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1. 	 How can I find out if I have a “IV-D” child support case in this state? 

A parent can contact the Child Support Division of the Texas Attorney General at the phone number or e-mail 
address listed below.

An incarcerated parent can make an appointment to see the Access to Court Supervisor or the law librarian at the 
prison and may fill out an inquiry form requesting assistance from the Office of the Attorney General.

2. 	 How can I contact my child support agency?  

A parent may contact the child support office by:
•	 Phone: (800) 252-8014
•	 E-mail: child.support@texasattorneygeneral.gov
•	 Postal mail:    Office of the Attorney General 

                          Child Support Division 
                          P.O. Box 12017 
                          Austin, TX 78711-2017

•	 Website: www.texasattorneygeneral.gov
•	 Local offices: https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/fieldoffices.php, or “find an office” at https://childsupport.oag.state.

tx.us/wps/portal/csi/OfficeLocate

3. 	 If I am incarcerated, are there any barriers to having my order changed?

No, incarcerated parents who meet the modification criteria may request a modification. 

4. 	 Do you provide any materials online that I can use to ask for a change to my child support 
order?  

Modification information is available on the Office of the Attorney General’s website.  This material provides a step-
by-step guide for how child support orders may be modified and answers numerous questions about child support 
modifications.   No modification forms are provided.  

https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/parents/faq_modifications.shtml and https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/parents/mod_
guide.shtml.

There is also a process to ask child support to conduct a review and that “Child Support Review Questionnaire” form 
is available online at https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/forms/forms.shtml. 

5. 	 Do you have any printed materials I could read to learn more about child support for 
parents who are incarcerated?

Yes, the Texas Child Support Division has created a “Handbook for Incarcerated Parents,” https://www.oag.state.
tx.us/AG_Publications/pdfs/incarcerated.pdf.  This handbook informs incarcerated parents on how to handle their 
child support case when they are incarcerated and what to do when they are released from prison.  The brochure 
also answers frequently - asked questions and provides definitions of commonly used terms regarding child 
support issues, such as establishment of paternity and DNA testing.   The Handbook includes a tear off form for an 
incarcerated parent to submit a child support inquiry.

The Handbook for Incarcerated Parents, and inquiry form, are attached.

https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/parents/mod_guide.shtml
https://childsupport.oag.state.tx.us/wps/portal/csi/OfficeLocate
https://www.oag.state.tx.us/AG_Publications/pdfs/incarcerated.pdf
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6. 	 When can I ask to have my order changed?

A parent may ask for a modification if:
•	 It has been three or more years since the order was established or last modified and the monthly amount of the 

child support ordered differs by either 20 percent or $100 from the amount that would be awarded according to 
child support guidelines, or

•	 A material and substantial change in circumstances has occurred since the child support order was last set.  

A non-custodial parent’s release from incarceration is a material and substantial change in circumstances if the 
parent’s support obligation(s) was stopped, reduced, or suspended during incarceration. 

7. 	 How do I request the change?

There is no formal process other than for a parent to make an oral or written request for modification to the Office of 
the Attorney General.  

Any incarcerated parent may request an application for modification by completing an “Inquiry Form for Incarcerated 
Parents”, which may be found in the prison law library (and attached here).   An incarcerated parent may also send 
in a written request for modification by mail to any child support office or to:

	 Incarcerated and Reentry Specialist 
	 PO Box 12017   MC 039 
	 Austin, Texas  78711-2017

Upon release from incarceration, parents may also contact any field office or the Incarcerated and Reentry 
Specialist to determine if they qualify for a modification.

Parents who have an OAG child support case can complete a “Child Support Review Questionnaire”, and mail it to 
the office that is handling their case.  The request form is available at https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/forms/forms.
shtml, and is attached.                                                                

8. 	 What is the process after I’ve asked to have my order changed, and how long does it 
take?

Once the inquiry is received by the Office of the Attorney General, child support staff mails an Incarcerated Non-
Custodial Parent Affidavit of Income/Assets to the parent.  Only courts can set or modify the support obligation. 
However, the Office of the Attorney General will attempt to facilitate that process through a Child Support Review 
Process (CSRP).  CSRP enables the Office of the Attorney General to take expedited actions to establish, modify, 
and enforce child support and medical support obligations, to determine parentage, or to take any other actions 
authorized under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act.  

The modification process in Texas is a judicial process whereby the court reviews all Motions to Modify filed by the 
IV-D agency and signs all orders rendered.  If no agreement can be reached, the Office of the Attorney General will 
serve the parties, or obtain a waiver of service, and set a court date for the modification.

The incarcerated parent will be served with copies of all pleadings filed in court and the agency will review and 
present to the court the Incarcerated Non-Custodial Parent Affidavit of Income/Assets, eliminating the need for the 
incarcerated parent to talk to someone from the child support office.  

9. 	 Is this process different if the other parent agrees to the change in advance? 

Yes, the modification process is quicker if both parents are in agreement. 

https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/forms/forms.shtml
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The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement prepared this guide; however, your local 
child support agency can provide the most current information. This guide does not have 
any binding legal authority and does not constitute legal advice. You may wish to consult a 
lawyer before using the forms or information provided.

10. 	Does it cost anything to try to have my order changed?

Parents who request services from the Office of the Attorney General for a modification in a IV-D case do not have 
to pay any filing fees or any other costs.  However, parents who file a Motion to Modify directly with the court have 
filing fees.

11. 	If I am incarcerated, do I need to do anything else to have my order changed?

No.  The Texas IV-D agency has designated a State Office employee to reach out to offenders when they 
are approaching release from prison. This employee (known as an Incarcerated Parent & Reentry Specialist) 
targets offenders in Texas Department of Criminal Justice and mails a Review and Adjustment Application to the 
incarcerated parents.  Once the offender completes the form and mails it to the designated child support office, the 
office reviews the application to determine whether a child support modification should be sought and whether the 
case will proceed to an in-office negotiation or to court.  The incarcerated parent will be served with copies of all 
pleadings filed in court and the agency will review and present to the court the Incarcerated Non-Custodial Parent 
Affidavit of Income/Assets, eliminating the need for the incarcerated parent to talk to someone from the child support 
office.  

12. 	If I am incarcerated, does my state have any programs to help me with child support?

Yes, the Texas Child Support Division has a child support modification project for non-custodial parents in prison. 
The Regional Outreach Coordinators of each of the nine regions within the state of Texas and the State Office 
Incarcerated Parent & Reentry Specialist regularly visit the correctional institutions of the Texas Department of 
Criminal Justice and the Bureau of Prisons.  Incarcerated parents are provided information about requesting a 
modification and are given appropriate forms. 

13. 	Can I get help with child support questions from other sources?

Yes, the Texas Access & Visitation Hotline attorneys provide legal information about child custody, visitation, 
paternity, and child support issues.  They may be reached at:  1-866-292-4636.  

To file for modification without the assistance of the Texas Child Support Division, you may consult the modification 
kit available on texaslawhelp.org,  http://texaslawhelp.org/resource/modification-kit?ref=Zaoz9

14. 	Is there anything else I should know about trying to change my order?

No.



Frequently Asked Questions
about Child Support Modifications

How can child support be changed?

What is a material and substantial change in circumstances?

I am returning to active military duty and my income will change, what do I do?

I am returning from active military duty and my income will change, what do I do?

I lost my job. My new job pays less than my previous job. Will my child support order change to match my new

income?

How do I request the OAG's help to review the amount of my child support order?

What information will the OAG need when reviewing a case for modification?

Will child support be taken out of my unemployment benefits? If so, how will the amount be determined?

My kids were on my employer provided insurance, but that coverage ended when I was laid off. What should I do

now?

I'm hoping that I'll be able to obtain a new job that pays close to what I previously earned. Can my child support

be temporarily lowered while I'm looking for employment?

I'm only able to obtain part-time work right now; can my order be set based on my part-time wages?

Can the payments I'm making on back child support be adjusted based on my new wages?

I live in Texas and the custodial parent lives in another state (where child support was ordered) – how do I file for

a modification in this situation?

How long will it take for the child support amount to change if I qualify for a modification?

Is there any way that my child support amount could go up if I request a modification?

Revised: July 21 2011

Texas Attorney General https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/parents/faq_modifications.shtml

1 of 1 10/17/2013 9:36 PM



Surviving an Economic Downturn

Step by Step Guide

Use this step by step guide to help you find out how your child support order could be modified through our office.

Please choose the statement that best describes your situation:

I’m a parent who pays child support and my income has changed.
I’m a parent who receives child support or would like to receive child support.

Need some help? Try one of these options:

Read through our list of frequently asked questions about modifications.
Visit the Child Support website for useful links and information.

 

Revised: May 06 2010

Texas Attorney General https://www.oag.state.tx.us/cs/parents/mod_guide.shtml

1 of 1 10/17/2013 9:37 PM



_________ _ 

_________ _ 

I 	 I 

INQUIRY FORM FOR IINCARCERATED PARENTS 
Read the section below carefully before completing th1s form. If you have mu ltiple cases. use one form for each case. I
(Photocopies are acceptable) 

(Please print) I 
NAME (Last. first, middle): ------------------- Inmate#: --------- ­

Facility Name:------------------------------------ ­ I 
Facility Address: --------------------City/ Zip Code: 

SOCIALSECURITY NUMBER:----------------- ­

OTHER PARENT'S NAME: ------------------ ­

DATE OF ENTRY:___________________DATE OF RELEASE: 

PLEASE CHECK ONLYTHE LINES YOU WANT US TO RESPOND TO: 

__ I would like information on my child support case. 

__ I would like the address and phone number of the child support office handling my case. 

I 
I 
I 
I__I have a child support case. and I am requesting that it be reviewed to see if I qualify for a modificat ion. 

__	I was not married to the mother/father of my child ____________ (child's name) and would hke to 
establish paternity (legal fatherhood) for this child I 

__ 	Please forward the enclosed letter for my ch1ld - I do not know his/her address. I understand the letter will be screened 
and ma1led to the parent With custody of the child, and I can only make one request for th is serv1ce. I 

NOTE: Requests for information not l isted above will not be answered. State and federal law limits the release 
of certain information on child support cases. I 
SIGNATURE ________________________DATE ________ I 
MAIL TO: I 
Office of the Attorney General- Child Support Division 

P 0. Box 12017 

Austin. TX 78711·2017 I 

I 


L 	 _j 




i

INCARCERATED 
PARENTS 
 andCHILD   
 SUPPORT
the handbook for incarcerated parents

child support

establishing paternity

visitation

dna testing

resources



ii
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THE ATTORNEY 
GENERAL OF 

TEXAS
administers the 

child support 
program in the 
State of Texas.

Federal law requires  

that the Attorney General’s  

Child Support Division services  

include establishing paternity  

(legal fatherhood), establishing  

court orders for financial and  

medical support, enforcing  

child support orders and  

distributing support payments. 

 

Our agency believes that children deserve the love and support of 

both of their parents. Even while you are incarcerated, you can let 

your children know that you care about them, want the best for 

them and are doing everything you can to support them. 

The purpose of the Incarcerated Parents and Child Support bro-

chure is to inform incarcerated parents about what they need to 

do when they are sent to prison, how to handle their child support 

case when they are incarcerated and what to do when they are 

released from prison. The brochure will also answer frequently 

asked questions and provide definitions of commonly used terms 

regarding child support issues, such as establishment of paternity 

and DNA testing. 

If you plan on writing to the Attorney General’s Office, you need to 

know what information or services we can provide while you are 

incarcerated and what we cannot provide. Check the following list 

carefully before writing to us.

THE OAG CAN PROVIDE: 

1.  Basic information about your child support case status.

2.  A review of your case and the terms of the order (such as	

	 monthly child support payments, monthly arrears payments 	

	 and total arrears owed).

3.  A review of your case to see if you are eligible for a child  

	 support modification (upon your request).

4.  The address and phone number of the child support office  

	 handling your case or the county of your divorce order.

5.  Information on how to establish paternity for your child if you	

	 weren’t married to the other parent when the child was born.

6.  The State of Texas Child Support Guidelines (how the child 

	 support due is calculated by state law). 

7. In some cases, we may be able to forward a letter for your 	

	 child or children to the custodial parent, if you do not know 	

	 the custodial parent’s address and you have an open child 	

	 support case. The custodial parent will be given your contact 	

	 information. Additional letters may not be forwarded. 
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THE OAG WILL NOT: 

1.  Change custody or enforce the visitation provisions of your  

	 child support order.

2.  File a Termination of Parental Rights petition.

3.  Provide you with the address(s) of your children or the  

	 other parent.

4.  Perform DNA testing if you have signed an Acknowledgement of 	

	 Paternity (AOP) or if there is an existing child support order.  

5.  Answer questions other than child support inquiries.

6.  Obtain information from the court if you do not have a case  

	 with the Attorney General’s Office.

7.  Transport you to court for a hearing or request a bench  

	 warrant on your behalf.

8.  Lift a bench warrant.

9.  Stop the interest on your arrears.

10. Provide legal advice or an attorney.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
ABOUT CHILD SUPPORT

I’m in prison and can’t work. Why doesn’t my child support  

order change?

Your child’s needs don’t change just because you are incarcerated. 

In fact, they are probably greater. Even if the Attorney General’s 

Office knows you are in prison, your obligation to pay child support 

doesn’t go away. The amount you owe will continue to add up, and 

you will be charged interest on any unpaid financial support. If you 

have any ability to pay child support while incarcerated, it is in your 

best interest – and your child’s interest – to do so. You can request 

a modification of your child support due to your incarceration, but 

unless the order is modified, your obligation is unchanged. 

How can my child support order be modified or changed?

Only the court can modify or change your child support order. 

Grounds for a modification include a material and substantial 

change in the circumstances that impact your ability to pay child 

support, or the passage of three years since the last child support 

order and a difference in monthly payment by either 20 percent or 

$100 from the child support guidelines. An incarcerated non-custo-

dial parent subject to a child support order may request a review 

and adjustment of his or her ordered child support. There is no 

guarantee that your child support order will be lowered. The forms 

you complete serve only as a request to review your child support 

for a modification. 

What should I do when I enter prison?

If you are reading this brochure, you are on the right track. Do 

everything you can to let your children know you care for and are 

committed to them. If you have a child support case, provide the 

office that is handling your case with your updated address. By 

doing this, you will receive a monthly statement that shows how 

much you are supposed to pay, how much you have paid and how 

much you owe in past-due support. You may want to consider ask-

ing the child support office for a review and adjustment packet if 

you want to see if your child support can be lowered. 

I was receiving child support payments before I came to  

prison. What happens to my child support payments while I’m 

in prison?

The Attorney General’s Office will continue to send child support 

payments to the custodial parent (CP) through the option he or 

she selected for receiving child support. If the CP doesn’t request 

any changes, the payments will continue to be sent through direct 

deposit to his or her checking account or debit card, or a check 

will be mailed to the address previously requested. Child support 

payments will not stop unless a court order redirects payments to 

another person. Prior to being sent to prison, a CP may redirect 

child support payments to the person who is designated to care for 

the child(ren) through a court order. 

While I’m in prison, can the child support I’m supposed to 

receive go to the person who is taking care of my child(ren)?  

And if so, what do I need to do?

Yes, your child support can go to the person caring for your 

child(ren). You (the CP) should direct the person who is taking 

care of the child(ren) to the Attorney General’s Office, where they 

can seek a child support order that will redirect the child support 

payments to them. The person caring for the child(ren) will need to 

bring with them proof of possession and control of the child(ren). 
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Examples include: child(ren)’s school or daycare records, an 

affidavit from the person in possession, or appropriate documen-

tation of possession. The Attorney General’s Office may then file a 

Motion to Redirect Child Support. 

I don’t have a child support case, so I don’t have anything to 

worry about, right?

You may not have a child support case when you go to prison, 

but that doesn’t mean a new case can’t be established while you 

are incarcerated. If you are served with legal papers from the 

Attorney General’s Office, it is important that you respond promptly 

in writing to the court that issued the papers and the local child 

support office that is named in the papers. If you do not respond, 

the court may make a decision on your child support case without 

your involvement, which is called a default judgment, and includes 

setting the amount of child support you must pay regardless of 

your situation.

In your response, include all information that you want the court 

to consider when deciding your case. If you have been identified 

as the father of a child and are being sued for paternity, you may 

request DNA testing, and the Attorney General’s Office can send a 

lab technician to the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) 

facility where you are to collect a sample. The State Counsel for 

Offenders at the TDJC may be able to assist you in preparing your 

response. You also have the right to get your own attorney. The 

Attorney General’s Office cannot advise you on any legal matter, and 

we cannot help you prepare a response to a legal document.

Can I have a court-appointed attorney represent me in court at 

a child support hearing?

A judge will appoint an attorney to represent you only if you are 

found to be indigent, you appear in person at the hearing, and you 

face incarceration as a result of the hearing. This is not a function 

of the OAG; you must make this request to the court.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
ABOUT PATERNITY

What does “paternity” mean?

Both legally and biologically, the word paternity means the identity 

of the father of a child. Every child has a biological father. But if you 

were never married to the mother of your child, Texas law does not 

give you any rights or responsibilities as the child’s father unless 

legal paternity is established. Unless paternity is established, a 

child born to an unmarried mother has no legal father. 

A man is presumed to be the legal father of a child if he was  

married to the mother at the time of the birth of the child or if  

the child is born before the 301st day after the date the marriage 

is terminated.

How can the paternity of a child be established? 

In Texas there are two primary ways to establish paternity for 

a child. Both parents can sign a legal document to establish the 

paternity of the child. This document is called an Acknowledgment 

of Paternity (AOP). The second way to establish paternity is through 

a court proceeding. 

What does it mean to “acknowledge paternity”?

Paternity means fatherhood. When both parties sign an AOP and it 

is filed with the Texas Vital Statistics Unit (VSU), the biological father 

becomes the legal father. Once paternity has been established, the 

father’s name is placed on the birth certificate. A court can order 

him to pay child support and may grant him the rights for visitation 

or possession of his child. 

What if the incarcerated parent wants to sign the Acknowledg-

ment of Paternity (AOP)? Where can I get assistance signing the 

AOP form?

An AOP can be obtained from a certified entity such as a local  

registrar or child support office or your Access to Court Supervisor. 

The Access to Court Supervisor can assist you with an AOP in the 

law library at your facility.      
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What are the legal benefits for an incarcerated father when 

paternity is established?

Establishing paternity has many benefits for both children and 

parents. The most important benefit for children is knowing that 

they have a father who wants to be in their life. Once paternity has 

been established, you become the legal father of that child, with all 

the rights and responsibilities of a father who was married to the 

mother. The Texas Attorney General’s Office cannot help you obtain 

visitation with or custody of your child. There is no guarantee of 

the right to custody or visitation, but you have a right to raise the 

issue of custody and visitation in court or during the child support 

review process. 

What if, after signing the Acknowledgment of Paternity, I have 

reasons to believe I am not the father?

If you sign the Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) and you later 

decide you may not be the father, you have to file legal papers to 

either rescind (if done within 60 days of filing an AOP) or challenge 

(must be done within four years of filing an AOP) the AOP. Either of 

these legal actions is likely to require assistance from an attorney. 

The Attorney General’s Office cannot provide assistance to rescind 

or challenge an AOP. Legal action to challenge an AOP is barred if 

more than four years have passed since the AOP was filed. 

What if the mother says I am the father, but I don’t think I am,  

and we were never married? 

If you do not think that you are the biological father and you have 

not signed an Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP), a suit may be 

brought against you to establish paternity. The mother or the 

Attorney General’s Office can open a case to establish whether you 

are the biological father. When paternity is being established, you 

can request a DNA test or the court can order a DNA test. If you 

have been identified as the father of a child and are being sued for 

paternity, you may request DNA testing, and the Attorney General’s 

Office can send a lab technician to the TDCJ facility where you are 

incarcerated to collect a sample. The request should be in writing 

and sent to the Attorney General’s Office and to the court listed in 

the documents naming you as the father. This request should be 

sent before the date of the hearing listed in the court papers. The 

DNA testing generally costs less than $200 and will not be charged 

if the man who has been named the father is found to not be the 

biological father.

Are fathers treated differently from mothers in child  

support matters?

No. In terms of support, custody or visitation, the law does not 

discriminate based upon the gender of a person. The law focuses 

on what is the best interest of the child. 

We’re together, so why do I have a child support case?

In the eyes of the law, you are incarcerated, and the other parent and 

your children are living separately from you. If the custodial parent 

(CP) needs assistance from the State and applies for Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), the State may proceed with a 

child support case whether the CP requests it or not.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
ABOUT VISITATION

Does the Attorney General’s Office handle custody and 

visitation disputes?

Federal regulations do not allow the Office of the Attorney General 

to provide services for custody or visitation disputes. During your 

incarceration, you do not have the ability to enforce visitation rights 

provided in a court order, and contact with your children is gener-

ally dependent upon on the custodial parent’s willingness to work 

with you. Upon your release from TDCJ, you may contact the Access 

& Visitation Hotline for information about resources available to 

help you see your children. The hotline number is 1-(866)-292-4636 

and is answered in English and Spanish, Monday–Friday, 1–7 p.m. 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
UPON RELEASE FROM INCARCERATION

We recognize that most people need a little time to get on their feet 

after being released from prison. The Attorney General’s Office may 

be able to temporarily hold off on certain enforcement actions, if 

you provide our office with evidence that you are looking for a job 

and providing some support to your child. You may also request a 

Child Support Review when you return to work or if you are reunit-

ing with the mother of your child. This can be done by contacting 

the local child support office handling your case.
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What do I do about my child support case once I am released 

from prison?

•	 Contact the child support office handling your case and give 	

	 them an update on your status.

•	 Pay child support regularly while you are looking for work.

•	 Request time to find employment before an enforcement action 	

	 is taken; you will need to provide your address and report on 	

	 your job search efforts.

•	 Notify the child support office as soon as you are employed so  

	 that an order or writ for withholding can be sent to your employer.

•	 Request referrals to parenting programs, job help resources  

	 or other community assistance.

My child support order was modified during my incarceration. 

When I get released from prison, what might happen to the 

amount of money that I will owe in child support?

If your child support order was modified while you were in prison, 

your release is considered a material and substantial change in 

circumstances. When there is a material and substantial change in 

circumstances, the court can change your child support order. The 

amount you pay in child support will likely increase to reflect your 

earning capacity after your release from prison. 

How does the court decide how much child support I will pay?

Texas law sets the following general guidelines for child 

support payments. 

•	 20% for one child

•	 25% for two children

•	 30% for three children

•	 35% for four children

•	 40% for five children

•	 Not less than 40% for six or more children

Special rules apply if you have children in more than one 

household. If the court believes you are not making as much 

money as you should, the child support amount may be based 

on your potential earnings.	

I have remarried, and my spouse makes a very good living. Will 

the child support office take my child support out of my spouse’s 

earnings?  Will my spouse’s income be counted when my child 

support amount is calculated?

No. Your new spouse does not have to pay your child support. A new 

spouse’s income may not be used when determining the amount of 

child support to be paid.

I have children who have different mothers. How will the court 

determine the amount of child support that I owe?

When you have children in different households, the court uses 

a multiple household formula to determine the amount of sup-

port you must pay. It is important that you let the judge or child 

support review officer know that you support other children who 

have a different mother.

What happens to my Social Security disability benefits or 

veterans benefits when I am incarcerated?

Much like informing the Attorney General’s Office of your 

incarceration, you must inform the Social Security Administration 

or the Department of Veterans Affairs when you have been 

convicted of a felony and are sent to prison for any length of time. 

You cannot receive disability benefits for any of the months during 

which you are incarcerated. However, family members who are 

eligible for benefits based on your work history may continue to 

receive benefits.

Are there any services available to help me get a job so I  

can pay my child support?

The Attorney General’s Child Support Division can direct you to 

skills training and job placement services through the Texas 

Workforce Commission. The Child Support Division can also 

help you with referrals to educational or literacy classes and 

counseling services for substance abuse or for parenting skills. 

In many cases, the court will order a noncustodial parent who is 

behind on child support payments to take part in one or more 

of these services. 
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CHILD SUPPORT DEFINITIONS:

Accrual – Sum of child support payments that are due or overdue  

Arrearage – Past-due, unpaid child support owed by the noncus-

todial parent

Acknowledgement of Paternity (AOP) – A document that both 

unmarried parents can voluntarily sign to establish legal paternity 

for their child without going to court

Case – A collection of people associated with a particular child  

support order, court hearing, and/or request for IV-D services. 

This typically includes: a custodial party (CP), a dependent(s), and 

a noncustodial parent (NCP) and/or putative father (PF). Every 

child support case has a unique Case ID number and, in addition 

to names and identifying information about its members, includes 

information such as CP and NCP wage data, court order details and 

NCP payment history.

Case ID – Unique identification number assigned to a child  

support case

Child support modification – A court-ordered change to a child 

support order, which can include your child support payment 

amount being lowered or raised

Child support – Financial support paid by a parent to help support 

a child or children of whom they do not have custody 

Court order – A legally binding edict issued by a court of law. It is 

issued by a judge or properly empowered administrative officer. 

A court order related to child support can dictate how often, how 

much, and/or what kind of support a noncustodial parent must pay 

and how long he or she must pay. 

Custodial parent (CP) – The person who has primary care, custody, 

and control of the child, also referred to as the obligee

Dependent – A child who is under the care of someone else. Most 

children are dependents. The child ceases to be a dependent when 

he or she reaches the age of 18, as determined by state law, but 

depending on the State’s provisions, may remain eligible for child 

support for a period after he or she turns 18 years of age. 

Default judgment – A judgment entered when a person fails to 

respond to a legal action or fails to appear in court

Genetic testing – (DNA testing) Analysis of inherited factors to 

determine legal fatherhood or paternity

Guidelines – A standard method for setting child support amounts 

based on the income of the parent(s) and other factors determined 

by state law

Income – Any periodic form of payment to an individual, regard-

less of source, including wages, salaries, commissions, bonuses, 

worker’s compensation, disability, pension, or retirement program 

payments and interest 

Legal father – A man who is recognized by law as the male parent 

of a child

Monthly support obligation – The amount of money a noncustodial 

parent is required to pay per month

Noncustodial parent (NCP) – The parent who does not have 

primary care, custody and control of the child, also referred to as 

the obligor

OAG – Office of the Attorney General

Obligated – A term meaning that a noncustodial parent (NCP)  

is required to meet the financial terms of a court or administra-

tive order

Obligation – Amount of money to be paid as support by a 

noncustodial parent (NCP). It can take the form of financial support 

for the child, medical support or spousal support. An obligation is 

recurring and ongoing. It is not a one-time debt.

Order – Direction of a magistrate, judge or properly empowered 

administrative officer

Paternity – Legal determination of fatherhood

Rescind – Change of mind after signing an Acknowledgment of 

Paternity (AOP) must be filed as a petition with the court within  

60 days of filing AOP documents with the Vital Statistics Unit
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Where can I get help with my child support or information about 

my child support case?

The law librarian is a good place to start while you are incarcer-

ated. They have the Child Support Inquiry Form for Incarcerated 

Parents that you must use to submit information requests to the 

Office of the Attorney General. All requests for information about 

child support or your child support case must be made on this 

form. Please allow about 60-90 days for a response.

What do I do if I believe my child is being abused?

Call the Department of Family and Protective Services at  

1-(800)-252-5400. If you do not have access to a phone, ask a third 

party to make the call for you.

CONTACT INFORMATION  
FOR USE AFTER INCARCERATION

BY U. S. MAIL

Office of the Attorney General

Child Support Division

P. O. Box 12017

Austin, TX  78711-2017

ON THE INTERNET

website: www.texasattorneygeneral.gov

email: child.support@oag.state.tx.us

BY TELEPHONE

Regional Customer Service Centers and Area Offices (all voice)

Houston/Harris County . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                (713) 243-7100

Dallas/Tarrant County  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                (972) 339-3100

San Antonio/Bexar County . . . . . . . . . . . .            (210) 841-8450

Austin/Travis County . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 (512) 514-7000

Lubbock . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             (806) 765-0094

McAllen  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             (956) 682-5581

Tyler . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                (903) 595-6900

El Paso . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              (915) 779-2388

24-HOUR 	PAYMENT AND CASE STATUS INFORMATION

(800) 252-8014

FOR THE DEAF AND HARD-OF-HEARING

(800) 572-2686 (TTY)

(512) 460-6417 (TTY)
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INQUIRY FORM FOR  
INCARCERATED PARENTS
Read the section below carefully before completing this form. If you have multiple cases, use one form for each case.  
(Photocopies are acceptable).

(Please print)

NAME (Last, first, middle): _______________________________________________ Inmate#: _________________________

Facility Name: __________________________________________________________________________________________

Facility Address: ___________________________________________________ City/Zip Code: _________________________ 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: ________________________________________________

OTHER PARENT'S NAME: ___________________________________________________

DATE OF ENTRY:__________________________________________________DATE OF RELEASE: ___________________________

PLEASE CHECK ONLY THE LINES YOU WANT US TO RESPOND TO:

____ I would like information on my child support case.

____ I would like the address and phone number of the child support office handling my case.

____ I have a child support case, and I am requesting that it be reviewed to see if I qualify for a modification.

____ I was not married to the mother/father of my child _____________________________ (child’s name) and would like to  
         establish paternity (legal fatherhood ) for this child.

____ Please forward the enclosed letter for my child – I do not know his/her address. I understand the letter will be screened 
         and mailed to the parent with custody of the child, and I can only make one request for this service.

NOTE: Requests for information not listed above will not be answered. State and federal law limits the release 
of certain information on child support cases.

SIGNATURE _______________________________________________________________DATE ______________________

MAIL TO: 

Office of the Attorney General – Child Support Division

P. O. Box 12017

Austin, TX  78711-2017
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NOTES

_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
_____________________________
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ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS 

GREG ABBOTT 
 

CHILD SUPPORT DIVISION 
 

 
October 2009    An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer  Printed on Recycled Paper               Form 3L015ae-online 

Dear Parent: 

 

Re: Your Request for Review 

 
Thank you for your inquiry regarding a review of your child support order.  Please sign this form and return it with the completed 

Child Support Review Questionnaire to the child support office that is handling your case.  You can find the address by calling 1-800-

252-8014, or selecting “Child Support Interactive” from the child support section of the Attorney General=s Web site at 

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov.          

  
 
Name: 

      

 
Social Security #: 

   -  -     

 
OAG Case #:  

      

 

I request the Child Support Division of the Office of the Attorney General to conduct a review of my child 

support order. I understand the following: 

 

$ The attorneys of the Office of the Attorney General represent the State of Texas.  They will provide me 

with child support services, but do not represent me or any other individual. 

$ A review addresses only child support and medical support. 

$ The non-custodial parent may be required to provide medical insurance for the child(ren). 

$ A review of a child support order will determine if the order complies with the Texas child support 

guidelines. 

$ A request for a review may be withdrawn by the requestor.   

 

Please list the reason you are requesting a review: 

      

 

 

____________________________          

Signature       Date Signed 

 

Within three weeks of receiving all of the necessary information from you, we will determine if a review of your 

child support order is appropriate and we will notify you of our decision. If it is determined that a review should be 

conducted, the other party named in your child support order will be asked to complete a questionnaire. Thank you 

for your cooperation. 

 

Office of the Attorney General 

Child Support Division 

 



 

 

                                                 GREG ABBOTT 
                                                                                                 Attorney Genera  

CHILD SUPPORT REVIEW QUESTIONNAIRE  
INSTRUCTIONS 

Please type, print, or write clearly.  Answer all questions as completely and accurately as you can. 

Please return the completed form along with copies of your: 
 

$   income tax returns for the past two years $   two most recent payroll stubs 
 

If you do not have these items, please send us your W-2 Forms for the past two years. 
 

 
Date: 

      

 
 

 

OAG Case Number: 

     <F003> 
 

     INFORMATION ABOUT YOU (Please Print All Information) 
 
Name (Last, First, Middle) 

      

 
Social Security No. 

   -  -     

 
Date of Birth 

      

 
Relationship to Child(ren) 

      

Address: Street Address 

      

Apt. # 

      

City 

      

State 

      

Zip Code 

      
 
Home Telephone No. 

(   )   -     

 
Work Telephone No. 

(   )   -     

 
Do you have custody of the child(ren)? 

      YES      NO 
 
Employer 

      

 
Employer=s Telephone No. 

(   )   -      ext       

Employer Address: Street Address 

      

City 

      

State 

      

Zip Code 

      

 

     INFORMATION ABOUT THE OTHER PARTY 
 
Name (Last, First, Middle) 

      

 
Social Security No. 

   -  -     

 
Date of Birth 

      

 
Relationship to Child(ren) 

      

Address: Street Address 

      

Apt. # 

      

City 

      

State 

      

Zip Code 

      
 
Current Employer 

      

 
Employer=s Telephone 

No. 

(   )   -     

 
Home Telephone No. 

(   )   -     

Employer Address: Street Address 

      

City 

      

State 

      

Zip Code 

      

 

    INFORMATION ABOUT THE CHILD(REN)  (List only your children with the other party named above.) 
 

Name (Last, First, Middle) 
 

Sex 
 

Social Security Number 
 

Date of Birth 
 

Place of Birth 
 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     
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FINANCIAL INFORMATION 
 
  

CURRENT INFORMATION 

 
INFORMATION AT TIME OF 

LAST SUPPORT ORDER 
 
YOUR GROSS (before any deductions) MONTHLY INCOME FROM: 

 
AMOUNT 

 
AMOUNT 

 
Salary and Wages (including commissions, bonuses, and overtime) 

 
      

 
      

 
Self-Employment 

 
      

 
      

 
Pensions and Retirement 

 
      

 
      

 
Social Security Benefits 

 
      

 
      

 
Unemployment Benefits 

 
      

 
      

 
Disability and Workers= Compensation Benefits 

 
      

 
      

 
Dividends and Interest 

 
      

 
      

 
Net Rentals 

 
      

 
      

 
Other (specify):       

 
      

 
      

 
            

 
      

 
      

 
TOTAL MONTHLY INCOME 

 
      

 
      

 
 
 

 
 

 
  

CURRENT INFORMATION 

 
INFORMATION AT TIME OF 

LAST SUPPORT ORDER 
 
YOUR MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS FOR: 

 
AMOUNT 

 
AMOUNT 

 
Union Dues 

 
      

 
      

 
Health Insurance You Pay For Your Child(ren) On This Order 

 
      

 
      

 
Insurance Company 

 
Policy Number 

 
Child(ren) Covered 

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
TOTAL MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS 

 
      

 
      

 
 
  

CURRENT INFORMATION 

 
INFORMATION AT TIME OF 

LAST SUPPORT ORDER 
 
YOUR ASSETS: 

 
AMOUNT 

 
AMOUNT 

 
Cash On Hand 

 
      

 
      

 
Money in Checking Accounts 

 
      

 
      

 
Money in Savings Accounts 

 
      

 
      

 
Money in Any Other Accounts 

 
      

 
      

 
Retirement or Pension Funds 

 
      

 
      

 
Life Insurance Cash Value 

 
      

 
      

 
Stocks, Bonds, or Other Investment Securities 

 
      

 
      

 
Real Estate 

 
      

 
      

 
Other Assets (please specify)        

 
      

 
      

 
                   

 
      

 
      

 
TOTAL VALUE OF ALL ASSETS 

 
      

 
      

 
 
  

CURRENT INFORMATION 

 
INFORMATION AT TIME OF 

LAST SUPPORT ORDER 
 
CHILDREN: 

 
NUMBER 

 
NUMBER 

 
Children you are legally obligated to support either in you home or by court order. 

 
      

 
      

 

 
September 2005                                                                                 Page 2                                                                                 Form 3F002e 



 

 

 

Read the statements below.  Check the box next to those you believe are true, and explain why. 

 
 
 

   The other parent=s income has substantially (check one)    increased    decreased since the date of the current child support order. 

 

      By how much?   $       per Hour 

 

      Explain why       

 

Do you have any other children, not already mentioned in this questionnaire, who currently live with you? 

 Yes       No      If Ayes@, complete the box below.  Do not include stepchildren. 

 
 
Name (Last, First, Middle) 

 
Sex 

 
Social Security # 

 
Date of Birth 

 
Place of Birth 

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 

Do you have any other children, not already mentioned in this questionnaire, whom you are legally obligated to support? 

 Yes       No      If Ayes@, complete the box below.     Please attach copies of your court orders, if available. 

 
 
Name (Last, First, Middle) 

 
Sex 

 
Social Security # 

 
Date of Birth 

 
Place of Birth 

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
F 

 
   -  -     

 
      

 
      

 

Is there any other information we should consider that has not been covered in this questionnaire?  For example; Special needs of the children subject to 

this order. 

 

Explain       

 

By my signature below, I certify that the information provided by me in this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

 

Texas Government Code ' 559 gives you the right to review and request correction of information on this form.  

 

 

_______________________________________________________                          

Signature         Date Signed 
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