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ACF - 801 Child Care Monthly Case Record Form                                      OMB #: 0970-0167     Expires: XX-XX-XXX 
Head of Family Receiving Assistance 
 1. Reporting Period 

Month: _ _ Year: _ _ _ _ 
 2. Unique State Identifier  _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _  
 3. Filler  (9 blanks) 

 _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ (Leave Blank) 
 4. Family FIPS Code 

State: _ _ County: _ _ _ 
 5. Single Parent  _ 
 6. Reason for Receiving Subsidized Child Care  _ 
 7. Total Monthly Child Care Co-payment by Family 

$ _, _ _ _ 
 8. Month/Year Child Care Assistance to the Family Started 

Month: _ _ Year: _ _ _ _ 
 9. Total Monthly Income 

$ _ _ ,_ _ _ 
 10.  Employment Including Self-Employment _ 
 11. Cash or Other Assistance Under Title IV of the Social Security  Act 

(TANF) _ 
 12. State Program for Which State Spending Is Counted Towards 

TANF MOE _ 

 13. Housing Voucher or Cash Assistance _ 

 14. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (formerly Food 
Stamps) _ 

 15. Other Federal Cash Income Programs (such as SSI) _ 
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 16. Family Size Used to Determine Eligibility _ _ 

 16a. Family Zip Code  _ _ _ _ _ 
 16b. Family Homeless Status _ 
 16c. Military Service _ 
Dependent Children Receiving Child Care Assistance (One record per child) 
 17. Filler (9 blanks)  _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ (Leave Blank) 
 18.  Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity _ 

 19.  American Indian or Alaskan Native _ 

 20.  Asian _ 

 21.  Black or African American _ 

 22.  Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander _ 

 23.  White _ 

 24.  Gender _ 

 25.  Month/Year of Birth 
Month: _ _  Year: _ _ _ _ 

 25a. Child Disability _ 
Setting Information (One record for each setting for each child) 
 26. Type of Child Care _ _ 
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 27. Total Monthly Amount Paid to Provider _ _ _ _ 

 28. Total Hours of Care Provided in Month _ _ _ 

 29. Provider FEIN _ _ - _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
 30. Provider Unique State ID _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
Provider Information (One record for each provider) 
 31. Provider FEIN (same as item 29) _ _ - _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
 32. Provider Unique State ID (same as item 30) _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
 33. QRIS Participation _ 
 34. QRIS Rating _ _ _ 

 35. Accreditation Status _  

 36. Provider is Subject to State Pre-K Standards _ 

 37. Other State-defined Quality Measure _ 

 38. Provider is subject to Head Start or Early Head Start Standards _ 
 39. Provider Zip Code _ _ _ _ _ 
 40. Inspection Date  

Month: _ _ Day: _ _ Year: _ _ _ _ 
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CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND 
ACF-801 CASE-LEVEL REPORTING FORM 

Instructions 
 

The ACF-801 case-level data are collected monthly and reported either monthly or quarterly.  Quarterly data 
are reported 60 days after the end of each quarter and monthly data are due 90 days after the report month.  All 
Lead Agencies in the States, the District of Columbia, and Territories (Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, 
Northern Marianna Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) are responsible for collecting and reporting ACF-801 
data.  States submit their records electronically to the Office of Child Care Information System.  Lead 
Agencies may submit either full population or a monthly sample (approximately 200 families) of subsidized 
child care recipients for the ACF-801.  In addition to the ACF-801, States and Territories must submit 
aggregate data for all families and children in care annually on the ACF-800. 
 
Effective Dates:   
Submission of the following new data elements will be mandatory beginning with the October 2015 report 
month: Family Zip Code (#16a), Family Homeless Status (#16b), Military Service (#16c), Child Disability 
(#25a), Provider Meets Head Start/Early Head Start Standards (#38), and Provider Zip Code (#39).  
 
Also, effective with the October 2015 report month, Social Security Numbers may no longer be reported on 
the ACF-801 report. Elements #3 (Family SSN) and #17 (Child SSN) should be left blank. Further, SSNs may 
not be used in lieu of the FEIN (Elements #29 and #31) or as the Unique State Provider ID (Elements #30 and 
#32). 
 
Effective with the October 2017 report, grantees will be required to begin reporting the date of the most recent 
health and safety inspection (#40) for each provider. In addition, all grantees with a Quality Rating and 
Improvement System (QRIS) will be required to report Elements #33 and #34 regarding provider participation 
and rating level. Grantees without a QRIS will be required to answer at least one of the elements #35 to #38 to 
describe the quality of providers in other ways. Element #38, Provider Meets Head Start/Early Head Start 
Standards, is a new option for reporting on provider quality.  
 
For more information and guidance on Federal reporting requirements, see the Office of Child Care’s Web site 
at: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ/resource/reporting. 
 
 
 
Record Header Information 
 
The following elements (items A - G) refer to the header information.  
 

A. Report Period:  This data element identifies the month being reported.  For example, if the report 
covers April 2014, this element would be “201404”. 
 

B. Families Receiving Subsidized Child Care:  The total number of families receiving subsidized child 
care for the report month.  The field is seven digits.  The number should be right-justified within the 
field and padded with zeros.  For example, 25,387 would be formatted as “0025387”. 

 
C. Number of Providers Receiving Subsidy Payments:  The total number of providers receiving 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ/resource/reporting


 

 5 

subsidized child care payments for the report month.  The field is seven digits.  The number should be 
right-justified within the field and padded with zeros.  For example, 22,322 would be formatted as 
“0022322”.  

 
D. State Contact Name:  The name of the child care contact who is designated to receive the Summary 

Assessment reports. 
 

E. State Contact Telephone Number:  The telephone number of the named child care contact. 
 

F. State Contact Fax Number:  The fax number of the named child care contact. 
 

G. State Contact E-mail Address:  The e-mail address of the named child care contact. 
 
Head of Family Receiving Assistance 
 
The following elements (items 1-16) refer to the head of the family receiving child care assistance.  The "Head 
of Family Receiving Assistance" is the person for whom eligibility is determined.  If the child is considered a 
family of one (i.e., a protective service case), then all items refer to the child.   
 
1. Reporting Period:  The month and year being reported.  The report should include information about 

the families and children who actually received child care services during the reporting month, 
irrespective of when payment is made for those services.    

 
2. Unique State Identifier:  A unique identifying number, up to fifteen characters, assigned by the State to 

the family receiving child care assistance.  States may use alphanumeric characters. It is imperative 
that the Unique State Identifier assigned to each family (head of household) be used consistently over 
time – regardless of whether the family transitions on and off of subsidy, or moves within the State. 
The Unique State Identifier should never be “recycled” between different families. This will allow 
States and OCC to identify unique families over time in the absence of the Social Security Number 
(SSN).  If a case does not have a Unique State Identifier, the data related to the case cannot be 
processed.  

 
3. Filler: Effective the October 2015 report month, 9 blanks should be reported. :      
  
4. Family Federal Information Processing Series (FIPS) Code:  The FIPS Code geographic identifier 

issued by the National Bureau of Standards to designate where the head of the family receiving 
assistance is residing.  A list of all FIPS codes can be found at 
http://www.census.gov/geo/reference/ansi.html by contacting the National Center on Child Care Data 
and Technology (1-877-249-9117).  This includes a two digit State code and a three digit county code. 

 

http://www.census.gov/geo/reference/ansi.html
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5. Single Parent:  A single parent/adult who is legally/financially responsible for and living with a child 
where there is no other adult legally/financially responsible for the child in that eligible family.  If 
there is someone else in the household who does not have legal/financial responsibility for the child, 
the legally/financially responsible applicant is still considered a single parent.  A one-digit code 
indicates if the head of the family receiving assistance is single or not.   

 
  0 -- No  
  1 -- Yes 
  9 -- Not applicable; child is reported as head of household.  (If “9” is selected, indicate the 

Child’s unique identifier in Item 2.)  
 
6. Reason for Receiving Subsidized Child Care:  The one-digit code indicating the reason for receiving 

subsidized child care.  If more than one category applies, report the primary reason.  States should 
report responses that correspond to the State’s definitions of “working,” “job training and educational 
program,” and “protective services” that are included in its approved CCDF Plan.  Categories 6, 7, 8, 
and 9 should be used for families affected by a federally declared emergency. 
 
 Codes:   

       1 -- Employment 
  2 -- Training/Education 
  3 -- Both Employment and Training/Education 
  4 -- Protective Services 
  6 -- Federal Declared Emergency and Employment 
  7 -- Federal Declared Emergency and Training/Education 
  8 -- Federal Declared Emergency and both Employment and Training/Education 
  9 -- Federal Declared Emergency and Protective Services 
   
7. Total Monthly Child Care Co-payment by Family:  The monthly dollar amount the family receiving 

assistance must pay for child care services for the month being reported (the co-payment assigned by 
the Lead Agency or its designee). 
 

8. Month/Year Child Care Assistance to the Family Started:  The numbers for the month and year child 
care assistance started for the family receiving assistance.  If there was a short interruption of up to 
three months in child care assistance (for reasons such as a vacation or illness), indicate the original 
month/year the assistance started, rather than when the assistance resumed. 

 
9. Total Monthly Income:  Report total monthly income amount received by the family.  This is the total 

income that is used for determining eligibility and/or co-payment before any deductions that may be 
allowed are subtracted.  The amount should be rounded to the nearest dollar.  
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ITEMS 10-15:  Family Income Sources:  Each item reports sources of income, and requires a “yes” (1) or 
“no” (0) answer as it relates to the family receiving assistance for the month being reported.  Even if a source 
of income is disregarded for eligibility determination purposes, the correct answer is “yes” for a family that 
received income from that source in the reporting month.  For Protective Services cases only, if on a case-by-
case basis income is not used to determine eligibility and no income is reported, items 10-15 do not have to be 
completed. 
 

10. Employment income, including self-employment 
11. Cash or other monetary assistance under Title IV of the Social Security Act (TANF)   
12. State program for which State spending is counted towards TANF MOE 
13. Housing voucher or cash assistance 
14. Assistance under the Food Stamps Act of 1977 
15. Other Federal Cash Income Programs (such as SSI) 

 
16. Family Size Used to Determine Eligibility:  Number of family members upon which eligibility is 

based.  The field size is two digits and requires a value within the range of 1 to 99.   
 
16a.  Family Zip Code: Report the Zip Code of the family receiving assistance. Zip Codes are a system of 5-

digit postal codes used by the United States Postal Service (USPS).  
 
16b.  Family Homeless Status: Report whether the family receiving assistance is homeless. Report the 

family as homeless if homeless for one or more days during the month. In reporting this element, Lead 
Agencies must use the term homeless as defined in section 725 of subtitle VII-B of the McKinney-
Vento Act1.   

 
  Codes: 
  0 -- No, not Homeless 
  1 -- Yes, Homeless 

                                                 
1 As defined by section 725 of subtitle VII-B of the McKinney-Vento Act, the term homeless children and youths'— 

(A) means individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence; and 
(B) includes — 

(i) children and youths who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, 
or a similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping grounds due to the lack of alternative 
adequate accommodations; are living in emergency or transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are 
awaiting foster care placement; 
(ii) children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not designed for 
or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings; 
(iii) children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, 
bus or train stations, or similar settings; and 
(iv) migratory children (as such term is defined in section 1309 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act 
of 1965) who qualify as homeless for the purposes of this subtitle because the children are living in 
circumstances described in clauses (i) through (iii). 
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16c. Is a parent currently active duty (i.e. serving full-time) in the U.S. Military or a member of either a 
National Guard unit or a Military Reserve unit?  This should reflect the parent’s status during the 
report month. 

  Codes:  
  0 -- No 

1 -- Yes, Active duty U.S. Military 
  2 -- Yes, National Guard/Military Reserve 
 
 
Dependent Children Receiving Child Care Assistance (One record per child) 

 
Items 17 through 25 refer to dependent children in the family receiving child care assistance and indicate the 
demographic characteristics of children receiving care.   
 
17. Filler: Effective the October 2015 report month, 9 blanks should be reported.   
 
States are required to request information about ethnicity and race.  However, if a parent refuses to report 
ethnicity and/or race for their child, the field should be left blank.   
 
18. Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity:  Indicate the one digit code for the ethnicity of each child.  (Ethnicity 

should be determined for every child in the family.) 
  0 -- No 
  1 -- Yes 
 
ITEMS 19-23:  Race Of Child:  This item applies to each child receiving care.  Indicate the code for “yes” (1) 
or “no” (0) for each race listed below.  Select “yes” for as many races as reported by the family.  (Each child 
should have at least one race coded “yes.”  Multi-racial children should have a “1” in more than one race 
field.)   
 

19. American Indian or Alaskan Native   
20. Asian   
21. Black or African American  
22. Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander   
23. White 

 
 
24. Child’s Gender:  Indicate the one digit code for the gender of the child receiving care. 

 Codes: 
 1 -- Male 

  2 -- Female 
 
25. Month/Year of Birth:  Enter the numbers for the month and year of birth of the child receiving care. 
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25a.  Child Disability: This code applies to the child receiving services. Indicate “Yes” if the child does have 
a disability and “No” if the child does not.  This is defined to include: (A) a child with a disability, as 
defined in section 602 of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. 1401); (B) a child 
who is eligible for early intervention services under part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (20 U.S.C. 1431 et seq.); (C) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who is eligible 
for services under section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. 794); and (D) a child with 
a disability, as defined by the State involved. 

 
  Codes: 
  0 -- No 
  1 -- Yes 
 
Child Care Setting (One record for each setting for each child) 

 
This group of questions applies to the child care provided to each child (setting).  Include all information for 
each setting for each child in the family receiving care.  The displayed form includes space for only two 
settings, but the number of settings may exceed this in the electronic submittal. 
 
26. Type of Child Care:  The two-digit code indicating the type of child care setting.  Provider types are 

divided into two broad categories:  “licensed/regulated” and “legally operating without regulation.”  
For reporting purposes, a legally operating, unregulated provider is a provider that, if not participating 
in the CCDF program, would not be subject to any State or local child care regulations.  In order to be 
counted as a regulated provider, the provider must meet State-established standards that are more 
comprehensive than CCDF health and safety requirements, and be subject to monitoring inspections 
based on those standards.  The “licensed/regulated” and “legally operating without regulation” 
categories each include four types of providers (each State's definition of these terms apply):  in-home, 
family home, group home, and centers.  A relative provider is defined as being the grandparent, great-
grandparent, aunt or uncle, or sibling (living outside of the child’s home) of the child in care.  The 
following codes specify the type of care provided by each provider for each child during the report 
month.   

 
Codes: 

01 -- Licensed/regulated in-home child care 
02 -- Licensed/regulated family child care 
03 -- Licensed/regulated group home child care 
04 -- Licensed/regulated center-based care 
05 -- In-home care provided by a non-relative in a setting legally operating without regulation 
06 -- In-home care provided by a relative in a setting legally operating without regulation 

 07 -- Family home child care provided by a non-relative in a setting legally operating without 
regulation 

 08 -- Family home child care provided by a relative in a setting legally operating without 
regulation 

 09 -- Group home child care provided by a non-relative in a setting legally operating without 
regulation 

 10 -- Group home child care provided by a relative in a setting legally operating without regulation 
11 -- Child care center legally operating without regulation 
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27.   Total Monthly Amount Paid to Provider:  For each child receiving care, indicate the total monthly 
dollar amount (rounded to the nearest dollar) paid or to be paid to the provider for the care of the child.  
The Total Monthly Amount should include Federal, State, and locally funded amounts.  This amount 
does not include the family co-payment and should reflect only the subsidy that is paid to the provider 
for services rendered.   

 
28. Total Hours of Care Provided in Month:  Indicate the total number of hours of care provided for the 

reporting period (rounded to the nearest whole number).  States must indicate in a footnote how these 
hours are captured and calculated, i.e., Actual Clock Hours, Blocked Hours Based on Attendance, 
Authorized Clock Hours, or Authorized Blocked Hours.  Actual Clock Hours should reflect the real 
hours of care a child received.  Blocked Hours Based on Attendance should reflect blocked hours 
associated with the days the child actually received care.  Authorized Clock Hours should reflect the 
maximum number of paid hours of care that a child was authorized to receive.  Authorized Blocked 
Hours of care should reflect the upper threshold of the range of hours within each defined block.  For 
example, a CCDF grantee might have a block of hours associated with full-time care spanning 8 to 10 
hours for one day of care.  In this instance, if a State is unable to determine if the child received 8 or 10 
hours of care, they should report 10 hours of care.  Regardless of the type of hours being reported, a 
CCDF grantee should base their calculations on real numbers retrieved from one of their child care 
data systems.  They should not use averages that are calculated over a series of months. 

 
29. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN):  Indicate the provider’s FEIN.  If a FEIN is 

unavailable, the State must provide a Unique State Provider ID in question 30.  Effective with the 
October 2015 report, SSNs may not be reported in lieu of FEINs.  

 
30. Unique State Provider ID:  Indicate the provider’s Unique State ID.  If the State does not have Unique 

State Provider IDs, leave field blank.  In the absence of a FEIN, the Office of Child Care requires that 
States use a Unique State Identifier.  If a case has neither a FEIN nor a Unique State Identifier, the data 
related to the case cannot be processed.  The unique ID must be location specific.  If a provider 
operates in multiple locations, each location must have a unique ID.  Effective with the October 2015 
report, SSNs may not be used as the Unique State Provider ID. 
 
The Office of Child Care encourages States to use a unique identifier that can be linked, as appropriate, 
with other early care and education programs (e.g., Head Start, Early Head Start, State Pre-K) for 
purposes of integrated data and service coordination. 
 
Note:  Questions 29 and 30 are repeated as questions 31 and 32.  This duplication is necessary to 
connect the Child Care Setting record above to the Child Care Provider Record below.   
 
 
 

Child Care Provider (One record for each provider)  
 
This group of questions applies to the child care provider.  The State should include all providers receiving 
subsidies during the report month and include one record for each provider.  The set of data elements 31-40 is 
not included in the child or case level record (with elements 1-30), but is a separate provider record. 
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31. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN):  Indicate the provider’s FEIN.  (Same as #29.)  If a 
FEIN is unavailable, the State must provide a Unique State Provider ID in question 32. Effective with 
the October 2015 report, SSNs may not be reported in lieu of FEINs. 

 
32. Unique State Provider ID:  Indicate the provider’s unique State ID.  If the State does not have Unique 

State Provider IDs, leave field blank.  (Same as #30.)  In the absence of a FEIN, the Office of Child 
Care requires that States use a Unique State Identifier.  If a case has neither a Federal Employer 
Identification Number nor a Unique State Identifier, the data related to the case cannot be processed.  
The unique ID must be location specific.  If a provider operates in multiple locations, each location 
must have a unique ID.  Effective with the October 2015 report, SSNs may not be used as the 
Unique State Provider ID. 
 
Quality Elements: Effective with the October 2017 report, States must report quality information for 
every child care provider.  
 
States with a Quality Rating and Improvement System (QRIS), at a minimum, must report element 
#33 (QRIS participation) and #34 (QRIS rating) for every provider. For element #33 (QRIS 
participation), report code “9” is not acceptable for States with a QRIS. These States may report 
additional quality elements (#35 through #38) at their option.  
 
States without a QRIS must report quality information for every provider using one or more of the 
following elements: #35 (accreditation status), #36 (provider is subject to State or local pre-K 
standards), #37 (provider meets other State-defined quality measure), or #38 (provider is subject to 
Head Start or Early Head Start standards). Using report code “9” (NA) for all of these elements is not 
acceptable.  

 
33.  QRIS Participation:  Indicate one of the following codes.   

 
0-- No:  Provider is eligible, but does not participate in the QRIS  
1 -- Yes:  Provider does participate in the QRIS 
7 -- The State has an operating QRIS in the provider’s area, but the provider is not eligible to 
participate 
8 -- The State does not have an operating QRIS in the provider’s area 
9 -- The State has an operating QRIS in the provider’s area, but information is currently 
unavailable at the provider level 
 

34.  QRIS Rating:  This is the QRIS rating for the provider.  The State must choose and enter a three-digit 
code of alphanumeric characters to correspond with the appropriate level of QRIS rating.  The State 
must also provide a key explaining the code for quality levels in a footnote.  If the Lead Agency did 
not answer “Yes” to question 33, report (999).  If a provider is participating, but has not yet received a 
rating, report “888”. 

 
35.  Accreditation Status:  Indicate one of the following codes. 

 
0 -- No  
1 -- Yes:  National Accreditation  
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2 -- Yes:  State Accreditation 
3 -- Yes:  Other Accreditation (Not National or State Level)  
4 -- Yes:  Level/Type of Accreditation Unavailable 
9 -- NA:  Information Currently Unavailable  

 
36.  Provider is subject to, or is required to meet, State or Local Pre-K Standards:  Indicate one of the 

following codes.  If there are multiple Pre-K Standards, the State does not need to specify which 
particular standard applies to the provider.  An answer of “Yes” indicates that the provider is subject to 
at least one set of standards. 
 

0 -- No 
1 -- Yes 

  9 -- NA 
 
37. Provider Meets Other State-defined Quality Measure:  Indicate one of the following codes.  If the State 

answers “Yes,” it must provide a brief footnote describing the quality measure. 
 

0 -- No 
1 -- Yes 
9 -- NA 
 

38. Provider is subject to, or is required to meet, Head Start (HS) or Early Head Start (EHS) Standards: 
Indicate one of the following codes. 

 
0 -- No 
1 -- Yes 
9 -- NA 
 

39.  Provider Zip Code: Report the Zip Code of the provider receiving payment. Zip Codes are a system of 
5-digit postal codes used by the United States Postal Service (USPS). 
 

40. Inspection Date: Effective October 2017, report the date (MMDDYYYY) of the most recent inspection 
for compliance with health, safety, or fire standards (including licensing standards for licensed 
providers), which was completed in accordance with section 658E(c)(2)(K) of the Child Care and 
Development Block Grant Act.  If portions of the inspection were completed on different dates, report 
the last date (i.e., the date on which all components of the inspection were completed). 
 

  

The Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995 
 
Public reporting burden for this collection of information is estimated to average 25 hours per response, 
including the time for reviewing instructions, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and reviewing 
the collection of information. 
 
An agency may not conduct or sponsor, and a person is not required to respond to, a collection of 
information unless it displays a currently valid OMB control number. OMB #: 0970-0167  Expires: 
XX-XX-XXXX 
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