, and a person is not required to respond to, a collection of 
information unless it displays a currently valid OMB control number. OMB #: 0970-0167  Expires: 04-
30-2015 
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