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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Alabama 
 
Melanie K. Duncan, Contract Manager 
Phone: 334-242-9300 
Fax: 334-242-0606 
E-mail: cslienunit@dhr.alabama.gov 

The 
employer 
has 14 days 
to answer 
whether or 
not they will 
be able to 
withhold. 
Withholding 
commences 
on the first 
pay period 
following the 
14-day 
answer 
period. 

Once 
money is 
withheld, 
it must 
be 
remitted 
within 7 
working 
days. 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$2 per 
month 

Code of 
Ala.§§30-3-
61, 30-3-66, 
30-3-67, 30-
3-71, 38-10-8 

Alaska  
 
Phone: 907-269-6900 
 
Lisa Taylor, Client Services Manager 
Phone: 907-269-6803 
 
Ava Corbitt, Office Assistant II 
Employer Assistance 
Phone: 907-269-6089 
 
Sarah Johnson, Supervisor 
Employer Assistance 
Phone: 907-269-6986 
 
Website: 
www.childsupport.alaska.gov/Employe
rs/Employer_Information.asp 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
mandatory 
retirement 
plans 

40% of 
disposable 
income; 
may go up 
to 65% 
when good 
cause is 
determined 
by agency 
as outlined 
in Alaska 
Admin. 
Code  

Prorate Promptly 3 years 
after 
termination 

$5 per 
payment 

Alaska 
Employer’s 
Guide to 
Wage 
Withholding 
for Child 
Support; Ak. 
Stat. 
§§25.27.062, 
25.27.255; 
15 Ak. Adm. 
Code 
§125.540 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Arizona 
 
Arizona Department of Economic 
Security 
Division of Child Support Enforcement 
(DCSE) 
Policy Unit 
PO Box 40458 
Attention: Site Code 776A 
Phoenix, Arizona 85067 
 
Phone: 602-771-8000 
Phone: 602-771-8127 
Fax: 602-771-8130 
E-mail:  
dcse-policyquestions@azdes.gov 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days after 
date of 
notice 

2 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, local 
income taxes, 
FICA, 
Medicare 
taxes 

50% of 
disposable 
income 

Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

At least 90 
days  

$1 per 
payment or 
$4 per 
month, 
whichever 
is greater 

A.R.S. §§25-
504, 33-
1131; 
A.R.S. § 25-
505.01 

Arkansas 
 
Mary Smith 
Phone: 501-682-6828 
E-mail: 
mary.e.smith@ocse.arkansas.gov 
 
Toni Erwin  
Phone: 800-216-0224 
E-mail: 
employer.relations@ocse.arkansas.gov 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days after 
date notice 
was mailed 

Payday Federal, 
state, local 
income taxes, 
FICA, 
Medicare, 
Railroad 
Retirement 

None Prorate Immediately Keep on file 
until 
notified 

$2.50 per 
payment 

A.C.A. §§9-
12-312, 9-14-
224, 9-14-
227, 9-14-
228 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

California 
 
Program Policy Branch 
Phone: 916-464-5883 
Fax: 916-464-7032 
E-mail: policy.branch@dcss.ca.gov 

10 days after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, and 
local taxes; 
FICA; 
Medicare; and 
disability 
insurance; 
union dues; 
deductions for 
disability 
insurance and 
payments to 
public 
employees’ 
retirement 
systems, 
provided that 
the 
deductions 
are required 
as a condition 
of 
employment. 

1 (See 
below) 

2 (See 
below) 

Within 10 
days 

3 (See 
below) 

$1.50 per 
payment 

Cal. Civ. Proc. 
Code 
§§706.022, 
§§706.030, 
706.052; Cal. 
Fam. Code 
§§5235, 
5231, 5238, 
5246; 5282; 
22 California 
Code of 
Regulations 
§§ 116100, 
110280 

1 Except as provided by the court, the maximum withholding is 50% of the net disposable earnings; or 25% (may be lower by written agreement) of state 
disability, temporary worker's compensation benefits, or unemployment benefit payments.  A court ordered IWO is limited to the limit under Section 1673 of Title 
15 of the US Code. 
 
2 Prorate - If the NCP has more than one garnishment for support, total the amounts due for all assignments.  If 50% of the NCP's net disposable earnings cannot 
satisfy all of the garnishments, prorate first among all the current obligations.  Any remainder is applied to arrears in the same manner. 
 
3 Generally, the employer must retain the IWO until such time that the employer has been notified that the IWO has been terminated.  By operation of law a 
withholding order for support shall automatically terminate one year after the employment of the employee by the employer terminates. 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Colorado 
 
Arnold Erickson 
Phone: 303-866-5178 
E-mail: arnold.erickson@state.co.us 
Website: www.childsupport.state.co.us 

First pay 
period that 
begins within 
14 business 
days from 
the date of 
the 
withholding 
notice 

7 
business 
days 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

Keep on file 
until 
notified by 
child 
support 
agency 

$5 per 
month 
(from 
remainder 
of 
employee’s 
income 
after 
deductions 
and 
withholding
) 

C.R.S. §§13-
54-104, 14-
14-111.5; 14-
14-102 
Colorado 
Child Support 
Enforcement 
Employer’s 
Guide 



STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION 

Office of Child Support Enforcement  Page 5 of 25 
Employer Services Team 
January 2013 

State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Connecticut 
 
Phone: 888-233-7223 
Website: www.ctchildsupport.com 

1st pay 
period after 
14 days from 
service 

7 
business 
days 

Federal, state 
city taxes, 
FICA, normal 
retirement 
contributions, 
union dues, 
group life and 
health 
insurance 
premiums*. 
 
* Cash child 
support has 
priority over 
med 
insurance 
premium. 

If weekly 
disposable 
income is: 
Less than 
$145, then 
maximum 
amount to 
withhold is 
15% (e.g., 
withhold 
$15 if 
weekly 
disposable 
is $100). * 
 
Greater 
than $145, 
then 
maximum 
amount to 
withhold is 
weekly 
disposable 
minus 
$123.25* 
*unless 
lower 
amount 
ordered 

Prorate  Promptly No 
retention 
unless 
employee 
may return 
at a later 
date 

No 
provision 

CT General 
Statutes Sec. 
52-362(e). 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Delaware 
 
Kim Ritter, Social Services Senior 
Administrator 
Phone: 302-395-6526 
E-mail: kim.ritter@state.de.us 

No later than 
the first pay 
period 
occurring 7 
days after 
receipt of 
IWO 

On or 
before 
payday 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
mandatory 
retirement, 
union dues 

None Prorate  Upon 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

No 
provision 

13 DE. Code 
§513 

District of Columbia 
 
Aggie Rhodes, Wage Withholding 
Manager 
Phone: 202-724-2119 
E-mail: aggie.rhodes@dc.gov 

No later than 
the first pay 
period 
occurring 10 
days after 
the date the 
notice or 
order to 
withhold was 
issued. 

No later 
than 
seven 
(7) 
business 
days 
after the 
date the 
income 
would 
have 
been 
paid to 
the 
obligor. 

Federal, 
state, local 
taxes, FICA 

None Withhold-
ings are 
prorated 
among 
the 
obligor’s 
orders up 
to the 
limits of 
the CCPA. 

Within 10 
days after 
the obligor’s 
termination 
or within 10 
days after 
the employer 
receives 
notice of the 
termination 
from the 
obligor. 

The District 
has no law 
or policy on 
this issue. 

$2.00 per 
deduction 
per pay 
period. 

D.C. Official 
Code §§46-
208, 46-212, 
46-216, 46-
217 (2008). 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Florida 
 
Florida Child Support Employer Line 
Phone: 866-435-2763 

No later than 
the first 
payment 
date which 
occurs more 
than 14 days 
after the 
date the 
income 
deduction 
notice was 
served on 
the payor. 

2 days  Federal, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$5 for 1st 
payment, 
$2 per 
payment 
thereafter 

Fla. Stat. 
§61.1301 
 
Website: 
http://flsenat
e.gov/Laws/S
tatutes/2011/
61.1301 

Georgia 
 
Erica Thornton 
Phone: 404-657-3866 
E-mail: emthornton@dhr.state.ga.us 

No later than 
the first pay 
period that 
occurs after 
14 days 
following the 
date the 
notice was 
mailed 

Within 
two 
business 
days 
after 
each 
payment 
date 

None None Prorate 
payments 
to all NCP 
cases that 
are IVD 

When the 
payor no 
longer 
provides 
income to 
the obligor 

No law or 
policy 

Up to 
$25.00 
against the 
obligor’s 
income to 
reimburse 
the payor 
for 
administrati
ve costs for 
the first 
income 
deduction 
pursuant to 
an income 
deduction 
order and 
up to $3.00 
for each 
deduction 
thereafter. 

O.C.G.A. §19-
6-33 



STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION 

Office of Child Support Enforcement  Page 8 of 25 
Employer Services Team 
January 2013 

State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Guam 
 
Yolanda Salalila, SDU Supervisor 
Phone: 671-475-3324, ext. 669 
Fax: 671-475-3203 
E-mail: yolanda.salalila@guamcse.net 

First pay 
period after 
receipt of 
the Order 

Within 5 
days of 
the day 
an 
employe
e’s pay is 
due 

Local tax, 
FICA 

60% of 
disposable 
income, but 
only 50% if 
NCP 
supporting 
either a 
spouse or 
child not 
subject of 
an Order 

Divide 
equally 

Immediately Notify 
agency if 
employee is 
terminated 

No fee 
allowed 

5 GCA 
Section 
34132, 
34133.1, 
34134, 
34135, 
34137, 34138 

Hawaii 
 
Kaleialoha Vierra, CSE Specialist 
Phone: 808-692-7147 
Fax: 808-692-7134 
E-mail: kalei.a.vierra@hawaii.gov 

1st pay 
period within 
7 days from 
mailing 

5 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Immediately Keep order 
until 
notified by 
IV-D 

$2 per 
payment 

H.R.S. 
§576E-16 

Idaho 
 
Kristy White 
Phone: 208-334-4975 
E-mail: whitek@dhw.idaho.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal 
and state 
taxes 

50% of 
disposable 
income 

Prorate  Promptly Keep until 
notified 

$5 per 
payment 

Id. Code §32-
1210 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Illinois 
 
Patti Rhodes, Assistant Manager 
Collection and Asset Recovery 
Phone: 217-557-3060 
Fax: 217-557-9879 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 
business 
days; if 
remitting 
for 10 or 
more 
employe
es OR if 
have 250 
employe
es or 
more (do 
not all 
have to 
be in IL) 
and 
remitting 
for 1 or 
more, 
must 
send 
payment
s 
ELECTRO
NICALLY 

Federal, 
state, and 
local taxes 
and other 
retirement 
and disability 
contributions 
required to be 
withheld by 
law, FICA, 
union dues 
and amounts 
exempted by 
the federal 
Consumer 
Credit 
Protection Act 

None Prorate  7 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per 
month 

750 ILCS 
28/35 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Indiana 
 
Lucille Harbin, Supervisor 
Indiana Department of Child Services 
Child Support Bureau 
Employer Maintenance Unit (EMU) 
Phone: 800-292-0403 
Phone: 317-234-4767 
E-mail: emu@dcs.in.gov 

14 business 
days after 
order is 
received 

If the 
employer 
has 
more 
than 50 
employ-
ees on 
staff and 
is 
remitting 
more 
than one 
child 
support 
pay-
ment, 
they are 
required 
to do it 
electron-
ically.  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA  

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$2 per 
payment 

Ind. Code 
Ann. §§31-
16-15-15, 31-
16-15-17, 31-
16-15-18 

Iowa 
 
Lana Leuenberger 
Phone: 319-226-7068 
Phone: 877-274-2580 
Fax: 319-226-7150 
E-mail: csrue@dhs.state.ia.us 
Website: http://iowachildsupport.gov 
 
Terri Pollard, Program Planner 3 
Bureau of Collections Central Office 
Phone: 515-242-6096 
E-mail: tpollar@dhs.state.ia.us 

10 days after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

50% of net 
disposable 
income 

Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$2 per 
payment 

Iowa Code 
§§252D.17, 
252D.18A 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Kansas 
 
Tonya Brunson 
Phone: 785-296-6974 
E-mail: tonya.brunson@dcf.ks.gov 
 
Website:  
http://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/CSS/P
ages/Income-Withholding-Order-
general-information.aspx 

1st pay 
period after 
14 days from 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 
and other 
retirement 
and disability 
contributions 

None Divide 
equally 

Promptly No law or 
policy 

Lesser of $5 
per pay 
period or 
$10 per 
month 

K.S.A. §§23-
4,108, 23-4, 
109 

Kentucky 
 
Mary W. Sparrow 
Phone: 502-564-2285 ext. 4428 
E-mail: mary.sparrow@ky.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
14 business 
days after 
date of 
notice 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$1 per 
payment 

K.RS. 
§§405.465, 
405.467, 
405.470  

Louisiana 
 
Gloria Garner, Program Manager 
Phone: 225-342-2148 
E-mail: gloria.garner@la.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
retirement, 
medical, life 
insurance 

50% of 
disposable 
income 

Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per pay 
period 

La. R.S. 
13:3881, 
46:236.3 

Maine 
 
Mike Hughes 
Phone: 207-287-2916 
E-mail: mike.hughes@maine.gov 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
state 
employee’s 
retirement, 
required 
union dues 

None Prorate  15 days after 
termination 

Order 
stands until 
released by 
the child 
support 
agency 

$2 per 
payment 

14 M.R.S.A. 
§3126-A; 19-
A M.R.S.A. 
§§2306, 
2652, 2663; 
Code Me. R. 
10-144-351 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Maryland 
 
Donna Mooshegian 
Phone: 410-767-7054 
E-mail: dmooshe2@dhr.state.md.us 

1st pay 
period after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

Not 
required 

$2 per 
payment 

Md. Code 
Ann., Family 
Law §§10-
128, 10-129, 
10-130 

Massachusetts 
 
Peter Coulombe 
Phone: 617-626-4157 
E-mail: coulombep@dor.state.ma.us 

1st payday 
more than 3 
days after 
notice 

3 days; 
if 
remitting 
for 5 or 
more 
employe
es, must 
send 
payment
s 
electroni
cally 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 
and 
mandatory 
public 
employee 
deductions 

None Prorate Before next 
payday 
following 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per 
payment 

Mass. Ann. 
Laws ch. 
119A, §12 

Michigan 
 
Chris Townsend 
Phone: 517-241-5053 
E-mail: townsendc2@michigan.gov 

7 days after 
service 

3 days  Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

50% of 
disposable 
income 

Prorate Promptly Until 
notified by 
agency; 
IWN stays 
in effect 
even upon 
return to 
employ-
ment 

No 
provision 

M.C.L. §§ 
552.608, 
552.609, 
552.611, 
552.611a, 
552.614 

Minnesota 
 
Policy Help Desk 
Phone: 800-657-3890 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per 
payment 

Minn. Stat. § 
§518A.53 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Mississippi 
 
Karen Powell, Policy Administrator 
Phone: 601-359-4814 
E-mail: karen.powell@mdhs.ms.gov  

1st pay 
period within 
14 days after 
service 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
other 
retirement 
and disability 
contributions 

None Prorate Promptly Do not 
retain; 
return copy 
of order to 
agency 
after 
termination 

$2 per 
payment 
plus $5 to 
be withheld 
each month 
for DHS 
(the 
monthly $5 
may be 
sent in with 
the 
withheld 
obligation). 

Miss. Code 
Ann. §93-11-
111 

Missouri 
 
Stefanie Martin 
Phone: 800-585–9234 
Phone: 573-526–0691 
E-mail: stefanie.r.martin@dss.mo.gov 

2 weeks 
after  
mailing or 
electronic 
issuance of 
notice 

7 
business 
days 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

State 
withholding 
statutes 
invoke the 
CCPA.  
However, 
withholding 
orders 
issued by 
the Missouri 
IV-D 
agency limit 
the 
withholding 
to 50% of 
the 
disposable 
earnings. 

Prorate Within 10 
days after 
termination 

Until 
notified by 
enforcing 
authority 

$6 per 
month 

Section 
454.505, 
RSMo 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Montana 
 
Monique Smirnov 
Phone: 406-444-6893 
E-mail: msmirnov@mt.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
employment 
taxes, 
mandatory 
retirement 
and 
mandatory 
union dues 

50% of 
disposable 
income; if 
income is 
not wages, 
earnings or 
remuneratio
n for 
personal 
services, up 
to 100% of 
net income 
(100% of 
contract 
proceeds) 

State 
orders 
take 
priority 
over 
income 
withholdin
g orders 
issued by 
Montana 
court or 
court 
agency of 
another 
state. 

Promptly Keep order 
until 
notified by 
IV-D that 
order is 
terminated 
or modified 

$5 per 
month 

Mont. Code 
Ann. §§40-5-
423 

Nebraska 
 
Lisa Maddock 
Phone: 402-471-7620 
E-mail: lisa.maddock@nebraska.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
date of 
notice 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
mandatory 
retirement 

None Prorate  30 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$2.50 per 
month 

Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §§42-
364.01, 42-
364.12, 43-
1722, 43-
1723, 43-
1718.02 
(2)(i) 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Nevada 
 
Debbie Fazzino 
Phone: 775-684-0701 
E-mail: dfazzino@dwss.nv.gov 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days after 
date notice 
is mailed 

7 
business 
days  

Federal taxes, 
FICA, 
Medicare 

None Prorate  Timely No law or 
policy 

* (See 
below) 

Nev. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
§§31.295, 
31A.030, 
31A.075, 
31A.080, 
31A.090 

 
* $3 Employer’s Cost Recovery fee: 
Allows employers to deduct up to $3.00 for each withholding from the amount paid the employee as reimbursement for the costs associated with carrying out the 
withholding. 
 
$2 Income Withholding Fee Payable to State Treasurer: 
Employers are required to collect $2 per payment (max. $4 per month) to be sent to State Treasurer no less than quarterly per NRS 31A.080(3). 
 
Send the $2 fee to: 
Nevada State Treasurer’s Office 
PO Box 749549  
Los Angeles, CA 90074-9549 
 
For information on Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) of Treasurer’s Fee, contact SCaDU at E-mail: scadu.eft@dwss.nv.gov 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

New Hampshire 
 
Annette Harney 
Phone: 603-223-4803 
E-mail: aharney@dhhs.state.nh.us 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days after 
date of 
notice  

Payday Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  15 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per 
payment 

N.H. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
§§458-B:4, 
458-B:6  

New Jersey 
 
Sara Pascale 
Phone: 609-631-2787 
E-mail: sara.pascale@dhs.state.nj.us 

1st pay 
period 
ending after 
postmark 
date 

Payday Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate Promptly No law; if 
employee 
leaves, 
notify IV-D 

$1 per 
payment 

N.J. Stat. 
§§2A:17-
56.8, 2A:17-
56.11 

New Mexico 
 
Mark Youtzy 
Phone: 505-222-9410 
E-mail: mark.youtzy@state.nm.us 

Next payday 
after service 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
union dues 

50% of 
disposable 
income 

Prorate No specific 
provision; 
governed by 
federal 
requirements 
to send 
termination 
notice 
“promptly” 

No law or 
policy 

$1 per 
payment 

N.M. Stat. 
Ann. §§40-
4A-6, 40-4A-
8 

New York 
 
Cheryl Morris  
Phone: 518-486-9595  
Email: cheryl.morris@otda.state.ny.us  

1st pay 
period after 
14 days after 
service 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, and 
FICA   

None Prorate  Promptly Return 
order to 
issuer if 
employee 
terminates 

No 
provision 

N.Y. Civil 
Practice Law 
& Rules 
§5241 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

North Carolina 
 
Nancy Conchin 
Phone: 919-855-4436 
Fax: 919-715-8174 
E-mail: nancy.conchin@dhhs.nc.gov 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
and 
involuntary 
retirement 
contributions 

40% of 
disposable 
income if 
one order 
only; 45% 
if multiple 
orders and 
NCP directly 
supports 
other 
dependents
; 50% if 
multiple 
orders and 
no other 
dependents
. 

Prorate  Promptly No law or 
policy 

$2 per 
payment 

N.C. Gen. 
Stat. §§110-
136.6, 110-
136.8 

North Dakota 
 
Suzanne “Sam” Witkowski 
Phone: 701-328-7528 
E-mail: sewitkowski@nd.gov 

Next payday 
after receipt 
of notice 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA  

Not to 
exceed 
50% of the 
obligor's 
disposable 
income . . . 
N.D.C.C. § 
14-09-
09.16(6) 

Prorate  Within 7 
business 
days of 
termination 

Until 
notified by 
child 
support 
agency that 
order has 
terminated 

$3 per 
month 

N.D. Cent. 
Code §14-09-
09.16, 14-09-
09.10 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Ohio 
 
Jacques Saliba 
Phone: 614-752-2586 
E-mail: jack.saliba@odjfs.ohio.gov 

Begin the 
withholding 
no later 
than: 
 (a)   
Fourteen 
business 
days from 
the date the 
notice is 
mailed to the 
payor; or 
 (b)  
The first pay 
period that 
occurs after 
fourteen 
business 
days from 
the date the 
notice is 
mailed to the 
payor. 

Send the 
amount 
withheld 
to the 
Ohio 
Child 
Support 
Payment 
Central 
(CSPC) 
immedia
tely but 
no later 
than 
seven 
business 
days 
after the 
obligor is 
paid. 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 business 
days after 
termination 

Order to be 
kept on file 
until 
notified by 
IV-D to 
terminate 
or to reduce 
withholding 

$2 or up to 
1% of 
payment, 
whichever 
is greater 

Ohio Rev. 
Code 
§§3121.03, 
3121.033, 
3121.034, 
3121.037, 
3121.18, 
3121.19 

Oklahoma 
 
Toby Hallows 
Phone: 405-522-0607 
E-mail: toby.hallows@okdhs.org 

Next payday 
after receipt 

7 
business 
days 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

Not 
exceeding 
50% of 
disposable 
income in 
practice 

Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

Orders to 
be kept on 
file 
indefinitely 

$5 per 
payment; 
up to $10 
per month 

12 Okla. Stat. 
§§1171.2, 
1171.3 



STATE INCOME WITHHOLDING INFORMATION 

Office of Child Support Enforcement  Page 19 of 25 
Employer Services Team 
January 2013 

State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Oregon 
 
Employer Services Central Unit 
Phone: 866-907-2857 
E-mail: ead.staff@doj.state.or.us 

1st payday 
within 5 
business 
days after 
date of 
notice 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
worker’s 
compensation
, statutory 
pension 
contributions 

Yes, 50% 
limit of net 
disposable 
income.  If 
withholding 
is for 
arrears only 
support and 
is issued for 
attachment 
of Veterans 
or Black 
Lung or 
Social 
Security 
Disability 
benefits the 
claimant 
must retain 
an amount 
equal to 
160 hours 
multiplied 
by the 
federal 
minimum 
wage rate 
before 
withholding 
can occur. 

Prorate 
current or 
current 
and 
arrears 
support 
cases 
only 
before 
withholdin
g arrears/ 
past due 
“only” 
orders.  If 
withholdin
g for 
arrears/ 
past due 
only 
support, 
split 
amount 
withheld 
evenly, 
not to 
exceed 
ordered 
amount 

Immediately 
or no later 
than the 
next pay day 

Until further 
notice from 
court or 
entity 
issuing 
notice 

$5 per  
order per 
month 

O.R.S 25.372 
– 25.424 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Pennsylvania 
 
Lisa Buffington 
Phone: 717-425-5078 
E-mail: libuffingt@pa.gov 

No later than 
14 days from 
the issuance 
of the notice 
to the 
employer. 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate No specific 
provision; 
governed by 
federal 
requirements 
to send 
termination 
notice 
“promptly” 

No law or 
policy 

2% of 
payment 

23 Pa. C.S. 
§4348 

Puerto Rico 
 
Mayra Siaca, Auxiliary Administrator 
Phone: 787-767-1500, ext. 2810 
E-mail: msiaca@asume.pr.gov 

7 business 
days after 
1st payday 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 30 days after 
termination 

Orders to 
be kept on 
file until 30 
days after 
termination 

Will be 
stated on 
order (up to 
$1 per 
payment) 

8 L.P.R.A. 
§523 

Rhode Island 
 
Kathleen McCusker, Chief Human 
Services Policy and Systems Specialist 
Phone: 401-458-4427 
E-mail: kmccusker@dhs.ri.gov 

1 week from 
date 
received 

7 days  Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 
and Medicare 
taxes 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

Order 
remains in 
effect until 
modified or 
terminated 
by court 

$2 per 
payment 

R.I. Gen. 
Laws §§15-5-
24, 15-16-
5.1, 15-16-9, 
15-16-10, 15-
16-12 

South Carolina 
 
Jo Beasley 
Phone: 803-898-9339 
E-mail: jo.beasley@dss.sc.gov 

Next pay 
period after 
service 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
other 
retirement 
deductions, 
disability 
contributions 

None Prorate 20 days after 
termination 

If employee 
leaves, 
employer’s 
responsibilit
y ends 

$3 per 
payment 

S.C. Code 
Ann. §20-7-
1315 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

South Dakota 
 
Carmin Sommer 
Phone: 605-367-5444 ext. 405 
E-mail: carmin.sommer@state.sd.us 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
Medicare. 

50% of 
disposable 
income; 
total 
amount of 
arrearage 
may be 
withheld 
from 
property, 
money and 
credits or 
other 
income not 
listed 

Prorate  5 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

Effective  
7-1-2004: 
up to $3.00 
per month 

S.D. Cod. L. 
§§25-7A-32, 
25-7A-34, 
25-7A-35, 
25-7A-36 

Tennessee 
 
Elsie Rhodes, Coordinator 
Phone: 615-313-5761 
Fax: 615-532-2791 
E-mail: elsie.rhodes@state.tn.us 

14 days after 
date of the 
order 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 
and health 
insurance 
premiums for 
dependent 
listed on the 
child support 
order 

50% of 
disposable 
income  

Prorate Promptly No law or 
policy 

Up to 5% of 
payment, 
not to 
exceed $5 
per month 

Tenn. Code 
Ann. §36-5-
501 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Texas 
 
Christa Arocha-DeLeon 
Phone: 512-460-6229 
E-mail: christa.arocha-
deleon@cs.oag.state.tx.us 

1st pay 
period after 
receipt 

Payday; 
for 
EFT/EDI 
payment
s, no 
later 
than 2nd 
business 
day after 
payday 

To arrive at 
“Texas Family 
Code 
disposable 
earnings,” 
calculate 
CCPA 
disposable 
earnings and 
then subtract 
union dues 
and medical, 
hospital and 
disability 
insurance for 
employee and 
dependents. 

Texas 
Family Code 
garnishmen
t cap is 
50% of 
Texas 
Family Code 
disposable 
earnings, 
plus the 
garnishmen
t amount 
for health 
insurance; 
if the CCPA 
garnishmen
t limit is 
lower, the 
CCPA limit 
applies. 

Divide 
equally 

7 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$10 per 
month 

Tex. Fam. 
Code 
§§158.009, 
158.202, 
158.203, 
158.204 
158.207, 
158.211 

Utah 
 
LeAnn C. Wilber 
Phone: 801-536-8950 
E-mail: lwilber@utah.gov  
 
Linda Long  
Phone: 801-536-8949 
E-mail: llong@utah.gov 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 5 
business 
days after 
receipt 

7 
business 
days  

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
and Medicare 

None Prorate 5 days after 
termination 

Keep 
withholding 
order in 
place until 
notified 

One-time 
fee of $25 
(may be 
charged all 
at once, or 
over several 
pay 
periods) 

Utah Code 
Ann. §§62A-
11-406, 62A-
11-407, 62A-
11-413, 62A-
11-506, 62A-
11-507, 78-7-
44; Rule 64D 
of the Utah 
Rules of Civil 
Procedure; 
Utah Adm. 
Code R527-
302-1 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Vermont 
 
Vermont Employer Services Unit 
Phone: 800-786-3214 
Phone: 802-241-2915 
Fax: 802-241-2748 
E-mail: ocsempl@ahs.state.vt.us 

10 days after 
receipt or 
next payday 

7 
business 
days 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate  10 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per 
month 

15 V.S.A. 
§§787, 789 

Virgin Islands 
 
Terrence Joseph, Acting Director 
Paternity and Child Support Division 
US Virgin Islands Department of 
Justice 
Phone: 340-778-5958, ext. 4073 
E-mail: tjoseph@pcsd.gov.vi 

  Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA  

None Divide 
equally 

 Order to be 
kept until 
date of 
termination 
or 
modification 

Up to $1  

Virginia 
 
Pat Watson 
Phone: 800-257-9986 
E-mail: pat.watson@dss.virginia.gov 

Next payday 
after service  

Payday if 
by mail; 
4 days 
after 
payday if 
via EFT 

Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate Promptly No specific 
retention 
period 

$5 per 
payment 

Va. Code Ann. 
§§20-79.3, 
34-29, 63.2-
1923 

Washington 
 
Chuck Donnelly 
Phone: 360-664-5067 
E-mail: cdonnelly@dshs.wa.gov 

1st payday 
after receipt 

7 days Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA, 
Medicare, 
statutory 
pension 
contributions, 
mandatory 
union dues  

50% of 
disposable 
income 

Divide 
equally 

Promptly Discard 
upon 
termination 

$10 for 1st 
payment; 
$1 for all 
others 

Wash. Rev. 
Code 
§§26.18.090, 
26.18.110, 
26.23.060 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

West Virginia 
 
Phone: 800-835-4683 
 
Carol Lemon, Supervisor 
350 Capitol Street, Room 147 
Charleston, WV 25301 
Phone: 304-558-3607 
E-mail: carol.j.lemon@wv.gov 

1st pay 
period 
occurring 14 
days from 
date of order 
is mailed to 
employer 

Payday Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

W. Va. 
Code §48-
14-408 
reduces the 
CCPA limits 
by 10% 
each. Also, 
in a case 
with current 
support, the 
arrearage 
collection 
cannot be 
more than 
25% of the 
current 
support 
amount. 
The 25% 
limit can be 
increased 
by up to 
$200 per 
month if the 
obligor 
owes a 
substantial 
arrearage. 
(W. Va. 
Code §48-
14-801) 

Prorate 
 

Promptly There is no 
specific 
requirement 
for 
retention of 
paper 
document. 

$1 per 
payment 

W. Va. Code 
§§48-14-406, 
48-14-407, 
48-14-408, 
48-14-409, 
48-14-410, 
48-14-412 
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State/ 
Contact Info 

When to 
Start 

Withholding 

When to 
Send 

Payment 
(“within” 
the # of 

days 
stated, 
after 

payday) 

Mandatory 
Deductions 

Exception 
to Federal 

CCPA Limits 

Allocation 
of Orders 

When to 
Send 

Termination 
Notice  

(of 
employees 
with orders 

only) 

How Long 
to Retain 

Order after 
Employee’s 
Termination 

Maximum 
Admin Fee 
(optional) 

Legislative 
Cite 

Wisconsin 
 
Patti Reuter 
Phone: 608-267-4873 
E-mail: 
patriciax.reuter@wisconsin.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
receipt 

5 days Federal, 
state, city 
taxes, FICA 

None Prorate 10 days after 
termination 

Retain until 
notified by 
child 
support 
agency 

Actual costs 
up to $3 
per 
payment 

Wis. Stat. 
§§767.75 

Wyoming 
 
Jay Mullendore 
Phone: 307-777-5653 
E-mail: jay.mullendore@wyo.gov 

1st pay 
period after 
service 

7 
business 
days 

Personal 
income taxes, 
social security 
and Medicare 
deductions, 
cost of 
dependent 
health care 
coverage for 
all dependent 
children and 
mandatory 
pension 
deductions 

None Prorate 30 days after 
termination 

No law or 
policy 

$5 per 
payment 

Wyo. Stat. 
§20-2-201-
222 
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