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1. 	 How can I find out if I have a “IV-D” child support case in this state? 

A parent can contact our Customer Service Bureau at 1-800-332-2733 (toll-free in U.S. and Puerto Rico), 617-660-
1234 (for local callers in the Boston area), or 1-800-255-5587 (TTY/TDD/TT (for the hearing impaired)). Parents can 
also contact us via email at csegen@dor.state.ma.us.

2. 	 How can I contact my child support agency?  

Child Support Enforcement Division - Department of Revenue 
PO Box 9561 
Boston, Massachusetts 02114-9561

Website: http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/

Customer Service: 1-800-332-2733 (toll-free in U.S. and Puerto Rico), 617-660-1234 (for local callers in the Boston 
area), or 1-800-255-5587 (TTY/TDD/TT (for the hearing impaired).

Link to PDF file of DOR/CSE locations and phone numbers:  
http://www.mass.gov/dor/docs/cse/regional/regional-info.pdf

Email:  csegen@dor.state.ma.us

3. 	 If I am incarcerated, are there any barriers to having my order changed?

No. There are no specific legal statutes or policies that prevent incarcerated parents from requesting or obtaining 
a modification.  The Massachusetts Child Support Guidelines provide that a payor’s incarceration for at least three 
years may be the basis for a deviation from the Guidelines.  State law permits a deviation from the child support 
guidelines where the parent “is incarcerated, is likely to remain incarcerated for an additional 3 years and has 
insufficient financial resources to pay support.”   

4. 	 Do you provide any materials online that I can use to ask for a change to my child support 
order?  

No, the forms necessary to request a modification are not currently available online. If a customer wants to request 
a modification, he or she must request the forms from DOR or pick them up at the court. There is, however, a page 
on the website informing customers on how to file for a modification:  
http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/court-information/modify-your-court-order.html, which is attached here.

Parents who are incarcerated may request a meeting with the DOR staff person who works with inmates at the 
facility.

5. 	 Do you have any printed materials I could read to learn more about child support for 
parents who are incarcerated?

No.

mailto:csegen@dor.state.ma.us
http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/
http://www.mass.gov/dor/docs/cse/regional/regional-info.pdf
mailto:csegen@dor.state.ma.us
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6. 	 When can I ask to have my order changed?

Massachusetts law provides that child support orders may be modified if there is an inconsistency between the 
amount of the existing child support order and the amount that would result from application of the child support 
guidelines. If an obligor is incarcerated and has no income, a court might reduce the order to the minimum amount 
until the obligor is released.

DOR, as the IV-D agency, provides assistance to customers who want to ask the court to modify their orders if the 
case is an open IV-D case, has a current child support order (and/or medical support order), the youngest child is 
17.5 years old, and the order is over 3 years old.

If the order is less than 3 years old, DOR has the discretion to decide whether there has been a substantial change 
in circumstances and if DOR will provide assistance with a modification.

Incarcerated individuals can also find instructions on the website,  
http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/court-information/modify-your-court-order.html.

7. 	 How do I request the change?

For incarcerated individuals: Incarcerated individuals should follow the instructions listed on the following DOR/CSE 
web page: http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/court-information/modify-your-court-order.html.  If you are a parent 
who pays child support and you are incarcerated, send an email to csegen@dor.state.ma.us, or fill out the form at 
https://wfb.dor.state.ma.us/dorcommon/contactus.aspx?grp=cse&type=generalinfo, or send a letter to the address 
below to request a package specific to your needs.

                    Massachusetts Department of Revenue 
                    Child Support Enforcement Division 
                    P.O. Box 7057 
                    Boston, MA 02204 
                    Attention: Modification

For others:  A IV-D customer submits a request for modification by submitting a modification pleading to DOR.  The 
form is available from DOR or at the probate court.

8. 	 What is the process after I’ve asked to have my order changed, and how long does it 
take?

If a noncustodial parent who is requesting a modification is incarcerated, and DOR is providing assistance, DOR 
will file the modification pleading, schedule a hearing, and present the facts to the court. DOR may also require the 
noncustodial parent to report to DOR upon his/her release.  

For others, DOR reviews the pleadings to determine whether  they are complete. It will take DOR about a week 
to review a modification request to determine if it is complete and if we can locate the nonrequesting party. If not 
complete or not for modification of current support, the pleading is returned to the customer.   If DOR is providing 
assistance to the customer, DOR files the modification pleading with the court and obtains a hearing date;  DOR 
serves the other parent (and pay any cost of service);  and DOR notifies both parties (the party requesting the 
modification and the other parent) of the hearing date.   It may take several weeks to get a hearing date, but usually 
within two months.  The requesting party must appear in court for the hearing.

If DOR does not agree that a modification might be appropriate, DOR will return the forms to you and, if you decide 
to go forward, you will have to file the forms, serve required legal notice on the other parent (and pay any cost for 
service), and schedule a hearing on your own. If you do NOT want DOR’s help, you can file your forms directly with 
the court. If you file the forms directly with the court, DOR will not serve the forms, will not pay for service, and will 
not schedule a hearing for you.

http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/court-information/modify-your-court-order.html
http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/your-child-support/information-about-child-support/modify-your-court-order.html
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The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement prepared this guide; however, your local 
child support agency can provide the most current information. This guide does not have 
any binding legal authority and does not constitute legal advice. You may wish to consult a 
lawyer before using the forms or information provided.

9. 	 Is this process different if the other parent agrees to the change in advance? 

If both parties agree to a modification, there is a process for a joint petition for modification that is signed by both 
parties and then filed with the court. That process may take less time.

10. 	Does it cost anything to try to have my order changed?

No.

11. 	If I am incarcerated, do I need to do anything else to have my order changed?

No, but the process is different.  Incarcerated parents should review the instructions on  
http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/court-information/modify-your-court-order.html which are attached.  

If the requesting party is incarcerated, DOR does not require him/her to appear in court.  Whether the court requires 
the party to attend depends on the court.  

12. 	If I am incarcerated, does my state have any programs to help me with child support?

Yes, DOR staff meet regularly with incarcerated parents in most State Department of Correction and 9 of 13 
county correctional facilities.  Staff at the remaining county facilities and at the Federal Medical Center, Devens, 
regularly contact DOR on behalf of incarcerated parents. DOR staff can assist incarcerated parents by providing the 
necessary forms to request a modification and explaining the process.  Incarcerated parents should be in regular 
contact with DOR during incarceration and after release to ensure that their orders are consistent with their ability to 
pay and to responsibly manage their child support obligations.

13. 	Can I get help with child support questions from other sources?

A variety of Massachusetts legal services programs and advocates provide legal assistance to incarcerated 
individuals, and their contact information is available at   
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/unemployment-insur/need-help/finding-a-legal-representative.html

14. 	Is there anything else I should know about trying to change my order?

Noncustodial parents who received Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) (and have no other source of 
income) are likely eligible for a reduction in their child support orders. In Massachusetts, a noncustodial parent must 
file a complaint for modification before that parent can receive credit against a child support obligation for dependent 
benefits the child receives from the noncustodial parent’s SSA benefits. If a parent owes arrears and receives SSDI 
or SSI benefits, DOR may consider reducing or adjusting arrears assigned to the State. The noncustodial parent 
should contact DOR for more information.  

http://www.mass.gov/dor/child-support/court-information/modify-your-court-order.html
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/unemployment-insur/need-help/finding-a-legal-representative.html
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The Official W ebsite of the Department of Revenue (DOR) 

Department of Revenue 
About DOR 

Home Child Support Your Child Support Information About Child Support Modify Your Court Order 

Modify Your Court Order 

If you are a Department of Revenue Child Support Enforcement Division (DOR) customer and your youngest child is 

under the age of 17½, DOR can help you with your request for modification whether you are the parent who receives 

support or the parent who pays support and: 

You are asking for a modification of a current child support order (an increase or decrease or to add an order for 

health care coverage for the children); and 

Your request for modification involves ONLY child or medical support for a minor child (e.g., it does not involve
 

custody or visitation).
 

The first step is for you to consider the reason you think a modification of your child support order might be 

appropriate. Two common reasons for a modification are: 

A parent’s income changes. For example a parent becomes unemployed, starts to receive disability payments or 

public assistance, or becomes incarcerated. Or a parent gets a new job at higher pay. 

A parent’s health care coverage changes. For example, the parent ordered to provide health care coverage no longer 

has coverage available to him or her. 

You should also consider what the court might order for child support. In Massachusetts, the court uses the 

Massachusetts Child Support Guidelines to determine the amount of a child support order. Only the court can change the 

amount of your child support order. The Guidelines consider several factors including both parents' income and ability to 

earn income, the number and ages of the children, and the cost of health care coverage for the children. You can see the 

Guidelines and get an idea of how much child support the court might order by using the Child Support Calculation 

Worksheet available on the court’s website at: 

http://www.mass.gov/courts/childsupport/index.html 

If you ask the court to modify your order, the court may increase or decrease your child support order or may make no 

change at all. We recommend you use this online worksheet to see if a modification would be called for at the present 

time. 

Note:  If you are a parent who pays child support and you are incarcerated and will be for more than one year, do not 

follow these instructions. Send us an email at CSE General Information, or send a letter to the address above, to 

request a package specific to your needs. 

If you want DOR’s help YOU MUST: 

Ask DOR or the court staff for the necessary forms; and 

Submit the forms and any necessary documents to DOR at the following address: 

Massachusetts Department of Revenue


 Child Support Enforcement Division
 

P.O. Box 7057
 

Boston, MA 02204
 

Attention: Modification
 

Note: DO NOT submit a modification form with your address on it if you want your address protected from the other 

parent. 

Call DOR before submitting a modification form if you have safety concerns related to the other parent and 

moving forward with a modification could create a safety risk to you or your children. 

You must also call DOR before submitting a modification form if any of the following apply: 

Your child support order is not from a Massachusetts court; or 

You want to end your child support order because you and the other parent are now living together. 

DOR will review the forms and documents you provide and DOR’s information on your case and: 

If DOR agrees that a modification of the child support order might be appropriate DOR will file the forms for you; 

serve the other parent (and pay any cost of service); and ask the court to schedule a hearing. It may take several 

weeks to get a hearing date. 
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If DOR does not agree that a modification might be appropriate, DOR will return the forms to you and, if you decide 

to go forward, you will have to file the forms, serve the other parent (and pay any cost for service), and schedule a 

hearing on your own. 

If we agree that a modification might be appropriate, but the location of the other parent is unknown, we will try to 

locate the other parent. We will proceed with the modification once the other parent is located. 

If we agree that a modification might be appropriate, but a Massachusetts court does not have authority to modify 

your order, we will send a request to the state that can modify the order. 

If you do NOT want DOR’s help, you can file your forms directly with the court. If you file the forms directly with the court, 

DOR will NOT serve the forms, will NOT pay for service, and will NOT schedule a hearing for you. 

The court will require some sort of evidence (documentation or testimony) about a parent's ability to pay.  Examples of 

documents include copies of: 

Orders to report for military duty; 

Paystubs, bank statements, or income tax returns; 

A letter verifying receipt of public assistance benefits; 

A court order giving you custody of the children; 

Verification that you are providing medical insurance coverage; 

Proof of unemployment benefits; 

Proof of Social Security or Veterans’ benefits; 

Workers’ Compensation award letters; 

Proof of public assistance benefits; or 

Medical documentation.
 

If DOR is assisting you to go to court, our staff will appear at the court hearing and provide the court with any information
 

we have about the income and assets of both parents. DOR does not represent either parent. Our goal is to ensure that
 

the child support order is consistent with the parents' ability to pay and the Child Support Guidelines.
 

The modification form that is filed with the court includes your address, and it will be delivered to the other 

parent. You must call DOR if you want your address protected from the other parent or if you have safety 

concerns related to the other parent and moving forward with a modification could create a safety risk to you or 

your children. 
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