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1. 	 How can I find out if I have a “IV-D” child support case in this state? 

Contact customer service for the Louisiana Child Support Offices. 

2. 	 How can I contact my child support agency?  

A parent may contact the child support office by:

•	 Phone: 	 888-LA-HELPU (1-888-524-3578) 
		  225-922-8111 (TTY) 
		  225-922-8100 (Baton Rouge Local)

•	 E-mail: 	 DSS.LACSCLACSC@LA.GOV

•	 Regular mail:  	 P. O. Box 260032 
		  Baton Rouge, LA 70826

•	 Website: 	 http://www.dcfs.louisiana.gov

In Louisiana, the child support program is administered by the Department of Children & Family Services, Child 
Support Enforcement Section.  The Child Support Enforcement staff is located in Louisiana Child Support Offices.  
In Louisiana, there are 12 Support Enforcement Services (SES) offices. These offices serve all 64 parishes in the 
state. The agency also has cooperative agreements with 40 District Attorneys in the state. The scope of services 
provided by District Attorneys varies, depending on the services that a particular District Attorney is contracted to 
provide.  The list of offices is here: http://www.dcfs.louisiana.gov/index.cfm?md=directory&search=1&catid=1&city=& 
zip=&parishID=0 

3. 	 If I am incarcerated, are there any barriers to having my order changed?

Yes.  There are no policies or statutes which automatically lead to modification of obligations for incarcerated 
parents.  But, some courts have applied Louisiana state law (LA R.S. 9:315.11) to incarcerated individuals when 
calculating the child support obligation.  The statute details treatment of parties who are “voluntarily unemployed or 
underemployed.”

4. 	 Do you provide any materials online that I can use to ask for a change to my child support 
order?  

No. 

5. 	 Do you have any printed materials I could read to learn more about child support for 
parents who are incarcerated?

No.

6. 	 When can I ask to have my order changed?

The request for review may be made verbally or in writing. A material change in circumstances is not required in 
order to conduct the review in the 3-year cycle.   

7. 	 How do I request the change?

A request for review can be made verbally or in writing at any time by either party.    
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The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement prepared this guide; however, your local 
child support agency can provide the most current information. This guide does not have 
any binding legal authority and does not constitute legal advice. You may wish to consult a 
lawyer before using the forms or information provided.

8. 	 What is the process after I’ve asked to have my order changed, and how long does it 
take?

When a party requests the review, a notice is generated to the other party on the case.  Parties are given 20 days 
to provide verification of income, child care expenses and health insurance cost.  If response is not received, an 
additional ten days are allowed for submission of documents.  Once documents are received, the child support 
analyst performs a review to determine the basic child support obligation using the income information provided by 
parties.   If the review occurs outside of the three year cycle, a 25% change in circumstance must be shown.  Once 
the change in circumstance has been demonstrated, a court hearing is scheduled to set the new support obligation.  
The process should be completed within 180 days from the day review was requested.

9. 	 Is this process different if the other parent agrees to the change in advance? 

Yes, there are provisions for modifying the order when parties agree.  

10. 	Does it cost anything to try to have my order changed?

No.

11. 	If I am incarcerated, do I need to do anything else to have my order changed?

No. 

12. 	If I am incarcerated, does my state have any programs to help me with child support?

Child support staff are available to present at pre-release group training when requested by the correctional facility. 

13. 	Can I get help with child support questions from other sources?

No. 

14. 	Is there anything else I should know about trying to change my order?

No.




